Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience.

Posted Jul 6, 2013
This is a cool historic hotel in Saskatoon. I was pleased about most things in the hotel; however, I found the worst part of my stay here was, that there was no parking to be found outside the building. Otherwise, things were quite satisfactory, and I was pleased they had WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maureen from regina

breakfast made the day

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Location good. staff friendly. breakfast in the lovely old dining room was absolutely top notch.coffee hot everything cooked to perfection. excellent value for money. they have made an effort with the renovations but it is still an old hotel and rooms were never that big when the hotel was built. would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Thanks

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Poor front desk customer service on evening check-in. Only a push button lock on the room door...I have a better lock on the bathroom door at home!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Character - too bad the rooms don't cut it!

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Water pressure and consistent temperature control in the shower.
Location: Fine
The water pressure was so bad taking a shower involved jumping back and forth so you wouldn't get either scalded or frozen. Room service was non-existent for two of the three nights I stayed. And the housekeeping staff would take away dirty cups and glasses but never once replaced the glasses nor the empty tissue box in the bathroom. There is no shelf space in the bathroom for guests' items nor is a fridge available in any of the rooms in the hotel. My thermostat wasn't working so I mentioned it shortly after checking on my first night - it was never repaired so I had to hope for the best, weather-wise. This hotel really needs to improve their guest experiences and the amenities that are included before they can truly call themselves a "Boutique Hotel" - much more work is necessary to get to the Boutique level. Perhaps the owners should visit true Boutique hotels and experience what is expected so they would understand what is needed and expected. This is definitely not a business traveller's destination as the standards are too low currently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Collins

Amazing people!

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Support throughout
Cons: None
Location: Beautiful location
The most helpful staff tirelessly offering advice and assistance for my first stay in Canada. I would have been lost without you. The free transport service is unmatched. Thanks for making my start easier, you were godsend.
2 out of 5
by Shane

Disappointing

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Marble accents in the lobby.
Cons: Cheap rennovations, cracks in walls, outdated everything.
Location: Great location, next to everything downtown in the city.
Cracks in the walls, room was cramped, holes and more cracks in the bathrooms which are outdated by any standards. They are doing rennovations so jip rock and other construction materials are laying around the floor in the hallways. You can tell they recently painted the walls to try and uplift the rooms but sadly that is all they did. It wasn't dirty, but for a historically old hotel with some beautiful marble accents in the lobby it was such a let down. I feel like I should have gone to motel 6 or something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Wynyard

Quiet midweek stay

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: Old design of hotel and furnature. Comfy bed and nice bath tub
Cons: Floor in bathroom was cold. Very minor issue
Room was clean front desk staff was great. Very helpful and looked after a couple personnel requests we had. Will be staying with them again
3 out of 5
by Mike from Lethbridge, AB

Keep shopping

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Overall feel
Location: Close to downtown, not great parking
The hotel is very outdated and has paper-thin walls. No deadbolt or other secondary door lock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marc from Bonnyville, AB, Canada

Great staff!

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: The bar and bar staff, especially Mark. Very knowledgable and friendly!
Cons: I had to leave!
Location: Downtown Saskatoon, great location.
The hotel is a landmark in downtown Saskatoon, the bar is a mecca for beer enthusiasts and the food is above average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 23, 2012
This was our first stay and we were quite happy with the accommodations. The rooms have lots of space and were very clean and comfortable. We booked the upgraded bedding package and it was well worth it. The building has been upkept very well over the years. We were informed that it is 108 years old and the only hotel of its age still operating in the province. The marble stairsace and all the carved wood is a very nice touch. With the hotel being in city center we were able to walk to all the events we took in. You can park out front and it is free from 6pm to 9am. We were very happy with our stay and will definetaly stay there again.