Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob from Sydney, Australia

An oldie but a goodie

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
All was fine for our stay of 2 days. It does not affect our rating of this hotel, but we don't really like table service for breakfast, because the choices are limited to what the hotel is prepared to provide, rather than exactly what we want, and the timing/sequence of service for foreigners is always a problem for the waiters. You are given water whether you want it or not. Toast comes when you do not want it, and is cold by the time you do. The deferral of coffee until later has been a problem as the waiter never returns. All this does not produce an environment conducive to tipping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will come back again!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
The price is very reasonable ; USD $90 for 3 people in a 2-queenbed room including hot breakfast. The room has a queen sofa and enough room for all. Bathroom is also large. My husband enjoyed watching the boats went through the Soo lock. The location is convenient for shopping and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by joiii from warren

Great hotel with a great view

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and the hotel cleaning staff was accommodating to our needs. The only problem was both mornings the restaurant quit serving breakfast before the time we were told it would. Other than that, the location was perfect for walking through main part of city for shopping, walking through the park and watching the ships go through the locks. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josh from Minneapolis, MN

Right next to the Locks

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very nice to stay at. The room was very charming, the view out to the Soo Locks was incredible, and the availability of restaurants and bars nearby is plentiful. The pool and hot tub were very clean, and although the building is older, it is kept up very well. Overall, a great place to stay and a good value too considering the inclusion of breakfast.
2 out of 5
by Bob & Wanda from Canada

Tired and disappointed

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: The lobby, the bar, the resturant and everything to greet guests.
Cons: Redo the rooms and the mattresses.
Location: We did not stay long enough to see the area.
Due to situations reyond our control, we were late getting to the hotel (11:00pm). We declined to accept the room assigned due to being dusty and unkept, Even the lights would not work properly. We finally accepted a room with a soiled mattress, covers that were too small for the mattress, and dusty (couldn't the staff move a chair to clean properly). I must say the bathroom was fine and had a bathtub with a non-slip surface, very nice for seniors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Cons: The wait for simple breakfast food was too long in the restaurant.
Hotel is downtown close to locks and action. Older hotel with much history. Staff are pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Evelyn from Warsaw IN

Falls Below Ramada Standards

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have to say this is probably the most disappointing Ramada location we have ever come across. This one fell seriously short of some basic standards. Starting with the hotel staff - we had to hunt someone down just to check in, were offered no help whatsoever with luggage or maneuvering the halls - and one of us uses a cane! The room seemed clean at first glance - but then you notice the seriously dusty table lamps and hanging pictures. No refrigerator. The beds were pretty rough. On the upside - FANTASTIC window view. You can open the windows and catch the breezes - as well as the sights and sounds of the neighborhood. Convenient to so many small shops along the main street. We also heard that our room may be haunted - we could only hope!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by blah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan from Iowa

excellent location

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our heater in the room didn't work which meant it was a little chilly overnight, but the room had a view of the park. It was in walking distance of several places to eat and the Soo Locks visitor center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is showing its age. Dining was disappointing. Food was bland or not available - no whitefish in Michigan - really?! Housekeeping needs to practice its trade a little harder. Carpet was no cleaned properly.