Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RN from Newbury

OK Stay

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on a trip en-route to Rome from England; standard rooms, service and facilities for a Campanile - free (but slow) WiFi, clean & acceptable room with kettle, plenty of free parking even for a large van. My only complaint was that this restaurant wouldn't serve a beer or alcoholic drink without a food purchase, and i had just eaten before arrival and only wanted a quick beer! Good location to the motorway and a few other eateries nearby made this a decent, quick overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by Jayne from Shropshire, UK

Okay for a night to rest on route to the alps.

Posted Feb 4, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: The room.
Location: Make sure you know the exact directions to the hotel,it could be a little difficult to find otherwise.
Okay for a night to get your head down on the way to the alps.Rooms a little bit dated and basic but it was what I expected from this chain of hotels.My priority when booking was to stay as near to the motorway as possible,so we didnt spend alot of time looking for the hotel in the dark on the night of arrival and then we could continue our journey the following day. The staff were all very helpfully and very pleasant,we arrived 40 mins before the resturant closed and they were very friendly in the resturant and food was okay and well priced.Breakfast was a buffet and again it was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by ktskisail

Good Motel Stop

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Situated in a retail park south of Macon, finding the hotel in the retail park can be a little tricky and is a little way off the motorways. There are lots of other hotels and restaurants and Carrefour in the area, Clean and comfortable room but hotel looking a bit shabby in places.
1 out of 5
by Elaine from Kent, UK

A shabby disappointment

Posted Aug 22, 2012
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything
Location: Not at Chaintre, but exceptionally close to the motorway
We booked a triple room with disabled facilities for our son 10 months ahead of our trip to be sure of getting exactly what we needed. When we arrived at the hotel a surly receptionist told us we had been allocated a double room on the first floor and there were no lifts! He intimated the mix up was our fault as we had made the reservation on line. When we showed him the Expedia confirmation he dismissed this and showed us his computer screen. We were very angry, very hot (it was still 40c) and very tired. At this point another member of staff intervened and found us a small ground floor room with a pull-out child-sized bed, but no accessible shower. She told us there were no accessible rooms in the hotel. Our son went to bed dirty and uncomfortable. As is our usual experience these rooms are never equipped for three - two towels, two cups, etc. Short of being a three star rated hotel this was more like a shabby barrack block, situated under a motorway and NOT at Chaintre as described. Directions wholly inadequate. There was no hairdryer and only paper cups were available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag

Posted Feb 28, 2012
Pros: perfectly reasonable provision in the room, given the low price
Cons: food
Location: impossible to find without hours to spare — bit could have been easy if directions had been effectively provided
The hotel was perfectly OK for the price. We regard the basic Campaniles as good value. They provide onsite parking, wifi, evening meal and breakfast (though the latter not included in the price), all of which one looks for after a long drive. Finding it was a nightmare. The website needs to give its latitude and longitude, as these can be entered in a GPS. The food was disappointing. We had the gourmand menu, which is not particularly cheap, and it was indifferent. It boasts about its restaurant, and this did not live up to the boasting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Campanile Macon

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Tired decor
Location: Good
Well located for a simple overnight stop/break in the drive from the UK to the Alps/South of France Close to the Autoroute (but quiet) and also well located with some good basic restaurants a short walk away as was a big Carrefour Hotel rooms themselves did the job and clean, but tired/worn decor and not much room left if you use the pull-out bed. The hotel reception/restaurant building was new and smart, and food good
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kettering

Typical Campanile

Posted Sep 27, 2008 on Hotels.com
This is a typical Campanile Hotel...service was good, food was good although our late arrival caused a problem or two...the chef forgot one guest's order! The room was fine. Our biggest complaint was that the website directed us to the village of Chaintre which is quite a way from the actual hotel! Fortunately the locals are used to redirecting guests and sent us back towards the AutoRoute and the business estate that the hotels is situated in. Even then we saw the hotel from the main road but could not approach the carpark as it is actually at the back of the estate by the main road! 1/10 must try harder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Perth scotland

Good comfortable motel for one nite stop over

Posted Apr 1, 2008
Motel type rooms provided with tea and coffee making facilties room and bathroom very clean, beds very comfortable. also not too noisy , only in morning could one hear neighbouring customers good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

As good as expected

Posted Jan 10, 2008
The usual Campanile style bedrooms and good middle of the road restaurant. Despite being a large chain it is always reassuring to see local people taking an evening meal in the Campanile. For a one night stop over this is good value.