Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cagliari

hotel al centro della zona coloniale

Posted Mar 2, 2015
situato sul Conde , la strada pedonale che attraversa la zona coloniale, è vicinissimo a tutte le attrazioni. Vi sono sempre taxi disponibili, e nell'hotel c'è anche un ristorante a prezzi abbastanza contenuti. Unico neo il wi.fi non sempre accessibile, soprattutto in camera, e una sola postazione internet nella hall. Inoltre il salottino della hall è abbastanza limitato. Nell'insieme ci siamo trovati bene e abbiamo trascorso una bella vacanza.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Not room ready when I arrived.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Only the location.
Cons: everything
Location: Very good.
I have to wait for my room more than 1.5 hrs, in the lobby, and when they were ready it wasn't a double bed room, the only have a single room, so when I ask for discount for they simply ignored my demand.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom saint martin

très mauvais accueil par le personnel.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Rien
Cons: Tout
Location: Le seul intérêt est la localisation à proximité des sites historiques, la rue piétonne assez bien sécurisée.
Très mauvais accueil par le personnel malgré un appel téléphonique au préalable pour ajout d'une personne et chambre avec baignoire. Non seulement il existe un réel problème de communication, notre parole est mise en doute. A trois reprises une régularisation de la deuxième personne était demandée alors que le règlement avait été effectué dès l arrivée. Sans l appui du la facture de régularisation montrée par mon ami, l accès lui était interdit en pleine nuit. Au bout d'une demi-heure de discussion l affaire était réglée sans excuses des fauteurs bien entendu. Pour un visiteur de quelques minutes nous avons été obligés de régler 20 euros. Nous n y avons pris qu un repas car la salière avait du tomber dans la ratatouille et le ragout de chèvre était caoutchouteux. Les pommes de terre au four n'étaient que des pommes de terre à l'eau. C'est le plus mauvais repas que nous ayons pris à santo domingo et malheureusement le plus cher. Bien entendu vu les prestations, personne ne nous a demandé si le séjour s'était bien passé.L hôtel Mercure de santo domingo est définitivement rayé de nos futurs choix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom las terrenas

use it every time

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: it's convenient with very comfortable beds.
Cons: showerhead needs tightening up. a taxi is always a hassle, just because you come out of a hotel they jack the price up by at least 50%.
Location: feed the pigeons, ,explore the colonial zone
no problems, greeted by name on arrival, all as it should be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cabarete

Feral dogs fighting all night on the El Conde

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Always clean rooms, good breakfast buffet and well trained desk staff.
Cons: See above note about disturbing dog & bar noise.
Location: Casa Reales museum is a must!
It is a shame to be in such a nice location and hotel and not be able to sleep because of packs of wild dogs fighting & barking each night all night long. The new DR noise ordinance has not stopped Onno bar from loud music all night too. So between the dogs & the bar noise it was impossible to get good nights sleep even with well done amenities. With the colonial zone renovations its a shame the wild dogs were not cleared away. Maybe Hotel Mercure can coordinate this improvement with the tourism minister since Danilo Medina has just approved extra funds for the renovations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FLORIDA

very affordable. good for business travelers

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
very good breakfast, close to everything , but no beach and no pool. very small rooms. very well priced. if you are planning to have someone come up to the room get ready to pay $2 per visit, even if they come up for only half hour. never heard of such a policy. they will also hit you for the mini bar, even if you don't use any items from it. BEWARE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haiti

très bien située sur la rue coloniale, terrasse

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: site et rue coloniale
Cons: un peu plus de choix au déjeuner buffet
Location: visite et promenade
situé sur une avenue non ouvert a la circulation, beaucoup de terrasse près de l'église historique Christophe Colomb. beaucoup de marchand locaux. de l'aéroport en taxi 40$ us. A la réception, on veut vous facilitez la tâche.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

The staff at the front desk are unprofessional

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Anyhthing
Cons: Change the ridiculous policy of charging $15 for bringing visitors. Visitor that come to visit and not to spend the night/
Location: Is close to everything, but I do not recommed this hotel.
This was my second time staying at this hotel... I promised myself not to stay there again but I did it because of the prize. Even thou I made reservations for two people, I was the only person staying in the room. My cousins picked me up at the airport and took me to the hotel. They wanted to see the room like they always do when they drop me off at a hotel everytime I go to Santo Domingo. My cousins when upstais with me, since we were going to a club that night, they decided to take a shower. It was less than 20 minutes.. When we came down the front desk people told me that I needed to pay $15 dollars for bringing my cousins to my room. I thought that was ridiculous... I argued with them, and told them I was not going to pay that money and told them not dare to charge my card in that amount 'cause if they did I was going to call my bank in the US (CITIBANK) and ask them to cancel any transaction made from that hotel. They said they were going to make an exception with me and did not charge me... And said that if I bring someone else to visit, they would charge the $15 dollars. I think that's ridiculous and will never stay in that hotel.. Besides that awkward moment, there was a weird smell in the room... As if there was something humid... I really recommed HODELPA and HOTEL PALACIO, the hotels I stay when I go to Santo Domingo...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Definately worth it

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Nice place looks way better in person..... it has that small Miami hotel feel......Note there is a club almost across the street if you get a room in the front of the hotel you will not sleep unless you are okay with the loud music. Other than that really there are no complaints. Worth every penny and alot of historical, buildings museums, mausoleums awesome restaurants with international foods. No beach its about 20 mins away but if that doesnt matter, stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

gemütliches und sicheres Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Service, Freundlichkeit und Frühstücksbuffet sind o.k., Wer einen erschwinglichen Aufenthalt direkt an der Straße EL Conde in der Kolonialen Altstadt in Santo Domingo sucht, ist mit diesem Hotel sehr gut beraten.