Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dulwichvillagefrom Matera

Gorgeous

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is truly wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, New York

Beautiful hotel experience. Great for a break.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Great location and unique layouts of the rooms in this hotel make your stay. Very clean rooms and the design of space was used beautifully.
Cons: The front desk should have the menu of all the restaurants in its area so it can checkout the prices with person staying to verify charges.
Location: The castle nearby where the film Ladyhawke was filmed was fabulous to see.
The hotel was unique and the breakfast was far above standard with great service. Unfortunately, the dinner experience was not very good. We were hoping to enjoy a great dinner since we were celebrating a birthday. The whole dinner experience was slow and not up to the standard the hotel presents itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

an experience for the adventurer

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
great experience - need to be adventurious and understand the concept of the hotel very interesting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by vanessawhalenfrom Rome

A fairytale retreat in the mountains

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I brought my mother here as a birthday treat. We were coming from Rome and stayed for only one night, but we felt it was enough to get a feel for the place. It was a very rainy June evening and the village was surrounded by fog which made it all the more atmospheric. Our rooms were amazing - mixing the best of the original old rustic architecture with brand new bathroom units. Just lovely. The hotel restaurant was closed for dinner, but the staff directed us to a place at the bottom of the hill where we dined like royals. The breakfast buffet was great though a little heavy on the sweet stuff for our tastes. In all, it was a magical night, and excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Abruzzo experience

Posted May 21, 2014
Authentic Abruzese accomidations from the way past but with hidden modern accomidations. Stunning views of the area. Even finished the stay with a very good inclusive breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a different experience

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Rustic furnishings and ambience, very different to the normal hotel.
Cons: The bed was hard but some like it like that.
Location: With snow covered mountains all around it was spectacular viewing from every angle. Nearby Rocca was interesting climb, easy, with 360 deg views.
A different experience in this ancient village, all mod cons except TV, that would not go with the charming atmosphere. The bed was hard but some people like that, food excellent, we really enjoyed the experience. Visited the Rocca nearby which was also fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sablefrom Seattle

For those seeking solitude

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Beautiful decor and atmosphere, location
Location: Hiking in the Gran Sasso, Rocca Calascio, Peltunium
Low season at Sextantio means you'll be one of the few people strolling the empty streets of Santo Stefano di Sessanio. The hotel's medieval decor only adds to this sort of monkish appeal. If a bit spartan in pillow and mattress, my room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Towels were plentiful and fluffy, and the fireplace stocked with wood. Avoid the hotel restaurant if you can. Its mediocre offerings were the only sore disappointment in this otherwise lovely spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne Talleyfrom Houston, TX USA

Perfect Getaway

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The stay at Sextantio was the highlights of our trip. The population of the town is 124. The hotel was a little pricey, but the food was surprisingly cheap. There were no hidden costs, and their advertisements were accurate. The staff and whole community was extremely friendly and helpful. English was hit and miss throughout the community, but a pocket translator was more than enough to get by. As far as the scenery, I took over 250 beautiful pictures of this unique community. I highly recommend using the Hotel’s transportation service to get there from L’Aquila. The train ride to L’Aquila was a little rough, but the stay in Sextantio was worth enduring it. I highly recommend Sextantio to anyone wanting to get away from the normal tourist destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patriciafrom Sydney NSW, Australia

Medieval enchantment in the Abruzzo

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The wood burning fireplace in the bedroom The bath beside the fire Candles in the bedroom The comfort of the bedroom The atmosphere of the town
Cons: None. It exceeded all my expectations.
Location: In a small, formerly abandoned medieval hill top town, Santo Stefano di Sessanio, in the Abruzzo mountains. The town is located within a national park
This is a unique and wonderful hotel experience. Minimalist medievalism with 21st century creature comforts in formerly abandoned, now carefully conserved, medieval hilltop village setting. Our room was at the top of a tower. It was unbelievably beautiful and comfortable with underfloor heating, a very comfortable bed, a deep bath with unlimited hot water, quality fixtures and fittings (including a Babyliss hairdryer& blown glass Italian table lamps) and excellent wifi connectivity. The combination of a medieval aesthetic (rough textured, black stained walls; rough hewn timber floorboards, rafters, shutters and bathroom counters; small shuttered windows; a working stone fireplace, squat cream candles in wall niches) with ultra modern, streamlined white bathroom fixtures is enchanting, and soothing. The small windows have views over the lanes and open spaces of the town and the breathtaking valleys to the hills and mountains beyond. Lying in the huge hot bath with candles burning and the fire crackling and burning down to embers was pure bliss. The cantina (for breakfast and dinner) in a candlelit former wine/store cellar was warm and welcoming with excellently prepared, rustic fare using local produce and techiques. The staff were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. Go while your knees are still good and be prepared to carry your bags up flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MLTatLargefrom Australia

Unique location in beautiful Abruzzo

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The medieval center of town has a fairy tale quality about it. Rooms are located throughout the cobbled town. Very charming and authentic. Beautiful region of Abruzzo has much to offer. As they say Italy - è vale la pena. Worth the effort.