Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location .

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: location
Bed arrangement was to be double bed ,but was 2 single put together . bath tub was marked ,other items oke .
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk UK

Too far out of Haarlem

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The reception staff was helpful.
Cons: Less clutter,less furniture in communal spaces.More thought to tidiness,style & general d├ęcor.Better lighting in dining areas.Need info on bike hiring
Location: Located in residential area, along way from Haarlem City Centre. Was near a very attractive windmill and National Park.Nice restaurant nearby.
When we arrived at 12.10, for our noon check in the doors were locked, the hotel was empty and there was not a person in site. We had a look all around, and was just looking for the hotel number to ring when finally the cleaner let us in. We had requested quadruple room but were allocated 2 rooms instead. Then we were put on the phone to speak with someone in English and then we did get our quadruple room as requested. The next day we had breakfast. Lovely fresh bread but otherwise very basic. Served in a dark, gloomy dining/ bar area with no natural light. The rooms were crampt and basic. The corridors were piled high with folded beds, boxes of glasses and the corner of the restaurant was a storage area. There were a lot of furniture cluttering communal areas. The hotel is near a busy junction and there was a lot of loud traffic noise despite the double glazed windows being shut!!! Don't know how people would manage with windows open in earlier heat wave!! It was located a long bus ride from the centre of Haarlem and it was a fair walk to the nearest bus stops. On a positive note it was cheap and the receptionist we met was very pleasant and helpful sharing her local knowledge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Drorfrom Israel

Convenient

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room could be cleaner. The tiny balcony was full of used cigarettes. The location is great and the hotel looks nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelseyfrom Texas, USA

Quaint, quiet hotel just outside Amsterdam

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is small (just a handful of rooms) and the decor is somewhat eclectic, but the beds were comfortable and the room was an adequate size. There were lots of wonderful surprises like a full tub and towel warmer in the bathroom, and a comfy loveseat in the room. The hotel was very clean, but not to the point where it smelled of industrial disinfectants as some hotels do. The staff was very warm and eager to meet any of our needs. They all spoke English very well. The surrounding town of Santpoort-Noord is absolutely lovely, with little pastures of sheep and an old windmill right in town. There are plenty of little shops and restaurants to visit, as well as a larger grocery store in the commercial part of town. Santpoort-Noord is well-connected to Haarlem, Amsterdam, and Amsterdam Schiphol airport by train as well as bus. Unfortunately, there are not many taxis in Santpoort-Noord, so it may be necessary to walk to the hotel from the train station (1.25 km) or the nearest bus stop (~.5km) unless you have made arrangements for a taxi in advance. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by bobfrom Portland OR

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here one night prior to flying out of Schipol and was convenient and got to spend an afternoon in Haarlem. Surprised by the row of restaurants in the village about .5miles from hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alperfrom Istanbul

a good out-of-town alternative for Amsterdam

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I think people are being unfair by making negative judgements about this hotel due to its distance to Amsterdam. This hotel doesn't advertise itself as a hotel in Amsterdam, it's in Santpoort-Nord as it is explicitly stated. As I did by staying here in the case of my visit to Amsterdam, this hotel can be definitely considered as an alternative choice when there are a few big events at the same time in Amsterdam and the hotels are almost all already booked there. It's a very nice hotel in a beautiful, silent neighbourhood. It has spacious and clean rooms. The personnel is very friendly and more than helpful. I'm very glad that I stayed here for my visit to two exhibitions in Amsterdam area. It takes half an hour to get to Amsterdam by train, but I never complained about that as I knew that it would be the case. I will definitely return if I visit Amsterdam for business again or for leisure even as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sergenickfrom Seattle

Cute hotel, wonderful staff, nice amentities

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: As above, very nice and accommodating staff, comfortable, great amenities.
Cons: Really, nothing. I think they're doing everything right for this hotel in this location.
Location: Walking distance to shopts, restaurants, grocery store. Close to the highway, about 25 minutes drive to Amsterdam.
This is a cute little hotel in a small, quiet town, about a 20-30 minute drive from Amsterdam and near Haarlem. There are some nice restaurants within easy walking distance, as well as a grocery store and shops. The hotel is very home-like, and it's obvious the owners want to make people feel as much at home as possilble. They apologized for not giving me an upgrade when I arrived because I'm tall (!). The room was small, but not as small as some I've seen in other parts of the Netherlands, and there was a elevator which is nice if, like I do, you have to travel with a lot of luggage. They offer a bottle of wine in the room, a refrigerator, coffee, and some other nice little amentities. There was even a laptop in the room! I have my own so I didn't need it, but that was something I've never seen in any hotel in Europe (yes, I've seen it in Asia). The Internet access worked, was fast, and reliable. If you don't mind a bit far away from the city, this is a great place to stay. With a rental car, parking is free and it's easy to get to from the highway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and pleasant stay, who doesn't mind traveling to go to places of business or interest. Very good experience.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fionafrom Melbourne, Australia

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was in a good location to central Amsterdam - about 20 mins by train. The hotel itself is very out dated and smells strongly of cigarettes. Rooms are described as non-smoking but have clearly been smoked in for quite some time. The linen and towels were well worn and it's questionable how clean they were. The surrounding town is nice but I would not recommend this hotel. Definitely not 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

It's a lovely hotel for a family.

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Receptionists are so nice and very helpful and received us like a family members.
Cons: nothing
Location: Beautiful location with good parking facility which is free on weekends.
The people at reception are so nice and very helpful. Hospitality is excellent from them.