Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Location, Location, Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance
A great location literally across the street from the Sault St Marie Locks. Unfortunately, neither the Ramada nor several other area hotels have many good views of the Locks from inside the rooms. The toilet in the room I stayed in ran every 5-10 minutes all night long. There was a puddle of water under the shut-off valve and another between the tub and toilet that I'm not sure where it came from. The cleaning staff cleaned good enough that just a bit of mildew was visible in the tub/floor seal. I arrived after the 3PM check-in time, was given my key card and arrived at the room to discover the maid was still in process of cleaning. Awkwardly, I left my luggage and took a walk while she finished. The area around the locks is very walkable with plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops. I have had much larger, nicer rooms in more modern buildings for the money but it is a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tranverse City, Mi

Oldie but Goodie

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, Friendly staff
Cons: Maybe some additional refurbishing maintenance of the facility.
Location: Commented above............
The Ojibway is 86 years old, and retains the charm of that era, yet offers the convenience of the modern day. It's location is very convenient, as it is located approximately one block from the locks, and right on a popular street that has many shops, restaurants, and bars. If your booking here you need to understand that this is an "Oldie but Goodie" first, if your good with that....Book a stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Accomodations

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything could be improved upon. The staff could be more attentive. If you are providing service, then you should provide it. They did not.
Location: The location was great to everything around
The hotel is a perfect location if they only had staff that was competent to handle guests. We wanted to have dinner at the hotel and waited in line for 20 minutes before leaving as we never were asked how many was in the party or acknowledged that we were even there. As least 10 others were in line as well. No one came to acknowledge any of us. There were many tables empty as guest had left and wanted to know why we were not seated. We finally left and had dinner at an outside restaurant. The complementary breakfast we were told was being discontinued and we had a limited choice of what was available. Oatmeal, toast, scrambled eggs only and bacon w/toast, fruit and toast and if you wanted to order off the menu they would give you $2.50 off your meal. Upon arriving for the breakfast, we were seated and then left to sit for another 20 minutes before I asked a waitress if we could get coffee. Got the coffee and waited another 20 minutes before I asked a waitress if we could order breakfast. No sense of order in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitehall, WI

Nice hotel close to the Soo Locks

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown
Location: Soo Locks Bars Ice Cream
We had an awesome stay! Within walking distance of all the local businesses and the Soo Locks. We spent most of the night at the locks and Malonys Irish Brew pub. Don't let Chelsea over serve you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great 2nd stay.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This was our second stay at the Ramada Plaza. It's an older hotel but nice. It's clean and comfortable. Decor is a little dated but still looks nice. We did have a couple free breakfast slips to use but the restaurant was very under staffed and the wait was too long. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great time!

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at the ramada and I would highly recommend it. The only reason for not five stars was we tried ordering romm service and they had no clue what was on their menu and were out of several things. The dining experience in the hotel was all over the place forgetting orders drinks and taking a long time. Everyone was very poilte thought and that more than made up for it. The beds in the room were also a little small but we knew that going in to it. The area is awesome and an easy drive to whitefish point and the falls. All in all I would deffinatly stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rose from Mt. Pleasant

great hotel and location

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right across from the locks, this historic hotel had wonderful features and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Beulah from Ramada Plaza Ojibway

Never had a chance

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an excellent location for our stay, we were there for a conference, we never really got to do any sight seeing, but it was a great time there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Steve Haines from Sault Ste. Marie

Room OK, slow breakfast service

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mostly OK. Clean room and friendly service. The jets in the Jacuzzi did not work. We waited for over 30 minutes for the included breakfast of 2 eggs, bacon, and toast even though it was not crowded. The hotel manager was going to discount my price but as it was already paid for via Hotels.com, that was not possible.