Ratings based on 1,562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The hotel is not at all like the picture . The resort looks like more of a motel .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very bad experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was OK
Location: Need to maintain this resort is good condition. Lots of garbage left in garage parking, carpet is dirty.
Would not stay at Sandcastle ever again until it is renovated to good condition and clean. Very expensive, not worth it based on the condition of Hotel. Hotel restaurent need to have some vegetarian food in their menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
It was a fantastic stay. We were able to park right in front of our room. super convenient. The back door led right to the ocean. it could not have been more perfect. Rooms are a bit dated, however we were rarely in it. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Want to chill on the beach?

Posted Aug 30, 2014
If your not a primma donna and your sole mission is to head to FL to chill on a beach, this is your place. There is NOTHING fancy about this place. It's almost bare bones but clean and a very friendly staff. But the beach is literally steps out of the hotel and it is fairly secluded and not crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Great location and good pool and bar area.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms are very dated and need updating or probably completely remodelling. More lighting in the pool area for night swims
A great location and the pool area and associated bar are really good with a perfect view looking out to the Gulf. As stated by other reviewers the hotels rooms and some public areas i.e Restaurant, are very dated and need a complete update and I understand this is being planned which will transform the experience from OK to very good. Also while it is great the hotel allows swimming until 10pm, something my kids really liked, this means they really need to invest in better lighting around the pool. Once the sun went down it was near impossible to see anyone else in the pool should anything happen, even when in the pool with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crystal River, FL

Best beach location on the the key!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Beach tiki bar pool area lots of clean beach towels and accomodating staff.
Cons: Bathroom and trash can sizes and cooler AC. Put a microwave in the room.
Location: Biking distance to St Armands Circle, but there is a shuttles.
The hotel room was more dated than we expected. The bathroom and trash cans were really small. The pool area and tiki bar are really nice and the staff is excellent. The best part is the location of the hotel on the key. The beach is quiet, yet has the right amount of activity if you want to take it easy and get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Enjoyed our stay on the beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It was a modest hotel without a lot of fan fare and that was what we wanted. Our Courtyard room also had a nice Gulf view.
Location: There was plenty of shopping and dining close by at St. Armand Circle.
The Sandcastle resort offered us exactly what we were looking for, a quiet couple of days at the beach. The hotel was clean and friendly although the first person at reception that greeted us would have benefited from a smile. The friendliness was not felt right away but the beach staff was very friendly and accommodating and other front desk staff were friendly and helpful during our stay. We were there to relax and we were able to exactly that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Location is perfect.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Hotel needs a lot of work. Very old needs updating. Cleanliness was a concern. Found a pair of socks in my room from previous guest. Don't think I would stay there again. The location was the best thing about the hotel. Right on the beach. That's it really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Five Fun Days on Lido Key.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Although the Sandcastle is one of the older hotels on Lido Key, it is in good condition, our room was spotless and very comfortable. We ate in the breakfast restaurant, ordered room service and at at the outdoor poolside bar. The food was very good but most importantly EVERY employee we encountered during our stay was friendly, professional and helpful. We met house keepers, ground keepers, wait staff, bar stall and beach staff. Universally these people made our stay a delight. The Manager should be congratulated on acquiring and keeping such valuable employees.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Expensive

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Water and beach.
Cons: What do you mean by "if anything"? This building needs to be rebuild from the ground.
Location: Nice location and on the beach.
Very old building and needs to be rebuild from the ground. This place SHOULD NOT BE CALLED RESORT because you need to pay for everything. Resort fees are very high and hard to justify. Water and beach is nice.