Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sable from Seattle

For those seeking solitude

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Beautiful decor and atmosphere, location
Location: Hiking in the Gran Sasso, Rocca Calascio, Peltunium
Low season at Sextantio means you'll be one of the few people strolling the empty streets of Santo Stefano di Sessanio. The hotel's medieval decor only adds to this sort of monkish appeal. If a bit spartan in pillow and mattress, my room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Towels were plentiful and fluffy, and the fireplace stocked with wood. Avoid the hotel restaurant if you can. Its mediocre offerings were the only sore disappointment in this otherwise lovely spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne Talley from Houston, TX USA

Perfect Getaway

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The stay at Sextantio was the highlights of our trip. The population of the town is 124. The hotel was a little pricey, but the food was surprisingly cheap. There were no hidden costs, and their advertisements were accurate. The staff and whole community was extremely friendly and helpful. English was hit and miss throughout the community, but a pocket translator was more than enough to get by. As far as the scenery, I took over 250 beautiful pictures of this unique community. I highly recommend using the Hotel’s transportation service to get there from L’Aquila. The train ride to L’Aquila was a little rough, but the stay in Sextantio was worth enduring it. I highly recommend Sextantio to anyone wanting to get away from the normal tourist destinations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia from Sydney NSW, Australia

Medieval enchantment in the Abruzzo

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The wood burning fireplace in the bedroom The bath beside the fire Candles in the bedroom The comfort of the bedroom The atmosphere of the town
Cons: None. It exceeded all my expectations.
Location: In a small, formerly abandoned medieval hill top town, Santo Stefano di Sessanio, in the Abruzzo mountains. The town is located within a national park
This is a unique and wonderful hotel experience. Minimalist medievalism with 21st century creature comforts in formerly abandoned, now carefully conserved, medieval hilltop village setting. Our room was at the top of a tower. It was unbelievably beautiful and comfortable with underfloor heating, a very comfortable bed, a deep bath with unlimited hot water, quality fixtures and fittings (including a Babyliss hairdryer& blown glass Italian table lamps) and excellent wifi connectivity. The combination of a medieval aesthetic (rough textured, black stained walls; rough hewn timber floorboards, rafters, shutters and bathroom counters; small shuttered windows; a working stone fireplace, squat cream candles in wall niches) with ultra modern, streamlined white bathroom fixtures is enchanting, and soothing. The small windows have views over the lanes and open spaces of the town and the breathtaking valleys to the hills and mountains beyond. Lying in the huge hot bath with candles burning and the fire crackling and burning down to embers was pure bliss. The cantina (for breakfast and dinner) in a candlelit former wine/store cellar was warm and welcoming with excellently prepared, rustic fare using local produce and techiques. The staff were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. Go while your knees are still good and be prepared to carry your bags up flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MLTatLarge from Australia

Unique location in beautiful Abruzzo

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The medieval center of town has a fairy tale quality about it. Rooms are located throughout the cobbled town. Very charming and authentic. Beautiful region of Abruzzo has much to offer. As they say Italy - è vale la pena. Worth the effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian T from North Yorks, England

An experience not to be missed

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This accommodation was unlike any other we have stayed in, different to say the least. Essential facilities were contained within an open plan medieval bedroom chamber with rustic shuttered windows and an open fire if required. Not for some, who may think the quaintness and ability to talk to your partner while he or she is on the loo hidden just around the corner maybe just ruffing it just a bit too much, The hotel is a series of houses and rooms located in an old hilltop earthquake damaged village. The village setting and surrounding countryside are picture postcard fantastic, with the Gran Sasso hills and mountain area just twenty mins drive away. The self service free breakfast is taken in the hotel "canteena" as is the evening meal which is reasonably priced if required. The meals were not fancy but traditional and wholesome, served with local wines. Most guests seemed to stay for a few days for the total experience before moving on. For the price of the room which was very reasonable, we were more than happy with this little gem of a place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rustic Hotel in (Very) Rural Italy

Posted May 12, 2013
While the room was great -- a wonderful wood fireplace, WIFI, and a hot shower, the town it is located in is absolutely incredible; like stepping back in time hundreds of years. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by amadeo

most awesome experience ever!

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a medieval village that has been renovated into a modern day boutiqe hotel. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is the most unique situation I've ever experienced. All the comforts of a modern day hotel, but with the locale and ambiance of a 12th centuary village. Wifi in every room, modern plumbing with private bathrooms, electric outlets in every room, friendly multilingual staff. Try the village cheese shop for a snack. GO STAY AT SEXTANTINO!!!