Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ballston spa, ny

Historic hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Historic hotel in a beautiful state park with great location. The amenities were subpar due to a lack of an indoor pool or hotel leaving only the expensive spa option. There were beginning signs of mold on the ceiling I'm the bathroom. The hotel has a beautiful patio outside of the restaurant facing the golf course which was great for an afternoon drink and staff were great. It was expensive and I will most likely not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Historic landmark full of charm

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Historic features have been preserved. It's unique and takes you back in time. See above.
Cons: Who covered the bathroom wall tile with white paint? The original gorgeous 1930s light green tile showed beneath scratches. Strip the paint!
My husband and I loved our two nights in the Gideon Putnam. We were in Saratoga to visit old family friends and neighbors of mine from childhood. I felt like a big shot staying in this august and renowned landmark. Our room was built on a large scale unheard of today. From the hall, we walked into a foyer. Off that was a door that led to the spacious main room and bathroom. Another door opened to a huge walk-in closet, where I kept the suitcases stretched out and hung clothes. What luxury! The third door would have connected to the room next door had we arranged to stay with more family. I loved everything about staying here. It was magical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Nevada

Venerable old hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The history & the employees
Cons: Thoughtful redecorating of the rooms. We stayed in Room 220 - yes, it has a big screen TV (which I could care less about) but frankly it's doudy.
Location: Enjoyed Saratoga, the Roosevelt Spa & various mineral springs.
I've always wanted to stay at the Gideon Putnam. I love that it is still in operation, but it is due for an upgrade! It's possible to achieve that without sacrificing the historical factor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Classic stay in Saratoga Springs

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Quiet and clean. Proximity to Roosevelt Spa and also they gave a discount for the baths on the room key!
Cons: I think the restaurant menu could be improved.Not enough selection or ambiance.
Location: There is so much to do to even list. In winter, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, The baths. In summer, the Track! Restaurants downtown are great.
This hotel has old charm. Set among the pines in the Saratoga Springs State Park, it is a lovely, older hotel. Some might find it institutional as it is similar to the other buildings in the area that are old but that is what gives it charm. Had a lovely room, very comfy beds and bathroom facilities. We did not eat at the hotel though the restaurant menu for us was not enough to deter us from the amazing restaurants up town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westbury, NY

Beautiful location in Saratoga Spa State Park.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Location: Nearby museums Automobile Museum,Military Museum, and Museum of Dance. Get a map for self guided tour of the mineral springs- great walk on a nice day
What better setting for a relaxing getaway than in a forested park! Golf course across the road, active but secluded location near downtown Saratoga Springs. The hotel offers a free shuttle into town that runs until 10PM. There is the renowned minerals springs Roosevelt Bath just 5 minute walk from the hotel- a definite must-do for pampering and relaxing. Hotel guests may use the steam rooms free of charge, but you'll want to indulge in the baths and spa treatments- soooo nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Excellent secluded location in Saratoga Park, yet close Saratoga city.
Cons: The room was very clean and neat, but could use some updating.
Enjoyed my stay at the Gideon. I'll definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bucks County Pennsylvania

Beautiful old hotel in the middle of Saratoga Park

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Cons: Our only complaint was the astringent smell in the hallways.
My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 day retreat at the Gideon Putnam during a snowy week in February. We have a soft spot for hotels with history and the Gideon Putnam did not disappoint! It's location right in the middle of the Saratoga Park made it the perfect location to enjoy outdoor winter sports like x country skiing and hiking, right at our doorstep. They even provided free snow shoes for the guests to use! We also enjoyed a great spa experience at the Roosevelt Spas right next door. The free shuttle service to downtown Saratoga was really convenient. We also enjoyed talking to the great staff in the restaurant/lounge/bar. Our only complaint was the astringent smell in the hallway. I think this may have been a temporary problem and it did not in any way diminish our enjoyment of the weekend. Thank you Gideon Putnam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would visit again

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff. Clean room. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corning, NY

Spa weekend

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Many of the fixtures and the underlining architecture are original. The upgrades that have been made give a fresh appearance to everything.
Cons: The shower/tub was a little too rustic for my taste, but you always have the option of taking a mineral bath at the spa.
Location: The spa is a stones throw away, as well as hiking and picnic areas. There were lots of families out enjoying the snow in the plentiful yards.
The hotel has kept the integrity of the history it holds while maintaining a clean and comforting environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but classy

Posted Jan 28, 2015
This hotel may be old but it is worth every penny and the service is great. The food is high end, this is truly is a resort.