Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful colonial hotel in the heart of the histo

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The courtyard surrounded by orchids was dreamy, a perfect breakfast and later a romantic place to have dinner under the stars.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated.
Very nice -- a great place to stay near the Calle del Conde and the nearby tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in Zona Colonial

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: The courtyard, the staff, the restaurant
Location: A short walk to anything in the colonial Zone
This is a lovely hotel in the colonial zone. The hotel itself in in a vey old, restored colonial building. The courtyard restaurant is wonderful--very good breakfast included with the room. but try to have dinner here one night as the food is exceptional. The room is nice. Our only problem was that he mini bar/refrigerator didn't work & it took several complaints, but then they replaced it at the end of our 2nd day. Overall, we found it to be a very lovely & comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but preferred the Nicolas

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Great location, architecture, quiet setting.
Cons: Buffet breakfast was pretty mediocre. Not as nice as the Nicolas breaksfast and not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ioan from saudi arabia

Great food and location, excellent staff!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Quiet, relaxed, nice atmosphere, good location, great food and above all, helpful staff.
Cons: Small things the room, like the bathroom door didn't close all the way or another lamp as at times the room was too dark.
Location: Next to the major tourist attractions in Santo Domingo.
We loved our stay at the Hotel Frances. The staff was really helpful and professional. We spent a week and enjoyed their breakfast as well as dishes from their menu - delicious! If you want to visit the historical sites in Santo Domingo the hotel Frances is perfectly located. We will recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Minnesota

Great location in Colonial District

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Very safe, comfortable and clean. Staff are very attentive and friendly, even if your Spanish is elementary!
Cons: A bit noisy in early morning because of outside construction, I think.
Location: Located centrally in Colonial District. Walk to the plaza to see the fantastic Feliz Navidad tree and live music in December. Close to the market.
Wonderful hotel in the Colonial District - within walking distance to many museums, restaurants, and the market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by polonez from New York, NY

A nice place to stay in Santo Domingo

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The court yard, AC, and location
Cons: The front desk staff was not very friendly. I have not tried food but $16 for breakfast is a lot. There are lots of cheaper restaurants nearby.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to all the attractions in the colonial zone. However, 1 day/1 night is more than enough for Santo Domingo
Great location. Nice hotel. The front desk staff was not very friendly. They also messed up with a taxi ride to the airport for the next day. First they said they would book it for me. The next day when I checked with them, the taxi driver said he was booked already. I said I would not need a reservation and that I would find my own taxi driver. I guess the staff at the hotel made a booking for me anyways. When I was departing, 2 drivers were waiting for me. The one that was booked by the hotel was insisting I was going with him. When I told him I did not book him and that the hotel must have made a mistake, he was trying to force me not to go with the driver that I found on my own. He also insisted that if I didn't go with him, I would need to pay him 1/2 of the fare to the airport. I would not recommend to stay in Santo Domingo for more than 1 day/1 night. You can see all the attractions in the colonial zone in 1/2 day. I don't recommend going to Faro de Colon. The place is not well maintained and it looks like abandoned. The exhibits are not very interesting. Sometimes you can't even see these exhibits because there is no light. Tres ojos is interesting to see. Take a cab to get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria

:)

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Hotel Frances was wonderful. In the heart of Santo Domingo's beautiful historic district. Most everything is within walking distant or a short cab ride. Beautiful spanish architecture. There is a court yard where you can relax, have dinner and drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Miami

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013