Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from Hampshire

Very pleasant hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and slightly out of town but not too far so that you could walk in to part of the town if you wanted to.
Cons: Softer bed mattresses and better cushioning especially for the sun loungers on the beach.
Location: You could walk along the beach into part of the town and visit restaurants and shops.
Had a good stay - it was very pleasant. Good choice of food for breakfast, but did find the mattress on the bed very hard! However, they are all like that throughout China!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice management. Very clean rooms. Average food and service. No wifi in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Took more than 1 hour to check in although the hotel was not busy at all, due to the fact that they cant find my reservation, although I have printed document to proof my booking. Receptionist subsequently called Hotels.com number to sort it out. Not sure whose fault it was but receptionist (Lisa) handled it very professionally. Great experience and memorable. Look forward to going back to this place again
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
not satisfied especially of the cleanliness and maintenance/condition of the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by isotope239 from Santa Fe, NM

A good hotel for Westerners

Posted Oct 20, 2012
Pros: The food and the front desk staff
Cons: Glass external wall in bathroom
Location: Right next to the airport
This review is mostly of interest to Westerners staying in Sanya. As a Western chain, this hotel does strive to provide a more Western atmosphere. The front desk staff speak good English and are very helpful. The cafe (we didn't try the Chinese restaurant) has Westernized food selections (for the most part), their breakfast buffet is very good and includes many Western-style choices. At the time we stayed there, most of the clientele were either Chinese or Russian. Our only "not good" item was the actual construction of the bathroom: why do so many Chinese hotel bathrooms have big glass windows in them? Westerners like some privacy in the bathroom, so discovering that almost the entire external wall of the bathroom was glass was unpleasant and required us to try to cover it with towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J.J. from Lubbock, TX, USA

Great hotel for "relaxation"

Posted Aug 11, 2012
Since this was off-season in Sanya, there were some areas of the hotel which were closed. The restaurants were "OK" but could have seen improvement altho the staff was eager to please. The location is rather "out of the way" and takes a little effort to get to town or a super market. This hotel (right next to the beach) is great for "relaxation" and is really recommended if that is what you are looking for.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Nice beach property, close to airport

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: Pool
Cons: No shops or non-hotel restaurants nearby
Location: On beach, near airport, clustered with other large vacation properties
Staff a bit cold toward western travelers but overall polite and helpful. That said, we stayed one night at Howard Johnson's Resort just down the road and found it to be much better and the staff friendlier and more helpful to western travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay had by all

Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sanya bay for 3 nights. We had a sea view room, which had a pretty impressive view of the bay. The room and hotel in general was clean. The pool was really big, with lots of seperate secluded bits if you fancied a bit more privacy. The beach is literally accross the road (with bar). The food was quite good. The breakfast has a big selection of food including Chinese and Western selections. The only negative was that the pool bar was closed, as it was in such a good location it was quite dissapointing to not be able to use it. Also the prices of the drinks varied depending on which bar at the hotel you went to...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best at all

Posted Mar 9, 2012
This hotel definitely needs renovation. Though it was pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel - shame about the boring evenings.

Posted Sep 26, 2011
1 big problem - no evening entertainment at all.