Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I stayed four nights at Hotel Palacio and I would recommend it to anyone as an inexpensive yet classy place to stay. Having been to Santo Domingo previously, and stayed at another similar hotel, my experience here was much better. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and had an historic feel because of the d├ęcor and paintings. There were a couple of minor mechanical issues which were fixed by the hotel staff in a very timely manner. The staff are efficient and professional. The hotel is in an ideal location, close to the Zona Colonial and the Calle El Conde shopping district. The breakfast buffet was excellent also, although not included, but the price is very reasonable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caesar from Atlanta , Georgia

Our stay at Hotel Palacio

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Palacio was great. It's right in the heart of the historical Santo Domingo area. Lots of things to do. Plenty of Restaurants and stores are right in the local historical alleyway looking streets. The hotel had great staff and service. The room was clean and very nice looking with that colonial style flare to it. One thing that really stood out the bathrooms are very elegant and had one of the best showers there. I stayed with my beautiful Dominican wife who is already familiar with the area but you shouldn't have any problems getting around. The staff and people in town very friendly and informative. I initially chose this hotel because it had one of the best and highest reviews. I will verify that is true. Especially for the price I highly recommend. Thanks Expedia and Hotel Palacio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by McGell from Palm Beach, Florida

Business First

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Wifi, location, staff, breakfast, room design and old style furnishings.
Cons: The small refrigerators that tend to leak, at least mine did but it was quickly resolved.
Location: China Town, local bars, restaurants, walking areas and parks, and historical buildings.
Great stay at Palacio. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. As a business traveler WIFI is very important along with breakfast and parking. Check, check, and check. WIFI was strong, breakfast was great, and parking although small is available for free. The location is in the heart of the old city and a short walk from many bars and restaurants including China Town. It is also close to the main thoroughfare taking you either to the airport or to the Malecon district.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ovidio from San Juan, PR

Average hotel in Colonial area.

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Personal attention and location.
Cons: Decoration.
Location: Visit historical buildings, walk around, dinner at several good restaurants.
It have a dedicated to service staff and it is just located at a central point in historic area. The room next to the street will be noised in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joy from new york

nice hotel near historical sites.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: close to historical sites.
Cons: hotel should have reasonable rate for taxi drivers for their customers. Taxi drivers charged ridiculously high.
Location: walking distance to historical sites.
had a great time! Staff were helpful and kind. Hotel is close to El Conde and Plaza de Colon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stacey from colorado

Great hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Apr 24, 2014
This cute hotel located in the heart of the city was perfect. The staff was fantastic, the room was clean and honestly the best shower we had the whole trip. Within walking distances of some great food and art
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather from perth, australia

Excellent boutique hotel in colonial zone

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Great location walking distance to restaurants, banks, cathedral and fort. Room was very comfortable and clean. Pool small but nice. Very helpful staff. Secure, safe hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Boston Ma.

Lovely Hotel, very convenient location.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I'm sure that there is always room for improvement but honestly we were there for 2 weeks and did not have any complaints.
Location: Right in the heart of the Colonial Zone, a 15 min walk at most, to everything one might wish to explore. Very nice restaurants close by as well.
I cannot say enough about this lovely hotel. Very beautiful, lovely interior courtyards and pool on the roof for a relaxing swim after a day of sightseeing. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.The location is perfect,just 1/2 block to the Conde, right in the center of all the action, and yet when you want a break from all the activity, it is quiet and relaxing with no street noise. We called it our "sanctuary"! A wonderful buffet breakfast is provided for $5.95. Great way to start and plan your day.We also had a nice dinner there one evening when we did not want to go out. The staff is very friendly and helpful.It was the perfect hotel for us and I would recommend it to anyone who likes the small pension type of hotel found in most European countries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shari from ny, ny

Beautiful hotel right by the sea and street market

Posted Mar 29, 2014
My stay at Boutique hotel Palacio was amazing. The room was beautiful, spacious, and super cozy, and my hot tub was huge!!! Loved it:) the hotel breakfast is great and they also have a tavern downstairs. Great location within only a couple blocks of museums, churches, and tons of shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was amazing! Give 5 stars!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical hotel by El Conde (the main st)

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The inside of the hotel is beautiful; breakfasts were reasonably priced (be careful of the 28% tax everywhere in the DR !!); the staff were very friendly in answering our questions and even converting our money. This hotel that was once used for the DR president just looks grand. Only criticism I'd have is that our room didn't have much sunlight.