Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Very convenient for Sassenheim business park

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Close to Sassenheim station - 15 mins ($4.40) from Schipol airport - 25 mins from central Amsterdam? Good staff Good breakfast
Cons: Bedrooms need décor updating
Location: It's not really close to anything - unless you want to visit the business park! Sassenheim station is about a 10 min walk
I chose this hotel because it was very close to my meeting. I arrived late from London (around 1030pm) and the receptionist was very friendly and answered lots of questions about the locality and how I might find my destination on foot the next day. She was also knowledgeable about trains back to the airport. The lobby of this hotel is modern; tiled floors, a piano, leather banquette chairs. The bar is also very contemporary. The rooms are another story. I had a standard room. It was very 80s and not at all in keeping with the lobby. It was more like a motel room. That said, the (twin pushed together) bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were spotless and the latter had a bath and shower cubicle. The shower was powerful and hot and there were plenty of toiletries and mini kits complimentary. There was a little table, plenty of lamps and power sockets and it was very spacious. I went to the bar briefly and ordered a G&T. Generous measure, pleasant staff. I had an excellent breakfast the next morning; a vast selection of breads, muffins, jams, cold cuts, smoked salmon, cheeses, eggs and bacon etc as well as very nice coffee despite it being from a machine (it was fresh beans though). I chose just a fresh piece of rye bread, smoked salmon, cheese and a hard boiled egg. Very nice. I had forgotten to pack an adaptor plug and they were able to supply me with a loaner. All in all, OK to good. Rooms let the whole thing down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ankush from NEW DELHI

Good hotel for its price.

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a little bit away from Amsterdam, but since I had a rental car, it was OK. The hotel was nice, had free internet and car parking facility. Breakfast was not included and was overpriced/overrated for 13.50 EUROS per person. In general, for a room only stay, it was good value for money for 3 adults in a room with an extra bed. In addition, it is pretty close to the Keukenhof Flower Village, which is a pretty major tourist attraction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sudhir from Luxembourg

Easy to access from train station. Peaceful area.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Shuttle facility for Bulb Garden is excellent. Location well connected to ôther area of intérêsts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient for work

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had one of the older rooms. Quite spacious but no tea making facilities. Balcony with chairs outside but no way to get to them because sliding doors bolted shur! WiFi free and worked well. Breakfast good and restaurant/room service not unreasonably priced for the Netherlands. Only stayed here because the shuttle bus is convenient. Imposing entrance to the hotel. Casino next to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by dillydally from Luxembourg

Acceptable

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This isn't a bad hotel, it is what you would expect for 3 stars not 4! The front gives the illusion of a top end hotel - the rooms are average but a good size. The TV is an old one, takes up too much space and isn't comfortable to view. For some reason tea and coffee are not available in the room and we were quoted €10 for 2 cups of tea to be delivered to the room. Had one problem with the room and the staff were friendly but not pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cork

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great value close to Airport

Posted Sep 14, 2011
Comfortable clean rooms for a great value
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

NOT CLEAN

Posted May 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very disgusting. Curtains were ripped and stained, floor was stained. The hotel restaurant had horrible service, found a hair in my dinner, food wasn't very good either. I won't be staying there again and will ensure all my friends stay away from it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Van Der Valk

Posted Apr 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
Overpriced for economy rooms which have no air conditioning. These are the only rooms you can have a pet in. They don't even offer a fan. Breakfast prices outrageous for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Easter in Holland

Posted Apr 27, 2011
This was our first visit to Holland and would definately recommend it. All of the Dutch people were very friendly and spoke English well. We stayed at the Van der Valk, Sassenheim for 2 nights and we would stay there again. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated just off the motorway so is easy to find but you would need a car to explore as not much to see close to the hotel. Quite close to Keukonhof, bulb fields and Lieden which were spectacular and only 20 mins from Airport/Amsterdam by road which were also very good. The casino is mainly slot machines with some roulette. Just a few negatives, The room had a balcony, but this was shared with all of the rooms on that floor and, only overlooked a pond and the rooms opposite, so not much of a view. TV only had a couple of English speaking channels. We had breakfast 2 mornings which we thought was very expensive. We also had a bar meal 1 night which was also expensive and nothing special.