Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strong odor in rooms, otherwise a very nice hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Cons: Hotel needs to take care of the terrible odor in the rooms.
Had to request a different room because the first room had a very strong foul odor. Second room also had the same odor but not as strong. Ran the fan for the duration of my stay to help circulate the air. Not sure what the odor was but the hotel needs to do something about it. Outside of the rooms I did not smell the odor anywhere and the hotel was very nice. Staff were all friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issue incurred during your stay. We take great pride in ensuring our rooms are clean and fresh for every guest. I would like to take this opportunity to assure you we have looked into the issue and are taking corrective measures. Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Sault Ste. Marie. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket

Great stay!

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Very friendly staff. Very, very clean and up to date. I go to the Sault several time a year on business and will be staying at this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay

Good except for a few small things

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, room size, friendly staff
Cons: Pool area wasn't well designed
Location: Good choices of restaurants along Great Northern Road.
I stayed for one night with my wife and our three young boys. Overall we were quite pleased with our stay, the room and bathroom were of good size and were very clean. One thing that could have been better was the pool area. It was okay but the pool itself was pretty small. There were three families in there and it didn't leave much room to move around. Also, the deck was very slick as people were slipping around even at slow walking paces. The biggest beef though was the lack of washrooms near the pool. There were some just down the hall but they were the bathrooms that were used by the conference rooms and you couldn't help but leave a big pool of water in there when you went there from the pool. Breakfast was good but could have used pancakes or waffles to complete it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, ON

Great location. Central easy access. Restaurants

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Pool was warm and hot tub was hot
Cons: A few more hot breakfast items
Location: Great. LCBO close. Restaurants close. Walmart down the street
Great pool n whirlpool. Quiet Good breakfast. Beds comfy. Had a great sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK

Perfect Hotel on the Trans canada Highway

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: A new, modern hotel on teh Trans canada Highway. Makes car travel easy.
I was looking for a hotel on the Trans Canada Highway in the Sault that would be comfortable, accessible, close to restaurants and highly comfortable. This hotel did not disappoint. It is new, clean, modern and a great stop-over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McDougall, Ontario

An overnight trip to swim at Batchewana Bay.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean and great service.
Location: All noted above, Sault Ste. Marie has something for everyone. From the Bush Plane museum, to historical locks, great beached, pictograph and more.
Used expedia to book room, when we decided a swim in Lake Superior would make the summer better. The quick reservation made planning easy. We left Parry Sound at 0630 a.m., arriving in Sault Ste. Marie at 200 p.m. We were greeted by a pleasant employee who allowed us into our room early, thus giving us a great early evening swim our favourite lake. The room was great and we completed the day in the pool, with a relaxing whirlpool. The next morning after breakfast at the hotel it was back to the lake for 4 beautiful hours on the world's greatest beach. Great booking and great rooms made this a most wonderful trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Upscale

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very quiet, upscale, the breakfast buffet is a cut above average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very nice hotel close to where I needed to be

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Great exercise room, three state of the art treadmills...nice to work out. Breakfast, hot and cold food included, was quite nice.
Hotel was ideally located to where I needed to be, close to many amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill from Michigan

Beautiful hotel, comfortable, friendly

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly. The rooms clean and comfortable, making for a good night stay. I would stay here again.