Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very clean room at a great price

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and the price was right. Also, it was a good location.
Location: It was about four blocks from the Locks which we came to see.
We enjoyed our stay at Budget Host Crestview Inn. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was exceptionally clean and fresh. The location was great for walking down to the Locks. The breakfast in the morning had a lot of choices and was a good start for us to continue on our road trip. I would recommend staying at this place for the cleanliness and the value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Well maintained room, buildings and grounds.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Owner is friendly, helpful and accomodating. Went out of way to direct me to ships, restaurants and attractions. Breakfast was easy, nice selection and good. Would stay again when in area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank You for being our guest and thanks for taking the time to put in a good word for us. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, MI

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Fire the current staff and hire better customer-friendly staff that do their required job. Don't promote WiFi if it doesn't work in the the rooms.
We booked this room through Expedia for one queen-size bed. When we arrived, we were told that we have two full-size beds. We advised the clerk about this and asked if he had any queen-size rooms. He was rather rude, just saying "That's what you get for booking through these online services?". Had it not been for Fourth of July weekend, and everything else being booked, we would have left. We stayed two nights. Although the cleaning crew replaced our towels, they didn't make the bed, or every straighten it out. Also, the WiFi wasn't working most of the time, and the signal was either weak or the connection was about the speed of a 28k modem. Don't plan on using it for anything. There are a lot of places in town to stay, and we'd highly recommend avoiding this horrible place so it doesn't ruin the the trip for you or your family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank You for being our guests. We do appreciate your business. I apologize for our shortcomings on your recent stay with us. I assure you, however, that the room we had set aside for you was exactly what was requested via your online reservation. Regardless, we would have been happy to make the change had the option been available. As for the WIFI, I am happy to announce we have recently completed our system upgrades! We now offer property wide coverage at the fastest speeds currently available via our cable provider.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good motel, convenient location near the campus.

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Overall very nice, too bad the little kitchen is open only in the morning, would have been nice to be able to use the microwave during the rest of the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. Just for the record, our breakfast area is open 24/7 so our guest can have access to the microwave, ice machine and coffee anytime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat & Don from Lexington, KY

Family Operated Motel

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Seemed to be family operated.
Cons: Hair dryer in room would be nice, or notice of availability of it.
Location: We visited the Soo Locks and rode the train into Agawa Canyon in Ontario. Beautiful trip!
Small old-fashioned motel. We found the room small, but clean. Breakfast was interesting as we had to either go to our room to eat or eat at a covered picnic area. Was actually pleasant, but quite unusual by today's standards.
3 out of 5
by diana from wi

ok for the price

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: bathroom was clean!
Cons: better windows
Location: we mini golf. and agawa train ride
the clientel made myself and daughter a little uneasy. lots of traffic noise. but it was cheap and it served the need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small and Quiet

Posted Sep 3, 2013
wasn't looking for anything fancy, just wanted a shower, watch some tv, and sleep in a clean bed. Considered it a bonus that they accept dogs. Walls to the outside were a little thin and you could partially hear people moving around, but overall for the price, i was satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean, affordable basic motel.

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Very clean, affordable basic motel. Good value for the money.
Cons: Bathroom fixtures could be updated. Outside walkways are dark.
We found the motel to be quite old, but well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good motel for us

Posted Aug 4, 2013
We were impressed with the very accomodating staff, friendly fellow travelers, nice room. We spent a little quiet time on the swing overlooking Ashmun St. traffic. Hot coffee was available 24 hours. We could have used the grill under the tent if we had more time. Parking was right outside our door. I really liked the motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jake

Decent hotel. Close to the Soo

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Continental breakfast could be improved. small selection.
Location: Soo Locks. Canada visit is a short jaunt.
Room was clean. Beds were not comfortable. No coffee or juice in the am for breakfast. Not to pleased with hotel staff attitudes.