Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Easy to find, easy to get to

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: I liked that this hotel was friendly and inviting and close to the highway. The fact that the staff was also nice added to the experience.
Cons: Other than what I mentioned above, everything was close to perfect.
Location: The hotel was located just off the first exit for downtown Sault Ste. Marie. It is right next door to Lake Superior State and close to the bridge.
My family was staying the night on our way through to our primary destination. The main problem for us is finding a room that can fit us all in for a good price. We found the Holiday Inn Express in Sault Ste. Marie to be a good investment for a one-night stay, so we booked it. There were few amenities included that we needed, but we had internet service and breakfast was complimentary had we had the time to partake in it. Despite this, the staff said that they could provide breakfast to go, which may be good news to some staying here. The one thing about room cleanliness was that it was good for the most part but I found a disposable razor guard on the floor behind the bathroom door as if some previous guest had thrown it there carelessly. Floor grout in this particular spot tells me it isn't cleaned as thoroughly every time (probably due to the proximity of the tub). Anyway, the room was altogether clean and comfortable for what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Blaine, MN

We love Holiday Inn Express Hotels!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: breakfast, bedding, staff
Cons: bathrooms are a bit small
Location: Soo Locks are about a mile away and all of the Sault Ste. Marie downtown activities
They had comfy beds and pillows, GREAT breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff. We have started looking for Holiday Inn Express hotels in every location we need a hotel because of many great experiences with Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciated your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good hotel, very convenient location.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Cons: Breakfast room was quite small and a bit crowded, even on a slow morning.
Location: Not too far from the Locks, close to the college.
Great breakfast, nice rooms. Front desk staff very friendly. Easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

Close to Interstate, Conveniently Located

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, bed
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Must-see is Soo Locks Tour. They actually take you through the locks. Fascinating and educational experience.
The hotel is right off I-75 so it is easy to find. Although you aren't able to walk to town, it's very easy to get there and to local attractions by car from there. Hotel staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area and there are many brochures of attractions they will explain to you and give you directions. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Room was very clean and large and bed was comfortable. We didn't eat the free breakfast as it was what I call a carb-fest. Toast, bagels, cold cereal, pancakes, and it was very crowded. However, we did find a great local restaurant downtown for breakfast. It's called Freighter's Restaurant 240 W. Portage Avenue. Restaurants downtown are scarce, but they're mostly good. If you want chain restaurant food you have to go to the far side of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

staff was very courteous and helpful

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Cons: Raise pool temp to 85 degrees.
My wife has a back problem helped by hydrotherapy. The pool was the most important feature in our choice of hotels. The pool was too cold for her to use. When we inquired with the maintenance man, he stated he kept the pool at that temp and would not be changing it. The staff was great and very accommodating to our other needs. Other than the issue with the pool, our stay was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Joseph, Michigan

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was very clean and the breakfast was great!
Location: It is right off I-75 and across from Lake Superior University. It is near the locks and downtown but not really walking distance.
We stayed in Saulte St Marie for 2 nights and found this hotel very clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. If I was going to be in the area again I would definately stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Great location and facilities. Would stay again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A Quiet Place to Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The location.
Location: There are some good gift shops and places to eat and drink in the downtown area. Taking the boat tour of the Soo Locks was a very pleasant experience
We spent two nights on our visit to the Sault and we enjoyed the quietness of the hotel very much. After a long day of traveling it is most pleasant when you can have a quiet night's rest. The staff was friendly and the beds were a comfort as well. Room was clean. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dee from PA

Friendly, helpful staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here one night while visiting the Soo Locks. The front desk staff were wonderful - very helpful and provided a great recommendation for a local restaurant for dinner. The women working the breakfast area were also fantastic. Very friendly and clearly took pride in their work!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com