Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah Roberts from Bristol U K

Great Location

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Attractive location and nice rooms although ours had to be changed as we asked for twin beds. Helpful staff but waitress service, ie tea and coffee not from a machine, for breakfast would have been nice. Would be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david

Fabulous food, good accommodation

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent food
Location: A visit to the abbey is a must
The food is really good, sitting outside beside the town square watching the world go slowly by is the real French experience. The staff are friendly and helpful and make the stay a pleasure. The rooms are small but totally adequate. The abbey of Fontevreaud is across the square and a visit to it would fully justify a trip even if there were not an English King and two Queens at rest inside. Plenty of parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek and Liz from Oxfordshire, UK

Sensitively modernised Logis in Loire Valley

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The location. The food. The buildings. The rooms.
Cons: We didn't come across anything during our short stay, but we did not use the pool so can't comment.
Location: Fontevraud Abbey is well worth the visit (history & modern cultural facilities around the site). Saumur, with interesting chateau and Loire is nearby
Ours was a two night stop in Fotevraud on the way south. We booked one of the more comfortable rooms and ate breakfast and the evening meal there. The hotel has been modernised in a very sensitive and smart way around an old 17th century building and is right in the centre of Fontevraud, just opposite the abbey complex, which is the main tourist attraction and very worthwhile to visit. Our room was very comfortable, without being oversized, and the staff were most efficient and polite. The hotel is a 'three cooking-pot' Logis, and, as such one would expect the food to be high standard. We were not disappointed! The breakfast was substantial and varied - all of a 'continental type', ie. a combination of the French style (croissants/baguettes/fruit) and German/Swiss coldmeat/cheese/smoked fish dishes. They do cereals, but not the full English breakfast (that is not a criticism however, just a fact). The restaurant meals in the evening featured a good value (about 22 Euro if I remember rightly) menu with good choices. The food was well cooked and presented in a modern style - the restaurant seems well patronised by people not staying at the hotel, so best let them know if you want to eat there (though they seemed to be coping during our stay). All in all, we would thoroghly recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Queue from Western Australia

great location

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely quiet little town with everything you need. Hotel is wonderful, comfortable, clean, excellent restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, nothing special

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Add some charm.
Location: Not really much to do around here, other than take a look at the abbey.
The room was clean but lacked any charm. The hotel receptionist kept us waiting for 20 minutes while she tried to figure out a mistake on another couples' billing - she seemed unable to do basic math, and although there was another staff person milling around, we simply had to wait. When we asked her for directions to the next major town, she didn't seem to have heard of it. Overall there was nothing special about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by milou

Opposite the Abbey

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness. Quiet.
Location: Fontevraud Abbey - wonderful. Tombs of Plantagenets. Parish Church has High Altar from Abbey destruction.
Enjoyable stay. Excellent food, including breakfast.
3 out of 5
by milou from london, england

Tripadvisor choice

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Reception staff nice, room OK! Breakfast nice (fresh fruit). Quiet.
Cons: Service in Restaurant for guests other than groups. Dinner took 3 hours to serve - it was a warm evening, the meal was OK and it was as it was..
Location: Beautiful. Visit Saumur, Chinon and St Martin's.
Easy to find. Large property. Lovely area. Reception staff nice - we accepted the first room offered. Nice surroundings. Booked evening meal - competed with group. It took a long time to be served ( 3 hours) but we chatted and enjoyed he wine and food. The Swedish group was OK and they helped themselves to some of our breakfast buffet as they left their own section of the restaurant. All in all it was a good visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and interestong town.

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very limited choices in such a small town-good restaurants and nice hotel. Very small area. People very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great location. Free WiFi!!!!!

Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wifi access useless. Managed 6 minutes in attempts from 7pm to 12 pm and again from 7.30 am. Asked reception but very nice but unable to help. Essential for planning journey and booking hotels. Cheaper hotels throughout our journey through France have all done much better with Wi Fi. Secure bike parking requested was in car park with no fixing points for padlock as shed full of hire bikes. Otherwise OK.