Ratings based on 862 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport Beach, CA

Hotel Staff were very helpful and friendly

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: This hotel had a real comfortable feel to it.
Cons: I really can't think of anything that was not up to par.
Location: Great Irish Pubs, very reasonable pricing throughout the city and an outstanding Historical Area to walk around.
The location of the hotel is perfect, being only 2 blocks from River Street, the Market Place and the Historical Section. Mary, the concierge was extremely helpful in maximizing our enjoyment of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by GM 11205, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words about the BEST WETSERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Thank you also for recognizing Mary, she is indeed a Superstar! I will be sure to share your compliments with her! Sincerely, Jeff Fouste General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced Mediocre Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: 1. Employee morale. 2. Breakfast.
The room was ok and clean. The staff did not seem to enjoy their jobs because they didn't do them well. The breakfast hostess was angry each morning. Each morning there was something that was either out or running low. She wouldn't even respond when asked about the food. She would slam drawers/doors and eventually replace the low dish. She also wore her long hair down and continually ran her hands through her hair. There were 4 of us in the room. Only 1 day out of 4 did we have 4 towels and 4 washcloths. We were surprised each day by how few the cleaning staff had left us. We also had to ask for extra toilet paper...after our room had been serviced. Apparently, she didn't want to leave an extra roll in the room. Also, parking is not included with the room fee. There is a $15.00 per day parking fee. So, with taxes and fees the room is about $200.00 per night. Next time, we will be staying in one of the lovely, old historic homes because we realized that would be a cheaper more satisfying experience. Also, I never saw the male manager of this hotel on the premises. The only workers I ever saw were females. I wonder if the problems I witnessed were due to lack of managerial overview.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for contacting Expedia regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District. I am very disappointed to read your review and hear you did not enjoy your stay. I wanted to personally apologize and to let you know I will certainly follow-up on the issue's you mentioned. Thank you, Jeff Fouste General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Pretty Noisy and expensive

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything , windows that help outside noises
Location: so far so good
Terrible maintenance, need update for that tarifa
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by GM 11205, Hotel Management
Thank you for contacting Expedia your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. Sincerely, Jeffrey Fouste General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic District and More

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Location - Walking Distance to everything (Bring your walking shoes). Great Staff very understanding and helpful.
Cons: Walls: you could hear people flushing their toilets and how the doors had access to other peoples rooms it felt like ppl were coming into your room.
Location: Take Fare Free Dot bus to locations in the Historic District, about 2 min. from River Street, Hutchinson Island, City Market. 30 min walk to Forsyth
Hotel had a great location being so close to River street, City Market, Lulu's Chocolate Bar and more. The hotel location was better than expected. Staff was really fantastic and was very pleased by their overall friendliness. I love the fact that there was a fridge in the rooms, and that there was always someone at the desk even in late night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by GM 11205, Hotel Management
I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the updated room amenities, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again! Sincerly, Jeff Fouste General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oregon

good location and available parking

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The location is great within easy walking distance to the historic areas of Savannah
Location: the location is great and easy to walk to all of historic Savannah. Just a block from the City Market
the room was ok and appeared to have had some upgrading. there is noise from the street but only on weekdays. sunday was quiet in the morning, my room was not "made up" during my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by GM11205, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Expedia Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience. Thank you, Jeff Fouste General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The location is great, easily walk to all major attractions, sites, and restaurants.
Cons: The weekend nights were a little loud- a combination of hotel guests arriving home late and ambient noise from the street.
Location: Right at the end of the River Street tourist attractions, this hotel is a 5 minute walk to City Market and other attractions. No need for a car!
A beautiful hotel with friendly, courteous staff. Free breakfast was a perk, but with so many great dining options in Savannah, it wasn't necessary. The location of this hotel was excellent! Sites like River Street and City Market were about a 5 minute walk away, and the Concierge service was an added bonus. I've read a few reviews complaining about the noise level at this hotel, and it was a little loud outside on the weekend nights, but I feel that can happen in any city on the weekend. I used earplugs and was fine. The weekday nights were much quieter. There is so much to see in the Historic District that I didn't utilize amenities like the pool, but it's a nice bonus, especially on warmer days. I would happily stay in this hotel again and look forward to returning to Savannah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the great location, free breakfast and our newly renovated guestrooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District. I do however apologize for the noisy streets, and I am sorry if it interfered with your stay in Savannah. I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future. Thank you, Jeff Fouste General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Location: Good lunch at the Wilkes House and good dinner at the Pirate House.
This hotel offered good value for the price. It was on the edge of the Historical District making it easy to walk to everything. Pretty busy intersection but we were on the back side of the building so didn't notice any noise. The front desk staff were very pleasant, however, the concierge was condescending and somewhat rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! I will certainly follow-up with the Concierge regarding their behavior! Thank you, Jeff Fouste General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, Ohio

Nice friendly and convenient location.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and convenience.
Location: close to River Front and Historical City. Would stay there again!
We stayed one night and were very pleased with the Hotel and Staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Music to my ears!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NE Tennessee

Close to Riverfront dining and historic district

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff.
Cons: Had prepaid room, but were charged an additional fee when arriving to park in their parking lot. Only option was on-street meter parking. Unfair.
Location: Close to the water, seafood dining and history. Great area for special occasion trips.
Reserved for wife's birthday and wanted close location to waterfront dining and historic district. This place fit the bill. We walked to the riverfront and enjoyed seafood dining. The next morning, Sunday, we were able to walk through the historic district and parks to a 1700's church then back to the water for lunch. Never had to use our car at all. A fun experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are honored that you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District for your wife's birthday! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return! Sincerely, Jeffrey A Fouste General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Perfect location

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect,
Location: There is so much to see. The River Walk was so fun at night.
The location of this hotel was close to everything in old Savannah. The decor was beautiful and had an Old Savannah feel. There was a problem with the door lock and after a few trips to the front desk and up and down from the third floor we moved to another room which was a better room. The breakfast choices were excellent. The hotel was fully booked so it was very busy and crowded. A tour bus was parked on the back side of the hotel right across from our room full of visitors which were staying at the hotel. The bus motor ran quite a long time after the quests debarked and a long time the next morning before they boarded the bus.