Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Good location for HITS horse show

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: proximity to HITS, pool for kids
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to detail, updating. Very spotty wi-fi
We stayed here for 5 nights. Very close to the HITS show grounds so very convenient for that. Decor is dated and our room smelled damp/musty, even with air conditioning on. There were cobwebs hanging all along the wall at the ceiling joint, so needs better cleaning. Not sure I'd stay here again although it is very close to the horse show grounds, so might just for that reason. Pool area is dated and the washrooms/showers in the pool were really quite dirty. Hallways smelled strongly of either curry or cooking in general, but there's no restaurant, so not sure where that came from. Attached diner was also dated. Disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated and this would be used to improve our service specifically our Housekeeping Department. Best regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by caron from bergen county,nj

Close to town

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Close to town
Cons: Cleanliness, decor...
Location: Saugerties is a great town with great shops and restaurants.
Disappointment....in bad need of updating. Unpleasant odor in room.Cigarette burns in comforter. Dingy.... Attached diner opens at 7 am, should be earlier. No kind of breakfast included and way too pricey. It bordered on being kind of a dump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
It is good to hear from you, though I am very sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations, and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel and we thank you for bringing a number of important matters to our attention. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping, maintenance, and staff courtesy issues. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any services or amenities that did not live up to your expectations. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 06074

It's all about convenience

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Outdoor pool.
Location: Woodstock Catskill Park Leon Helm Studio
If you're doing anything in the Woodstock/Saugerties area, and want a hotel right next to the highway, this is the place. A good launch pad to activities and a suitable crash pad for sleeping. Indoor pool was adequate. Room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
I am glad that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and our service to be welcoming. Thank you so much for your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! Hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Online pictures look nothing like the place .

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: NOthing really
Cons: The landscaping could be better and the rooms need to be revamped.
Location: Best thing about it was that it was right off the thruway
The website is not a true reflection of the hotel. It looks like a truck stop and I was actually scared to stay there. 1 person working and he was sleeping at the front desk. Room was musty and dark. If you need a place to stay I guess you can take your chances but I would not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the service that you did not receive regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time to point out the areas where we can improve upon the guest experience. We hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Your feedback lets us know what you felt during your visit. Rest assured that we will continuously strive to provide you the best lodging experience hoping that you’ll be more satisfied on your next stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Your feedback is important to us. The review you had for our property will help us in improving our service delivery. We hope that you will have a much better experience on your future stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Charles from Charlottesville Va.

Expensive for what you get.

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
At Night I found it difficult to find street entrance and office. First room tv was snowy on some channels, and the phone didn't work. 2nd room refrigerator was working marginally. Hand rail on stairway pulling away from wall. No free breakfast, but attached restaurant did offer a 10% discount for breakfast. Front desk clerk did go above and beyond to clear problems with 1st room. All things considered the next time I was in this area I would look elsewhere first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We apologize for the inconvenience wherein you had to transfer to another room with working TV and phone. We will have our technician check these immediately to ensure that these will be working properly- for you and our future guests. Our staff will be encouraged to hear your kind words, acknowledging their efforts in ensuring that you were comfortable with the new room you were transferred to. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrea from Northford, CT

Very nice hotel

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here several times while visiting Saugerties and are very happy with this Howard Johnson. The lobby, and rooms are very clean. Hotel staff is nice and friendly. Check in and check out was a piece of cake. Beds are very comfortable. Having the convenience of the diner attached is really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us. It is good to know that you liked our accommodations- comfortable rooms/beds, excellent staff service and speedy check-in/out process. We will be looking forward to your next stay and we sincerely thank you for being a loyal customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peg

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know that you had a great experience in our hotel. We are happy that we’ve exceeded your expectations of our service delivery. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2014
We've used this hotel annually for the last few years for an event we attend and the price used to be reasonable but it has climbed so much that next year I think we'll find somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
We appreciate that you’ve shared your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Thank you for being our loyal customer for the past few years. We wish to let you know that we value your business and the rates we offer will be reevaluated as we want to always provide great value stays to our customers. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more, we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.