Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Deborah

Fire the manager

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, minus the Manager.
Cons: Management
Location: Location is good
The Manager is not good, tends to have a bad attitude towards guests. I didn't bother staying. I preffered to stay at Boca Chica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super location.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the Colonial Zone. For a first timer to the city ,it is ideal for daily tours of the historical sites and museums. Just a few steps from the piazza and the first church of the Americas. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Canada

good hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Location: in the heart of the Colonial District - perfect location for me
2nd time staying here - would stay again. Great location and relaxing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Denver

Second stay within a month...

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My first review a few weeks ago was much better, but I got to see another side of the hotel on the second visit. Although the overall service of the hotel remained the same, I was denied access when I tried to bring a local friend back to the hotel. They insisted that I pay an extra $20 each time they entered the hotel regardless of the length of time. I understand why they would want to see an ID for security reasons, but the fee is outrageous. I would recommend you check out Hodelpa which is just 3 blocks away which does not have this policy even though the hotel told me all other hotels do the same thing to protect their "images". ALSO, I began to notice all the little things that were not clean or functioning properly in the hotel. Soap dishes falling out of the wall, dirty caulking/grout/tile. Also, the WiFi is VERY spotty in this hotel. Good in the lobby, but the room I was initially put in had NO signal. They were nice enough to let me move to a room that had a tolerable signal, but this was a huge inconvenience since I had already unpacked. My advice is to check the WiFI the second you get to the room if it's an amenity you use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: location is good
Cons: facility, staff's english, supporting staff, manager
Location: old colonial location walkable to most things, such as the cathedral
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to historic sites

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Close to historic sites
Cons: Prehistoric television
Location: Close to El Conde, a commercial boulevard, and to several parks and cathedrals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Stephan from Nashville, TN

You can't beat the price

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in Hotel Mercure Comercial for an overnight stay before our early morning flight to Buenos Aires. The room we stayed in could use some updating, but for the price, we can't really complain and overall were very satisfied with the hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. We especially like the Colonial Zone where Hotel Mercure Comercial is located.
1 out of 5
by Dipak from Boston

Don't stay here

Posted Jan 1, 2014
The shower didn't work. Internet didn't work. Front desk charged me 80 pesos to call for a taxi the staff was not helpful in recommending a restaurant within walking distance. The bed was terrible. I can go on and on in short don't stay here
2 out of 5
by boatboy from USA and Asia

Hotel has Good points....and Bad Points

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: rooms....internet....amenities.... free bottle of water in room ....
Location: location is good..... safe area for walking and visiting
The Good: Staff and Location Restaurant is good The Bad: Old and small rooms Internet is almost non existent. If you do get on, in a few minutes you are knocked off. The Staff acknowledge that they get a lot of complaints about the Internet, and you would think the Management would take the necessary steps to ensure that Internet is usable as they advertise. If Internet is important for your stay, then this Hotel is definatly not the place for you. The amenities in the room are few...and if you wanta bottle of water, be prepared to pay $2.75. Quite frankly, it is telltale about the Managementys Mentality towards their guests comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in Colonial Zone.

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Worth the money