Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester,UK

Central Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Central location was convenient but traffic noise was occasionally a problem. Room was comfortable with excellent shower. Great breakfast choice.
Cons: En suit toilet was very cramped but at least it was modern!
Location: Very close to town centre so shops and restaurants were "on the doorstep". Chateau and many other attractions were within walking distance.
Very convenient hotel for town centre. Good range of restaurants nearby. Secure parking is available for a daily charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, UK

Very good stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The cost, the situation and the staff.
Cons: Our room was very pleasantly decorated, as is the entrance, reception and breakfast room. However, the room corridors are in need of refurbishment.
Location: Well situated to visit many of the Loire chateaux. Saumur is a very pleasant city with very good shops and restaurants.
We booked this hotel for a short break to visit some of the chateaux in the Loire. It is very centrally situated in Saumur, close to the old quarter, with lots of good shops and restaurants. There is hotel parking, but apparently you have to pre-book it, which we didn't know, so we just drove into it - but with great difficulty! The entrance is extremely narrow and we managed to gouge the side of our car on a large steel bolt. Then we found out the car park was full, so we had a damaged car for nothing! However, there is a car park a few minutes walk away, which is cheap and convenient. The hotel staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful - the owner Francois, particularly, went out of his way to recommend, and book, two restaurants for us, both of which were superb. The room, though on the small side, had been recently refurbished and was well decorated.. There was no air-conditioning in our room, but there was an electric fan which was very efficient. I believe some rooms do have a/c. The breakfasts are tasty and more than adequate to start the day, and reasonably priced at 9 euros. We would certainly stay there again, and would recommend it to our family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cara from Paris

Wonderful hotel for our Saumur wedding

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: beautifully styled, in the middle of the city - so very close to Saumur attractions, friendly staff, warm and welcoming atmosphere
Location: great location in the middle of Saumur, can easily walk to the Loire Valley, the equestrian centre, the Saumur chateau and many restaurants and cafes
We stayed in this hotel for approximately 4 nights, as my (now) husband and I were getting married in the local area (Australian & French wedding). The hotel is beautifully decorated, very warm and homely and tasteful. Our rooms were always clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel accommodated my whole family and many friends from Australia and allowed us to pretty much take over a whole floor. The staff were lovely and all spoke English. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It's also in the city centre, so my friends and family could easily find nice restaurants and walk to all the nearby attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel and friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, I can't believe it only has 2 stars. It was a nice large room and big bathroom. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Anne from Ireland

Great location lots of good restaurants nearby

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely friendly service. I loved boiling my own egg for breakfast. Very secure parking. Overall a very positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan

Good hotel with character in town centre.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Town centre. Off road parking. Dog friendly. Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Reception is on the first floor, would be better on ground floor.
Location: The chatueaux is within walking distance although steep uphill climb to get there. Shops, cafes, bars and the river closeby.
Small front of hotel opening onto street so tricky to find but off road parking at rear of hotel a bonus. Rooms individually decorated recently and everything clean and tidy. Seperate toilet to bathroom in room made space a bit tight. Dog friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by FrankieC from Chichester

A friendly, welcoming hotel In the heart of Saumur

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed 2 separate nights as a stop over. Great location near shops and restaurants. Reasonably priced parking in their secure car park. Very friendly staff. We have a 3-4 month old baby and the staff put up a travel cot in the room before we arrived at no extra charge. We booked a small double room, it was a bit of a squeeze with travel cot, suitcases etc but without the cot the room size would be fine. Lovely clean modern shower rooms. We feel this hotel is excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Norfolk, England

Hotel in heart of lovely Saumur

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: The friendliness, the decor, the location.
Cons: More choice at breakfast. Air conditioning - though there were instructions our room didn't appear to have any.
Location: It is as central as you can get about five minutes from the Loire and ten from the castle while being surrounded by restaurants and shops
Le Londres is a visually beautiful and comfortable hotel with very attentive staff. It is extremely centrally situated with private (and gated) off road parking behind. A curving, marble staircase takes you up to the first floor reception, where, whenever we were arriving or leaving, we always received the friendliest of greetings, often from one of the owners, who have clearly taken great trouble to make their personal marks on their establishment. All the rooms have highly individual themes and decoration (we peeped in others along the corridor after the occupants had left) which are extremely pleasing to the eye. The bed was comfortable and there was a good shower as well as lots of nice little touches in a room which made the most of every inch of its small size. Breakfast was excellent quality and plenty of it, though we felt there could have been more choice, especially in the fruit department. But that's being picky as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and greatly appreciated the extra yard (or should that be metre) everyone went to make you feel welcome and to offer help with tips for touring the town and area. The only downside, and one they can't do much about, was that we had a couple of unwanted early hours disturbancies - one from an extremely noisy street cleaning machine, the other from the bin men!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Most enjoyable, great that French hotels are starting to have kettles and tea / coffee making facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ray from Essex

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant hotel, friendly and helpful staff, well located, good breakfast.