Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Jersey City, NJ

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 11, 2013
I had a very nice stay at a Hotel Santo Domingo. Very professional, courteous staff, very good food. Very clean room with everything that I needed. Ex. Iron, iron board ec.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Aaron M. from USA

Amazingly Bad

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The carpeting in the room is older than I am. Service was abysmal, not even a comb for sale at the front desk. The 13" television was from the early 80's. You're better off renting a minivan and sleeping there instead.
2 out of 5
by Carol from CT

Did not live up to expectations

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Location, pool
Cons: bed, water pressure, service, food
Location: Tons of stuff to do in Santo Domingo - Malecon, Zona Colonial, new shopping malls, etc. If you are bored in Sto Dgo, you are doing something wrong!
We have stayed in several hotels in Santo Domingo, including all of the hotels in the vicinity of the Hotel Santo Domingo. Based on appearances and reputation, we were expecting a comfortable, luxurious stay, however it didn't live up to our expectations. Check in wasn't until 3 PM, and while the hotel didn't seem to be full, we had to wait in reception until that time. No offer/suggestion to use the pool, restaurant or anything (as usually happens at other locations). Once we finally got to our room, our beds were hard as rocks (seriously, was probably more comfortable to sleep on the floor) and there was hardly any water pressure. When we asked to speak to someone, no one ever got back to us. We didn't pursue the issue as we spent very little time in the hotel, but I was sure glad that we would only be spending 4 nights, and not an entire week. There was no water available, so we had to buy a bottle for 3 dollars, and requests for ice were ignored. Breakfast was nice, but nothing special. We would not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is closing December 2013!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
The hotel is extremely old and is closing for renovation December 2013, I would stay away from it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Florida

Older stately hotel. Limited staff English.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: They advertise "American Plan" but it's just a free breakfast. They also charge for water.
Cons: They add-on a charge if you get a taxi through them.
Location: You should take a taxi everyplace.
Overpriced Restaurant and our service was not good. However, our free breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was a littel frustrated beccause the first time my reservation was on the executive floor and do not know why my second reservation was not treat as same therefore next tiime which will be quite soon I hope t will be entitled to the executive side
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by spyturtle from Los Angeles

good hotel for good price

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: the price was right and it was closet to everything that would be needed on a vacation.
Cons: the carpet in my room was clean but old. i walked around with out shoes and felt comformtable.
Location: it was near to stores, bus lines and loal acitivities
i got another hotel only to find out it was not up to the stands i desired. expedia have me an option which was satifactory at a good price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Struggling hote.

Posted Mar 25, 2013
I stayed here in the pass, but the hotel seems struggling to maintain, my expected level of comfort.
3 out of 5
by Kubadat from Atlanta, GA, USA

Great breakfast, ghastly pillows.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Pillows
The hotel is large and looks nice. It's old, but they were working on it, so I assume they're trying to update it as much as possible. The pillows are dreadful and are in serious need of immediate replacement. They'd be much better off not supplying pillows than these; they're that bad. The pillows are what contributed to the poor comfort rating. A/C system is weak, so I'd imagine the room would be warm during warmer months. The breakfast buffet is fantastic; plenty of fresh options and a made-to-order omelette station. All of the staff we encountered spoke English, so it should be very easy to communicate. I did everything possible to use Spanish so I don't lose it! The hotel was conveniently located for my purposes; If the need arises in the future, I'll likely try a different option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com