Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Improve options in breakfasts.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
It's perfectly located for some days of vacation in Santo Domingo. Nice view and close to places of interest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Juan, PR

Close to most attractions in Zona Colonial

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very well located. The rooms were clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
Location: Plaza de America was a block away. Plaza de Colon and Paseo del Conde were walking distance from the hotel. Nightlife was exciting!
The location of the hotel was almost perfect. We were walking distance of all the main attractions in the Zona colonial. There were lots of restaurants and bars close to the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and open to help. The breakfasts were very complete. The New Year's Eve party was spectacular in the San Francisco ruins, just a block from the hotel. It lasted until 6 a.m.!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

A Disappointment

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: The water temperature issue must be fixed. The hotel management needs to protect the front street from noice as much as possible.
Location: The hotel is in a bad part of town. There are small street side shops to frequent, though.
I recently stayed at the Europa Hotel in "colonial" Santo Domingo. It is basically located in the slums of the city. There are open sewers that put out quite a stench while walking and driving around the neighborhood.The noise from the street outside the room was loud and occurred all day and most of the night. The shower water was cold. Even at $50 US dollars a night, I would not recommend this hotel. A family member stayed at the Occidental and although it was more expensive, it was located in a better part of town and had excellent facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom P

Posizione comoda ma struttura fatiscente

Posted Dec 28, 2014
L'hotel si trova in una posizione centrale per visitare la città vecchia a piedi ed il personale è gentile ed efficiente. ..purtroppo la camera che abbiamo avuto era più simile ad una cella d'isolamento che ad una stanza d'albergo: nessuna finestra, poca luce, dotazioni vecchie e fatiscenti, condizionatore rumorosissimo, acqua della doccia scarsa e solo tiepida. In compenso la terrazza panoramica della colazione è ben tenuta e luminosa e la colazione è sufficientemente varia. Non si vede l'ora di uscire dalla camera!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jamaica

Location and safety

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Clean and orderly, good value for the money.
Cons: would prefer a little more variety at the breakfast buffet and fresher Spanish bread from the bakery
Location: Good location, good restaurants and safe to walk around. On sunday nights from 5-10 pm , they have a local meringue party one block away. Very nice
Located in the Zona Colonial, the area is being preserved by the government to maintain the architectural beauty of the original Spanish buildings. The streets and sidewalks around the hotel have been repaved to enhance Spanish originality and the objective is to replace all the street electrical/telephone cables and hide them underground. The hotel is walking distance to the Plaza de Espana and the cathedral square , both with a multitude of fine restaurants at reasonable prices. Safe to walk around at night, ample security and a sense of responsibility by the citizens to preserve safety for visitors and residents. Very nice area overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chile

Max a 2 stars

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Didn't like the location and the place. However, the hotel's staff was really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

O hotel cumpre o que mostra nas fotos.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Do café da manhã no terraço: bons alimentos, variedade, espaço excelente e atendimento ótimo. Serviço de táxi (Melqui) fez toda a diferença da viagem.
Cons: Chuveiro, frigobar, limpeza diária dos banheiros.
Location: A localização é perfeita para quem quer fazer o Centro Histórico. Dá para resolver tudo à pé, sem contar que fica perto dos melhores restaurantes.
Camas, armário e tv ok. Porém espera ao menos um frigobar. Fora isso o espaço do banheiro é ótimo, mas o chuveiro é triste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PR

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Negocios

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Estuve solo dos noches. Le falta mantenimiento... El baño, se tapaba la ducha. La tv es muy vieja y era todo un show prenderla con el control remoto...el colchón tenía un hoyo. La persiana de madera se abría sola y una noche no pude dormir por el sol de la mañana. El personal es extremadamente amable y atentos. Gracias! En santo domingo no es barato así que es precio servicio lo que pagas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I'm usually happy with every hotel I stay, and rate them high, I believe in the phrase "you get what you pay", but for what I paid, I received very little. At $140 USD the night, I received a small, old, dirty room with mediocre service; I have stayed in nicer Hostels for a third of that in downtowns in Europe or US. No hot water, dirty bathroom, old facilities, expensive, noisy... Will never come back again.