Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Architectural well Located Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is amazing and reasonably priced.
Cons: The shower leaked a bit into the room - due to the worn seal on the half glass swaying wall.
Location: The location is central to the Old Town, but a bit off the path which is nice.
Overall I was very pleased with this Hotel - from the location, to the design, to the welcoming and well spoken staff, to the overall cleanliness, luxury comfort and to the grand breakfast. The staff was more than accommodating with early check-in and late check-out. The secure parking across the street was a nice added bonus too. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel, once the construction madness is complete. Which leads me to my only complaint with regards to my stay - the current construction mayhem taking place right in front of the hotel entrance and the surrounding Old Town location is not only an eye soar but also a huge safety issue. Thankfully our stay was on Good Friday, so no one was actually working on the construction sight so noise pollution was not an issue for us. Though the construction zone mess out front was not pleasant and having to maneuver around it with luggage was not the easiest nor safest by any means. I think that both Expedia and the hotel are responsible to inform guests of the current construction zone prior to booking, as this could totally impact one's decision on booking here or not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MARIA CRISTINA MARINA from Mexico, D.F.

Disfrútenlo!

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente servicio y atención, buena calidad en los alimentos. Ampliamente recomendable. Gracias
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Versailles

Du bon et du moins bon !

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement
Cons: - Limiter le bruit généré par le patio - Réduire le bruit fait par le groupe de climatisation - Améliorer la diffusion du WIFI dans les chambres
Location: Quartier très central avec tout accessible à pied (musées, quartier populaire, rue principale piétonne)
J’ai retrouvé dans mon expérience pas mal des appréciations présentes sur cet hôtel mais que je pondèrerai de façons différentes. Dans les points positifs, indéniablement l’excellent emplacement, le cachet de l’ensemble et le personnel serviable. Dans les points négatifs, les chambres du bas qui donnent sur la patio ce qui les rend plutôt bruyantes (ex : N° 106). A l’intérieur de la chambre on entend parfaitement la musique (majoritairement de la salsa et des reprises de vieilles chansons françaises pour ceux que ça intéresserait) qui est diffusée dans le patio et ce jusque tard dans la soirée mais aussi le personnel qui parlent entre eux. A ma demande on m’a donné sans difficulté une chambre plus calme (N° 207) mais là c’est la climatisation générale qui faisait un bruit de salsa lorsqu’elle se déclenchait. Le WIFI fonctionnait mal dans la 106 et pas du tout dans la 207 même collé à l’antenne du routeur. Enfin les finitions des chambres sont assez quelconques avec beaucoup de défauts apparents ce qui laisse imaginer que cet ancien bâtiment est difficile à maintenir. Donc en résumé si vous aimez vous trémousser dans votre chambre au son de la Salsa (ou de la clim) et que vous aimez les lieux qui ont une âme alors cet hôtel est pour vous un excellent choix. Si selon vous la fonction première d’une chambre d’hôtel est de vous assurer calme et repos alors je vous déconseille cet endroit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, USA

Nice place to be in the colonial district.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Historic location and ambiance. Food was very good and reasonably priced compared to some of the other restaurants we tried in the area. Very safe.
Cons: The sink faucet needed to be tightened and the sink unclogged. But the hotel was in very good condition for it's age.
Location: Right downtown in old colonial district. Walking was easy to historical sites, food and shops.
We appreciated the helpfulness of the entire staff at the hotel. There was a bit of a problem with the WiFi but it was fixed during our stay. It's too bad there was construction going on right outside of the hotel, but it didn't deter us from seeing the sights. We also appreciated our taxi driver, Felix, who was recommended by the hotel, and was available for everything we wanted to do far outside of the colonial area. All in all, we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Unique experience

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Colonial charm
Cons: I would suggest that the tile in the bathtub could be renewed to keep up with the hotel standard. Also, a little more exterior lighting in the courty
Location: Two blocks to main square and cathedral.
My husband and I loved our stay at this hotel. The staff were wonderful and the surroundings historic. The beautiful and romantic courtyard was the highlight. Our room was small but very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who want to experience a stay in a true colonial building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel in the heart of Old Town

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Everything within walking distance, maxing sights, and got a true feel of the Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great hotel, great bar, good food, cool architectu

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Stayed 4 nights, one in smaller room 208 and another in larger room 210. I really love this hotel. Extremely gracious staff. They make the place. Quiet oasis in ancient stone cpurtyard. Rooms are high ceilinged and nicely done. In my room phone did not work and the TV was not working but they fixed. Great place to work but wifi did not work great in rooms on 2nd floor, adequate in El Patio restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NICOLAS from Buenos Aires

Excelente relacion precio/calidad.

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Muy lindo hotel con estilo colonial. Hermoso patio central con mesas para desayunar, almorzar o cenar. Muy buen restaurant. Lo que mas me gusto de la habitacion fue el set de productos para el baño. Son los detalles los que hacen que este hotel se destaque sobre los demas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Juan Carlos from Chile

Regular sin respuesta

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
Sin internet en la habitación. Sin caja de seguridad. Las dos cosas se reclamaron en varias ocaciones sin respuesta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Haiti

Great getaway!

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great inexpensive alternative and change of pace from the American chain hotels. The well-kept building, hidden in a maze of narrow one-way streets in the charming Zona Colonial, formerly housed the royal treasury in the 16th Century. Marriott and Hilton can't say that. Pros: free and easy parking, electricity, internet, hot water, A/C, and a mattress of similar quality to a Marriott or Hilton. The European breakfast in the courtyard was nicely done. Certainly an old-world romantic element here too, as you're a block or two away from outdoor cafes, boutiques, parks, ruins, museums, an old cathedral and monastery. Cons: morning courtyard activity was slightly noticeable in the room, pillows were slightly on the plump side---but that didn't at all deter a good night's rest! Would I recommend to a friend? YES. Would I stay here again with my wife? YES. Bring our kids? Maybe not.