Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Nice, clean and quiet rooms. Friendly, professional staff. Luxury feel of the hotel.
Cons: The food at the restaurant at dinner was good, but nothing special.
Location: Within a short distance to the Ritz beach club, St. Armands Circle and Main Street -- great central location for exploring Sarasota.
The hotel is exactly what we expected for a luxury hotel -- beautifully decorated with clean rooms and common areas and professional staff who were always ready to assist. The room rates at the hotel are very expensive, but we felt that it meet our expectations and thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay. The restaurant and bar are nice (great outdoor seating), but there are many wonderful restaurant choices in Sarasota. The beach club has excellent facilities, wonderful pool and the beach is beautiful. The downside is that you have to drive or take the complimentary shuttle to the club. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Ritz and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom McLean VA

Typical Ritz - excellent in all regards

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Walking distance to downtown and excellent shops and restaurants. Jack Dustys excellent restaurant and evidently one of the premier adult bars in Sarasota.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service, blah food, uncomfy rooms

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: The food, the rooms
Location: Not much....go to the beach
If you want to experience a concierge service like no other the Ritz delivers. If you want quality bedding, in a comfy bed, it fails. If you want an up to date bathroom with modern convenience, and elegance it fails, it's stuck in 20 year old Ritz mode. If you want a dining experience.....do not bother. The Ritz is all about its FABULOUS staff, who are of another class, I went through $927 in tips for a three night stay, from the concierge "Nichole" to the doorman "Hans", to the lass from Belfast who runs the shop, and the front desk staff, they are simply SUPERB!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Manager Response, Hotel Management
Dear A verified traveler, Thank you for sharing your review with the Expedia Community. While I was absolutely delighted to hear your praises regarding our staff and the personalized service they provided during your stay, I was very sorry to hear of your disappointments and apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. Feedback is extremely important to us and how we learn in what areas we need to improve. Our apology at this time cannot undo the past but our regret is sincere and our efforts in the future will be guided by your observations which are being addressed to prevent any recurrence. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Damien O’Riordan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Always great customer service every time I stay at the Ritz-Carlton.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom jsc

Beautiful but Flawed

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Mildew odor from AC intense. Fire alarm at 1:00, probably drunken biz people who woke us previous night when coming back to room from bar. Alarm instructed to go out of hotel, where a wall of sewage smell hit us like a hammer. Then no instructions from staff or loudspeaker when it was safe to return to room. Staff was excellent in every way and we are not going to lodge complaints in middle of night. Too tired. Soccer games all day for us is family reunion so wax t going to wate time and effort. Spa was fabulous in every way. Angie is amazing masseuse. Carol a wonderful facialist. One more note: how wasteful to use pounds of butter, sugar and flour on life size gingerbread house in lobby. Can think of better ways to give at Christmastime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2014 by Manager Response, Hotel Management
Dear IMG Soccer Wknd, Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments with the Expedia community and on the recent survey you completed. I was very sorry to hear of your disappointments. Feedback is extremely important to us and how we learn in what areas we need to improve. Our apology at this time cannot undo the past but our regret is sincere and your observations are being addressed to prevent any recurrence. Best wishes, Damien O’Riordan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Great property. Exceptional staff. Will visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jefffrom St. Petersburg

Great place to stay while visiting Sarasota

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I first arrived, the valet parked my car before taking my bags out, and the clerk at check-in was very very impatient when I asked if he could make me an appointment to have my haircut. Considering what I paid to have my haircut at The Ritz Carlton, Sarasota, I expected at least a decent job; yet, it was one the most ridiculous haircuts I’ve ever had. However, that evening when I went out and about in wonderful Sarasota, in spite of my bad haircut, the night clerk and night valet were first rate, smart and helpful. Still, in the morning the valet getting my Jeep, among all the Porsches and Rolls Royces, was acting like a buffoon - grabbing my bags and waiting for a tip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Williamfrom Atlanta, Georgia

The Ritz Carlton "knocks it out of the park!"

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in the Sarasota area visiting clients. I decided to take a couple of extra days to relax and enjoy their beautiful beach club pool. The staff, both at the city hotel and the beach club, were extraordinary! They went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed. The entire staff called you by name, a very nice attention to detail I would say. I have stayed in quite of few really nice hotels before, a lot of them being Ritz Carlton's. This is by far, the best run, most professional, friendliest hotel thus far! Thank you Ritz Carlton for making my stay so special!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Can't wait to return! Great bar and coverstation area, exceptional staff and comfy room.