Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johannes from Cologne, Germany

Great Budget Hotel in Sao Paulo

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: It was centrally located to the areas that I was interested in and hailing a taxi was no problem.
Cons: Yes, liven up the Hotel Reception with a paintings or even digital photos of Sao Paulo....it is a little bare and clinical at present.
Location: Visit Iguatami Mall and the food court at the Convention center where you will find a good selection of local restaurants.
The rooms are comfortable but very basic and could do with some pictures/paintings on the walls to liven up the atmosphere. The laminated floors ensure that the room is clean and dust free. The bathroom while small is functional and adequate and I enjoyed the larger than normal shower space i.e. I did keep bumping my elbows on the side panels/walls. The internet connection/WiFi worked without problems and was speedy. Bed was comfortable and the towels and linens were fresh clean and crispy. Like most hotels in Brazil the foyer/passage area in front of the rooms could do with a weekly vacuum...just to keep them clean. Breakfast buffet was very adequate with a good selection of fruit, fruit juice, cereals, cheese, cold meats and bread selection. The hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and a local meat offer changed everyday. Ample supply of coffee, selection of teas and hot chocolate with a good selection of sweet pastries on offer. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful with some very good tips for dining out and finding shops that you may need like banks, pharmacy etc in the area around the hotel. Finally, the housekeeping staff are very honest and must be recommended on this - when I stayed in the hotel I forgot my Gold ring (sentimental value) on the night stand and even though I had checked out, when I returned to the hotel 3 hours later to ask about the ring, the ring was in safe keeping with the reception - Well done and Thank You.
3 out of 5
by L Filho from London, UK

Not a pleasant place to stay in Sao Paulo.

Posted May 27, 2013
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: good location
This hotel it is not a three star hotel whatsoever... very very basic...staff unhelpful, loads of refurbishment while I was there....very noise and dusty. I was disappointed with everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom

Lovely hotel-- we extended our stay

Posted Jan 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
- The hotel is beautiful and the price is good. - The breakfast buffet was delicious, plentiful: cereals, several fresh fruits, several types of bread for toast, many types of rolls (some sweet), cheeses, meats, milk, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, etc. - There is a upscale supermarket a couple of blocks away. - By day the neighborhood looks a bit iffy, that's because there are many trendy clubs located in the grungy buildings that come life at night. - We were on the fifth floor (facing front) and the noise was minor. - Rear rooms overlook the very posh São Paulo Athletic Club. - Many bus lines go down Augusto street, but it is quite a long walk to the Metro. - Paulista street is a 20 minute walk (or a quick bus ride).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good hotel for family

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Cons: very basic
Location: awful location
The Hotel is very basic, fine for the price. However, I was warned not to "turn right" out of the hotel at night. The street immediate in front of the hotel and very noisy, all day and night!
2 out of 5
by Antoni from Hong Kong

Tired hotel surrounded by prostitutes, crackheads

Posted Jun 9, 2012
Pros: nothing comes to mind
Cons: the smell carpets throughout smal smal bathroom breakfast
Location: 10 min walk from Ave Paulista not for the faint hearted - on the skuzzy part of Augusta with prostitutes, crackheads, rentboys outside your hotel
Tired old hotel that smelt stale throughout. Poor breakfast, decent wi fi. Coveniently situated 10 mins walk from Ave Paulista, but beware - it's on the skuzzy part of rua Augusta with prostitutes, passed out crackheads and rent boys just outside your hotel (to be fair tho, nobody ever bothered us). We chose it because it was cheap and regretted it - if ever there was a time it was worth investing an extra 20 bucks to get a better hotel this is it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Belo Horizonte, MG, BR

decent hotel but run-down neighborhood

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is fairly well maintained, although it is showing its age. The neighborhood is run-down and sketchy--not safe at night. Loud street noise from clubs at night and demolition crews early in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from UK

Friendly Staff, but noisy building work.

Posted Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Good location and friendly staff
Cons: Building work with noisy pile driving
Location: Excellent local bars and shopping centre one street away. 10 minutes to old centre, ten minutes to Paulista.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast a bit thin. Excellent Wifi. Major building work right next to hotel (March 2012) with pile driving during daytime which made it poor as a place to work during working hours. Looks extensive. Very well situated with local bars and supermarket, shopping centre, food court near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Western Australia, Australia

Good location, comfortable hotel!

Posted Feb 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Moncloa Hotel was enjoyable and perfect for seeing the inner city of Sao Paulo! The hotel is a bit old looking, but facilities were in good order, airconditioning, bathroom e.t.c. The free breakfast was a welcome start to the day. Eric at reception was really great in providing helpful directions in english. Both old and new downtown are easily accessible by foot, if prepared to walk, and the subway system is really clean and accessible. The surrounding area was of no real safety concern! It seemed to be frequented by a cultured young demographic that enjoyed the small restaurants and bars on the street. Weekend was a little noisy, the rest of our stay was fine. Highly recommend this hotel for value and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price

Posted Dec 22, 2011
Pros: The staff was very accommodating. They let us keep our bags there after we checked out and they also had no issue with our late checkout. Friendly.
Cons: Nothing. You really can't beat this hotel for the price.
Location: The location was not great. It got loud at night because of the nearby clubs and a couple of strip clubs.
This hotel was very clean, with an excellent breakfast. The wi-fi service worked the entire time. The room service rates were cheaper than many local restaurants. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. Very good hotel.