Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel hidden in the Colonial District

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando! A beautiful building with unique architecture and a gorgeous outdoor swimming pool, it was a hidden oasis in busy Santo Domingo! Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Nice hotel in the old city

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I had very good holiday in this hotel the stuff was very helpful they make my stay easy and joyfull I hope to see them again soon. The beach it's little bit far from the hotel but it easy to go, the swimming pool of the hotel was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milano

Glamour & Relax a Santo Domingo

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: La location e la delicatezza ed il tratto usato da tutti i dipendenti.
Cons: Il sistema di condizionamento delle camere.
Location: L'hotel si trova nel centro storico, consiglio per aperitivi/cena ONNO'S BAR e SEGAFREDO!!!
L'hotel si trova in una delle vie principali e storiche del conde (centro storico), servizio ineccepibile tutti i dipendenti cortesi e sempre sorridenti. Camere accoglienti con alto tetto a cassonetto, arredamento in linea con l'ambientazione coloniale della struttura alberghiera dotata anche di una bella piscina ed area relax. L'hotel si presta alle cerimonie data la sua bellezza e la presenza di numerosi giardini ed aree verdi. Infatti io mi sono sposato proprio all'interno di un chiostro presente in loco con al centro una fontana caratteristica. Il pezzo non è proprio abbordabile a tutti, ma ho avuto una buona offerta da Expedia abbinandolo al volo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful, historic hotel in colonial city

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Character, location, good restaurant, intimate size, historical interest, low noise, helpful staff.
Location: All the history of the colonial zone is literally outside the hotel doors (and even inside the hotel itself).
Ideally situated in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site, the building itself is an integral part of history, built on top of the city walls, overlooking the cruise ship dock, and opposite an historic church. Modernization of the original rooms has been done with great sensitivity to the original structure and no external visual impact. The restaurant is excellent, with reasonable prices and plenty of outdoor, covered tables. For variety, there are several other restaurants close by at the Plaza de Espana. The hotel is generally quiet, although popular for weddings so there is occasional party noise (but the old stone walls are very thick!). Walking around the compact colonial zone, right outside the hotel doors, is easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOG

Very good

Posted May 2, 2015
Its located in the colonial area, close to important monuments, so you can walk to the catedral and take a walking tour. Its a renovated colonial house. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are very kind and are available to request or comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Australia

This is a characterful hotel in Zona Colonial

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Character, comfortable rooms, and there are beautiful areas to sit and relax. It is very different from a chain hotel, despite being operated by Accor
Cons: The Restaurant service definitely needs improvement - retraining of staff or some new staff. A few of the ones there are not interested in their work
Location: This is a top location for a tourist. There are many historical sites within walking distance. The Pantheon is right opposite and a museum 200 metres
I loved my 5 night stay here. The hotel occupies a prime site in Zona Colonial which is saturated in history. One can walk to more than 12 historic sites from the hotel in a matter of minutes. As a single woman visitor I felt safe at all times as the area is patrolled by a form of tourism police. All rooms apart from those in the Contemporary wing are full of character. Whilst the colonial rooms are adequate in size, the Deluxe ones are huge. Staff are very helpful and friendly and the front desk and concierges have a good command of English. Internet is free but not always reliable. The AC is super efficient and easy to control with the help of double glazing. The pool and bar areas are outstanding and it's very refreshing to take a swim and cocktail after sightseeing. The one area for improvement is the restaurant. The setting is beautiful and the quality of the food is reasonable. Some nights there is a guitarist. However the service is very haphazard and needs sorting out. We didn't return after our dinner the first night which wasn't a huge problem because there are several great restaurants nearby. The breakfast can be a frustrating experience - best to avoid if you're in a hurry. If you want food served fast, go to the bar. They're super organised. All in all I'd return in a flash. I'd give them 5 stars if the restaurant staff were better trained to offer reasonable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bodo from Vallendar

A home far away from home...

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Nach wie vor der Tipp in der kolonialen Altstadt von Santo Domingo. Seit nunmehr über 10 Jahren besuche ich regelmäßig 1-2mal jährlich dieses Hotel und bin immer wieder aufs neue begeistert. Ein Hotel zum "zuhause-fühlen". Ein Hotel mit Stil und Atmosphäre, bis ins kleinste Detail liebevoll restauriert und stilsicher eingerichtet. Eine Oase der Ruhe in der ohnehin ruhigen "Zona Colonial". Die Lage ist unschlagbar, nur wenige Schritte zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten der kolonialen Altstadt, zu denen das Hotel übrigens auch selbst zählt. Empfehlenswert die Zimmer zur Straßenseite der "Calle las Damas", der Straße der Damen, wo man dem karibischen Treiben auf der Straße zusehen kann. Leider ist die Schallisolierung der Zimmer untereinander als auch zum Flur sehr schlecht. Man hat bisweilen das Gefühl, der Zimmernachbar stünde mitten im Raum, so deutlich hört man jedes gesprochene Wort. Auch die Lärmdämmung zum Flur könnte besser sein. Das hoteleigene Restaurant ist eine Klasse für sich und gehört ganz sicher zu den Besten in Santo Domingo, was sich allerdings auch im Preis widerspiegelt. Auch das umfangreiche Frühstücksbuffet lässt keine Wünsche offen. Regelmäßig stattfindende Live-Konzerte an der Lobby-Bar sind ein weiteres attraktives Angebot des Hotels. Am größten Hotelpool der Altstadt, umgeben von einem wunderschönen Patio Garten, lässt es sich während der heißen Tagesstunden bestens aushalten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC, NY

Great location -- beautiful Historical Hotel!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The location , the cool clean rooms, and the hotel is large enough to have "privacy" if you don't want to socialize.
Cons: The Restaurant!The SHAMFUL restaurant charges 70 USD / person without alcohol- the food was so awful that I sent it back to kitchen & cxl desert!UGH!
Location: The hotel is on the famous Calle Las Dames, so 2/3 of the important sites in the Zona Colonial are within a 5-minute walk from the hotel
Stayed for 4 nights -- really love the hotel for its great location, great room, and great public area especially the pool area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Boston, MA

Excellent hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Rooms, service, restaurant, pool were all excellent. Santo Domingo is not a terrific city for visitors but this is in the heart of the old city with views of the river. Parking was easy in the secured lot across the street. Our kids liked the pool. Close walking distance to tourist attractions. The restaurant was superb with the best risotto I ever had. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are nice. The only problem is that a lot of guests at this hotel smoke so the public spaces outdoors are not free of air pollution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: luxury hotel, nice restaurant, nice staff, and good size room
Cons: The internet was not work. Most of hotel staff did not speak English the breakfast buffet should provide enough food for some items
I travel with my family and we spend most of our day there. We enjoyed it.