Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pinehurst, NC

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Its character, décor, staff.
Location: Many restaurants, shops, historic buildings & homes.
We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and the trip was fun, educational, inspiring, all-in-all wonderful. The hotel staff helped us by recommending restaurants, tours, transportation methods, & locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Outstanding! Great staff, room, location and food!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, the room, the location, and the special food.
Location: The location was great! We could walk to River Street, City Market, and other shopping, dining and historic places.
Two of us spent 4 nights at the East Bay Inn as part of a girls birthday getaway. Everything was very, very special, from when we were met at the door by Melvin the Bellman, to when we checked in with Julie, to when we left and had to say goodbye. In fact ALL the staff were very warm, friendly, and helpful. We loved our room too. It was unlike any I've ever been in -- very high ceilings, exposed brick wall, special molding, all with an old, historic feel, but still clean with an updated bathroom. The location can't be beat. We could walk everywhere. Then there was the wine and cheese every night. They call it "wine and cheese", but it was really wine with a table full of appetizers, including a special warm dish that changed each evening. The hot breakfast each morning too was wonderful, with a real variety of local and traditional items. And finally, I can't talk about the Inn without mentioning the wonderful restaurant downstairs, Skyler's. They do the "wine and cheese" for the Inn, and the breakfast. Beyond that, though, they also were the best restaurant we went to in Savannah. When we heard ":That's where the locals go," we had dinner there, and right way knew why people said that. Again, the people were very friendly and the food was very special. In fact, our first night at the Inn we had mentioned at the wine and cheese that we were celebrating a birthday. When we ate there several nights later they surprised us with cheesecake with a candle on it! Fantastic place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2015
We enjoyed staying here, full of history. As it was right downtown, we were able to walk to other locations and were able to experience historical Savannah. The staff were so pleasant and helpful! The room was very comfortable. We loved the tall ceilings and architectural details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Southern charm

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Arrive at East Bay before check in time, but we were welcomed to park at the parking and start our walk around Savanna. The hostess expressed enthusiasm and southern charm, providing us with hotspot and dining recommendations. After a long walk down by the Savanna River, we arrive back into our room, delighted to see our bed was ready for the evening and drapes closed. A wonderful touch. The room has an old colonial theme, which was warming and inviting -a romantic scene. The rooms was clean and well furnished. Everything a vacation would need but nothing that don't. There was no refrigerator, nor "working" internet. However, it is a good thing... We are on a Savanna Ga vacation, rather than vacation at a hotel. The whole stay was wonderful! I highly recommend it to anyone and will be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: would be better with small coffee maker in each room.
would be better with small coffee maker in each room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Needs update. Dusty. Would not stay there again. My rating is 2.5. Sorry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scavaging for Tips

Posted Dec 2, 2014
This is a beautiful upscale hotel however our experience was marred by "tip jars" and "envelopes" at every turn. Pay the staff a little more and eliminate these annoying hands out experiences.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

great location and delicious breakfast

Posted Dec 1, 2014
quaint, lovely, just dated decor. ghosts are friendly. great staff. very clean. free wine in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
We enjoyed our first trip to Savannah and East Bay Inn. The Inn was a wonderful extension of the beautiful historical city atmosphere and the staff was kind and helpful. We would definately stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location for historic district

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: location, staff, character
Cons: update a few of the bathroom fixtures
Location: easy walk to all of historic district, restaurants
pleasant and friendly staff, nice "old hotel" feel in keeping with the district