Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We had a suite. Nice, but not excellent. Very dated. Loud blower for heat. Room temp was hard to control, I was hot and cold all nigh. The trestaurant has a great location, lots of Windows with view of the Soo Locks, but we found the food very mediocre. Great spot, though. It would've been much nicer if the mall had also been excellent. Parking was super easy, close and free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheboygan, WI

Nice older facility with a touch of class

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. Comfortable and large room.
Location: We were only there over night but we enjoyed the locks and the town.
We had a very nice but short stay. The staff was excellent. We asked for a room viewing the locks and they took care of it. Very friendly staff that was dealing with a coach bus of guests the same night. The hotel was clean and tidy. Older decor but very comfortable and quiet. Looking forward to returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Billiefrom Baton Rouge

Visiting the area for work for a week

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I flew up there for business. We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights and were able to explore the area some. It appears that we were there in the low tourist season. It was fun, however. There are several restaurants within walking distance with acceptable to above average food. The hotel gym definitely is not their strong point. The pool is ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Superior, WI

Location, location, location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect for ship viewing.
Cons: Staff was helpful, but not particularly friendly.
Location: Tourist shops and restaurants near by. Mini golf in season.
This hotel is right across the street from the park edging the Soo Locks. You can see boats entering and leaving the locks from your hotel room. That is the reason we stay here! The Expedia add says free breakfast, but it is actually a $2.50 voucher for the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dougfrom Traverse City

No Heat, No Breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a september stay and the evening temps were in the 40's. It cooled off quite a bit in my room, but I could not get the heat to come on, when I called the front desk they said that they are on a boiler system and since more people were wanting A/C than heat they couldn't turn on the boiler. NOBODY wants A/C when it's 60 in your hotel room, they were just too cheap to provide heat. They used to provide a complimentary breakfast, but not anymore, now they just give you a $2.50 discount coupon. For no hassle with heat and a good breakfast I will definitely pay the extra $30 to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Location, Location, Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance
A great location literally across the street from the Sault St Marie Locks. Unfortunately, neither the Ramada nor several other area hotels have many good views of the Locks from inside the rooms. The toilet in the room I stayed in ran every 5-10 minutes all night long. There was a puddle of water under the shut-off valve and another between the tub and toilet that I'm not sure where it came from. The cleaning staff cleaned good enough that just a bit of mildew was visible in the tub/floor seal. I arrived after the 3PM check-in time, was given my key card and arrived at the room to discover the maid was still in process of cleaning. Awkwardly, I left my luggage and took a walk while she finished. The area around the locks is very walkable with plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops. I have had much larger, nicer rooms in more modern buildings for the money but it is a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tranverse City, Mi

Oldie but Goodie

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, Friendly staff
Cons: Maybe some additional refurbishing maintenance of the facility.
Location: Commented above............
The Ojibway is 86 years old, and retains the charm of that era, yet offers the convenience of the modern day. It's location is very convenient, as it is located approximately one block from the locks, and right on a popular street that has many shops, restaurants, and bars. If your booking here you need to understand that this is an "Oldie but Goodie" first, if your good with that....Book a stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Arunfrom Columbus

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was good, The restaurant attached with it is a trash, especially when you go with the breakfast coupons they give. They treated us as if we were there with food coupons and served some dry & Old food after about 40 minutes of wait.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Accomodations

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything could be improved upon. The staff could be more attentive. If you are providing service, then you should provide it. They did not.
Location: The location was great to everything around
The hotel is a perfect location if they only had staff that was competent to handle guests. We wanted to have dinner at the hotel and waited in line for 20 minutes before leaving as we never were asked how many was in the party or acknowledged that we were even there. As least 10 others were in line as well. No one came to acknowledge any of us. There were many tables empty as guest had left and wanted to know why we were not seated. We finally left and had dinner at an outside restaurant. The complementary breakfast we were told was being discontinued and we had a limited choice of what was available. Oatmeal, toast, scrambled eggs only and bacon w/toast, fruit and toast and if you wanted to order off the menu they would give you $2.50 off your meal. Upon arriving for the breakfast, we were seated and then left to sit for another 20 minutes before I asked a waitress if we could get coffee. Got the coffee and waited another 20 minutes before I asked a waitress if we could order breakfast. No sense of order in the restaurant.