Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family w. kids

A beautiful gem in Santo Domingo

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The picturesque courtyard, the original renovated rooms and general atmosphere.
Location: The location is perfect, right in the Zona Colonial and a walking distance to all the attractions.
We've stayed at the Hotel Dona Elvira for one night at the family suite, which we later realized was the only suite that was part of the original historic building - and the hotel stay has absolutely made our visit to Santo Domingo. The renovated rooms had amazingly high ceilings, gorgeous ceramics & detailing and original ceiling beams, and felt as if we moved back in time. The courtyard was delightful and we drank mango shakes from the old mango tree in the yard. Marc, the hotel owner and manager, sat down to talk to us in the bar during the live show and we had a great conversation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by G. from Benighted States of Hysteria

Low-key; Soft-lit; Central location

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Charming, quaint, has character/history... all those adjectives people like to apply to small, independently-run hotels really do apply to this one. A re-purposed colonial hacienda run by an expat couple (Belgian and Spanish-Filipina who met in New York); read the short history provided when you get there -- interesting. Rooms on bottom floor open out onto a plaza that encircles a small, well-kept pool. Perfect for couples, although I wasn't one of them and wasn't alone in that regard -- so don't let that put off you single travelers. Right in the middle of Zona Colonial (which, with respect, is the only part of Sto. Domingo worth seeing if you're touring); steps from Calle Conde and short walk to all the Columbus landmarks. A very lively area into the late hours, but this place really is a bastion of tranquility. Second floor houses a rooftop deck and small jacuzzi. Free wifi all around. Bilingual staff. Free breakfast (but please tip your server) of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, coffee. Rooms are clean and air-conditioned. My only complaint would be the water pressure in my room's shower, but that's a first-world gripe. Would love to honeymoon here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosemarie from Miami

Simple but convenient

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel if you are not looking for luxury or modern. Great location, walking distance to many museums, restaurants & more in the colonial district. Good service, nice & helpful personnel & simple basic breakfast but tasty. Room is ok-ish, very basic, bath has no hot water, only gets warm-ish. Good value for money if you are staying only for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe Blow

Decent

Posted May 5, 2013
Cons: Open the bar and restaurant.
Location: The Colonial Zone has Duarte Calle and much nightlight and cultural events and tours going on.
Staff was very helpful. The bar and restaurant were closed during my stay so I cannot speak on the food and drinks and this disappointed me. Overall I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A quaint clean place to stay in the Zona Colonial

Posted Dec 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
It is an old refurbished home so if you want a modern hotel go elsewhere. We found it exactly what we wanted - clean, with ambiance, close to the attractions of the Zona Colonial. English was spoken well enough that it was not a problem. Staff did everything asked of cheerfully - including replacing some bed sheets that were a bit thin. Taxis were called and arrived promptly. Hot water was warm only and took a while to come through. Not much of an issue in the climate. Air con worked well. Cable TV so lots of choices but we didn't watch anything during our six days. The pool was clean if small. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Great hotel with nice ambience and close to the colonial zone. It would be impossible to find a better hotel at such a low cost. Great coffee and breakfast every day. The staff were incredibly outgoing and went above and beyond every time I asked for something. I will plan on staying here every time I return to Santo Domingo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Been Around

Santo Domingo - If not a history buff ... skip

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Santo Domingo is nothing special. Maybe if Columbus was still hanging out here. If you're doing the all inclusives with the family ... fine, otherwise go up north to Puerta Plata or Cabarete. Go to 27 Falls!! Amazing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hensley from New York

Great for two

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was so good
Location: Perfect location, close to the beach and quiet
Place is super clean and the staff is helpful and pleasant. Air conditioning and cable tv is amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from chicago

delightful

Posted Mar 23, 2011
Hope to return next year.