Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Back room no view

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We stayed in one of the 2 back rooms. This hotel has 3 types of rooms. Back looking at a Lane, side looking at another Lane (but with a private small pool) and the sea view. After reading the reviews before we went we thought we had made a mistake in booking. If I was paying top dollar for the sea view and I got one of the other rooms I would be disappointed. Having said that our room was ok. The draw card for this hotel is the pool area and the staff. We only stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The view at sunset over dinner and drinks was fantastic. The best of all of the locations we tried. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisafrom London

Beautiful Views of the caldera

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. George the Barman is especially lovely.
Cons: We missed the option of 24 hour room service, especially as we were staying here for a wedding and returning back to the hotel late at night.
We arrived mid afternoon and were promptly checked in. We were offered a free upgrade the following day to a room with a lovely view and private balcony. The option of being served an a la carte breakfast to the room at no extra charge was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liacecyfrom Mestre

Dove la semplicità diviene lusso

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Ottima posizione e staff di alta qualità . Relax assoluto nello splendore dei tramonti più belli del mondo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

liar, liar pants full of poo

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: our first room and the location
Cons: being lied to
Location: a really good location
Everything seemed prerfect, until the last day! As we arrived we were told we had been given an upgrade. (we payed a lot of money for the sea veiw, the up grade was just next door) As the week went on everything was perfect up until on the friday morning i had a call from the front desk waking us up. We were told that our water had been affected by the wind the night before, so we needed to change rooms. (a massive down grade) she said that if we down graded rooms she would let us stay in the new room and an extra few hours before our flight the next day. We thought it was a good idea because we would be just sat in the airport for hours. However, later that day after we had packed ALL our clothes and moved to the "shed" with a lovely veiw of a wall, she had moved a family in to our room..... At first we were mad but after we thought about it, we thought at least we get our new room for longer. HOWEVER, She then said we had to check out at the normal time..... we feel that she "up graded" us from the start because she knew she had double booked our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbyfrom NSW, Australia

What a view

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: Amazing view, great staff
Cons: Pathetic shower, the outside area needs better upkeep
Location: It's all about the location. Close enough to Thira to get into the action and far enough to get away from it.
The breathtaking views are always going to make staying at most places in Santorini an amazing experience. That said, La Maltese was a great place to stay anyway - mainly because the staff were so helpful and friendly. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and were very hospitable in general. The rooms were nice enough but the showers in our rooms were pretty awful considering it's such a nice hotel in most other regards - the problem was they were hand held and cramped. The hotel would definitely benefit from a bit more outdoor maintenance — for example there was a dirty old jacuzzi which had been drained and left to sit on the balcony and looking a little depressing, and the pool area needed a bit of a sweep. Other than that, the pool (though quite small - so it's really more for a refreshing dip) was very nice and the deck chairs were comfortable and perched in a perfect position to enjoy the view, which didn't seem to get old. It seemed mostly couples and groups young women were the main guests. They do have spa treatments, which I indulged in and it was fantastic — in room options available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Stavanger, Norway

Stunning view, great location, wonderful staff

Posted Nov 3, 2011
Location: There is a beautiful cliff-edge path from Imerovigli (hotel location) to the capital town, Thira. Magnificent views and in summer there are lots of bars and restaurants along the way. In the other direction a GORGEOUS walk (5 or 6 miles?) takes you to the postcard perfect small town of Oia - famous for pedestrian-only small streets lined with bars, cafes and shopping. The town is also famous for it's sunsets. One section we almost missed was the Ancient Thera historic site. It is a vast area of excavations and exhibits - reminiscent of Ephesus or Pompeii but with a magnificent vistas of the island in all directions as it is perched on a mountaintop! Well worth a visit!
My wife and I spent 4 nights at La Maltese - just an extended long weekend in Santorini to escape the Norwegian autumn rain and darkness - and loved the hotel. Only three of the 9 rooms were occupied (it is the very end of the tourist season - the hotel closed for the season on the day we departed and MANY other hotels and restaurants had already closed for the season) so we had very personalized service. The young lady who manages the hotel was extremely kind and helpful - suggesting activities, checking restaurants and attractions to verify they were open before we went, giving directions. The hotel itself is very elegant, perched on the highest point of Imerovigli overlooking Skaros rock and the entire vista of the Caldera. We could easily hike to Thira town or Oia, along beautiful paths well away (mostly) from the busy roadways. Our junior suite was large (two bedrooms - very convenient for two couples travelling together) and the large terraces with sunbeds and bar service would be very relaxing in the summer heat. One tip: there are virtually no street signs on the island so try to arrive in the daylight or get explicit turn by turn directions before setting off from the airport in a rental car in the dark as we did! After almost an hour of futile searching we parked at what we thought was a reataurant to ask directions and when we went in, we found we had accidentally parked in the hotel lot! They were expecting us, welcomed us by name and the next 5 days were bliss!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norway

Not good enough

Posted Sep 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
Located at the highest point of Santorini, Imerovigli. In the evening there are crowds of tourists gathering right outside the hotel to watch sunset. Plus for service-minded and very friendly staff, and the restaurant/food in general is good. Though, both interior and exterior need serious rehabilitation and general impression of hotel standard is far to low. Pool areas are very small and seems out-dated, sometimes not even clean, and one of the pools is even out of order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom France

très bel hôtel, bcp de charme, très calme

Posted Sep 22, 2008
Seul reproche : personnel flottant , pas de patron. C'était un peu un établissement fantôme, il manquait une âme à la maison.Ils devraient négocier le prix des taxis pour leurs clients ou au moins les informer des tentatives d'escroquerie permanente des chauffeurs.Mauvais point pour eux aussi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great View and Impeccable Service

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
Staying at the Maltese Estate was truly a memorable experience. The staff members were considerate & kind, and the facility was very well kept. The hotel also has complimentary "Spa services" for guests with no additional charge. You and your partner can enjoy a private spa experience with a Jacuzzi, sauna, and steam bath - a very relaxing and romantic experience. Finally, the sunset view is so beautiful -- different to the one you would see at Oia but still equally impressive. Imerovigli is less crowded and you can see the entire island in one eye. The hotel is at the highest point of the island capturing a really nice view. My husband and I enjoyed our complimentary bottle of wine and fresh fruit (which you get for reserving any room on hotel.com) on the hotel front deck...it was truly amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2008 on Hotels.com