Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not awful.....but wouldn't stay again

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Room was very clean but smelled musty and moldy which was odd. Bathroom was spotless which is high priority with our family. Air wouldn't keep the room cool even on high for 3 straight days and the room was damp because of it. It literally roared next to our bed the whole stay never turning off which made it hard to sleep. Maid staff kept turning the temp warmer each time they cleaned too which we didn't appericate at all. Mattress on both beds were worn out and you rolled to the center in a hole. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room which is awful when ur there more than a night. We never ate breakfast as it was just waffles and pastries and no eggs or meat or anything hot at all. They no longer offer a discount with Denney's either even though they are in the same building. It is about a 12 mile drive to downtown which is entirely too far if you are staying any amount of time it gets expensive driving back and forth constantly. If we had known the area we would not have booked here. Better to stay closer, pay a little more, and enjoy free downtown trolley service or even the bus. Parking downtown is scarce and pricy any time of year. This was our first and last experience with a two star hotel and the whole gateway area in general.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah

The beds was horrible, not enough towels, awful.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The beds you could feel the springs, four people in the room only three bath towels, the phone stop working,and to top it off the fire alarm went crazy at 3:30 in the a.m. I will never I mean never stay at a Best Western. Couldn't get anything back because I used expedia. Will not use expedia again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place but far from downtown Savannah

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This hotel was alright. Nothing terribly wrong with it. The air conditioning was malfunctioning. Too expensive for it being 20 miles away from Savannah downtown. Save your cash and get a place closer to the city. But the upside was that it was very close to several restaurants. Overall an average place to stay but no frills and thrills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice budget choice for travelers with dogs

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Very soft comfortable beds, no crinkly plastic wrappers, surprisingly generous breakfast, pet-friendly
Comfortable bedding and good value for the money, with extensive free breakfast options and parking right in front of our window (rooms have exterior doors, like a motel). There was a $20 additional pet fee, which seems to be about average at this star level. Staff was pleasant, rooms are cooled well, had no weird stains or musty odors, and it's pretty quiet inside, for being so close to the main roads. There are a couple late-night food options nearby, none of them particularly good, and there's also a pool, which was closed for renovations during our stay. This "Gateway" Best Western costs half as much as the one that's in Savannah proper, (plus the other one charges an extra $15 for parking, and a $50 pet deposit), and I thought it was quite nice for what we paid. No complaints at all, in fact I'd say it deserves to be rated higher than a 2-star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potsdam, NY

Very nice hotel with a good rate

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Excellent hotel, very clean, friendly courteous staff we were very satisfied with our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fitzgerald, GA

Nice hotel good location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: A good location for us to visit family in Pooler and go into Savannah or visit Tybee Island for the day
Cons: Maybe a queen bed instead of full size
Location: A good location for us to visit family in Pooler and go into Savannah/ River Street or visit Tybee Island for the day
This is the 3rd time my family has stayed at this motel. The pool is very nice. The rooms are clean and it is pet friendly if you need to take you pet. We have taken ours on a previous trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

The "Worst" Best Western

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location, nothing else.
Cons: Everything, just start all over.
Location: Very convenient to I 95 and Savannah.
We stayed at this Best Western off 95 just south of Savannah because it is Pet Friendly, and we were attending a nearby event. I had thought the Best Western chain had upgraded substantially over the years, but not this place. The room smelled musty and the bed was so soft we kept rolling to the middle. Not that TV is important, but the reception for the three local affiliates of CBS, NBC and ABC was terrible. The free breakfast was most unimpressive, so much that we ate locally the second morning we were there. Not a very good experience overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Williamson, Ga

short stay in Savannah

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the price was outstanding
Cons: The wall in the room we stayed in was damage so I say some minor repairs need to be done. Next, clean up the Denny's Restaurant
Location: There is nothing to do near by you have to travel into savannah
My family and I stayed at this hotel because of the price. It is a bit away from everything that you want to see while in Savannah. It took us about 30 minutes to travel to Riverstreet. No big deal really to us. It took us about an hour to get to Tybee Island. We enjoyed our stay. My daughter did find a small (live) bug in our bed and that was not a pleasent experience but to be expected when you are in such a humid and hot part of the state. Bugs are everywhere. I did not see any roaches the toilet worked fine, the water pressure was ok, the beds were comfortable, and I did not hear any noise. I did not smell anything musty or gross. I did however hear some of the other guest talking about how bad the Denny's was that is attached to the hotel. I did not personally eat there and I really don't think I would if I stay at this hotel again. The free breakfast is Ok it is what you would expect anywhere :cereal milk juice coffee danish toast waffel and fruit. The pool is small but clean and the staff is great. Overall I would stay at this hotel again. It was a short stay but a good stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Hotel staff was very nice....the room was acceptable for the excellent price. It was clean and everything worked well. No frills - could have used some cosmetic touches, but, as I said, for the really great price it met our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice and convenient!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Perfect for the price!!! Really convenient location right off of I 95. We used this as our stopover on the way to and from Orlando, FL. Continental breakfast was complimentary, but if wanted you could splurge on the Denny's that was located next to the lobby. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. It would have been nicer if they had an outdoor patio area separate from the pool.