Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The room and pool are very nice. The breakfast buffet is very crowd and terrible. The dinner is very expensive, but the quality is not very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big rooms and luxury service.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Service, room size and bathroom quality, restaurants, pool areas. Excellent meeting space for conferences and events.
Cons: English language training for all customer-facing staff. Restaurant and bar workers very limited in English.
Location: Many attractions on Hainan, good destination for a 4-5 day holiday.
Attended a conference at this hotel. Smooth check-in, and happy to land in an Oceanview King which was enormous! Service was very good, although English proficiency of the staff is very limited aside from the Front Desk staff. Restaurant quality was excellent, service and food very good. Service was vastly improved after I whipped out my Google Translate app and dictated my order to the staff in Chinese via the app. Spa and fitness center area is beautiful. Pool are extensive and well maintained. Only complaint is that the beach in unusable - too much trash washing up onshore from Haitang Bay, likely washed south to Hainan from Guangzhou via ocean currents. The hotel employs a small army of people to constantly clean up the beach, but until this problem is cleaned up then choose the pools over the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Shanghai

Amazing resort

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Amazing facility, beautiful grounds.
Location: We hired a driver and went to Monkey Island. Very interesting and beautiful. Go early to beat the Chinese tour buses.
This resort was amazing. The staff were well trained and many spoke English. The landscape was beautiful, pools and beach were clean. You will really enjoy this resort. My room had a musty smell, that is why I gave it a 4 rating and the beds are traditional "hard". But overall I enjoyed our stay. Make sure you bring the hotel phone number in case the taxi driver needs directions. Also there are no taxis that go this far out so the hotel will help you hire private drivers, which I liked better. There is no need to leave the resort as they have everything here. Make sure your room includes the buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Womble & Smurf from Devon, UK

Luxurious

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Could not find fault with hotel apart for a very minor issue of awful continuous background music in the lobby! Surprisingly few people in evidence during the 4 days we were there in October. Excellent breakfast included. Other meals a bit on the expensive side given that it is located in China.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CowsRKillas from Suzhou, China

A Place to Relax

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
A wonderful 6 day stay! The pool is amazing, their private beach is well-maintained. Service is excellent. The only problem we had while at the hotel is the fact that they weren't prepared for the number of guests they had, and the breakfast queue got very long. If you want to leave the hotel for any reason, it's difficult. The regular taxis won't pick up there because it's so far out of the way. But, we found very little reason to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roy from Singapore

A good stay at Renaissance

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were warmly greeted by Darren, one of the bell-boys on duty at the foyer. The breakfast had a good selection and it was fantastic. The swimming pool was fabulous and it had its own private beach. Overall, we had a good stay at Renaissance. Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by F Chu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Japan

great place to be with ur love ones

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I took my girlfriend for a upgrade in our relation. It went very well. Everything was almost perfect. If there was more choice in selecting food, it would have been very nice. Also if there was a store to buy some snacks at night, it would have been a best place to stay. Still it was a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JG from Nairobi, Kenya

Wow!

Posted Jan 5, 2013
I am a seasoned traveller and was on holiday in Sanya with the family. I booked Renaissance on Expedia and was unsure of what to expect... although the pictures looked great it is daily new so there were limited reviews. I can safely say this is one of the most impressive hotels we have ever visited. Stunning, amazing architecture, excellent service, buffets to die for, pristine quiet private beach, breathtaking gardens and expansive pools. On top of all this our kids loved the games Arcade, which features everything from Wifi and pool to bowling and much more... From our 19 year old nephew to our youngest who is 3 years old, the kids were fully occupied and loving every single day. If I has to mentioned any downsides I would say the room cleaning could have been a tad bit more thorough, and the layout of the hotel means you walk rather alot ... But I suppose that could be a plus, depending on how you look at it :o) An excellent hotel and I will certainly recommend it to my friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort away from hustle and bustle

Posted Mar 22, 2012
Pros: Beatiful beach and pool areas
Cons: Food Prices
Location: Away from town - great if you want to get away; could be bad if you want to spend much time in town
Hotel was beautiful; grounds were fantastic and rooms were clean and well kept. The resort is away from the town area, but that was what we preferred. If someone wanted to take daily trips to town, the location would be inconvenient. The beach was very nice, however if you wanted to spend much time in the ocean, this would probably not suit you. There were man beautiful pools at the resport - water a bit cool, but it had been overcast for several days. The jacuzzi pools were also on the cooler side - would personally preferred them to be much hotter. Not being regular guests at such resorts, we were surprised at how expensive food was. Probably typical for this level of resort, but quite high for our budget.