Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Great place to stay. Easy to prepare meals when I don't want to go to a restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Forsyth, GA

Blue Collar transient worker facility

Posted May 18, 2015
Cons: Maintenance!!
HVAC and bedside lamp did not work in a spotted carpet room first night; good move to close unit in better condition next two nights; discovered that rates were well above the Expedia rate charged per helpful staff but would have to deal with Expedia; appreciate staff offering to send me free nights certificate at other Ex. Stay facilities due to room condition
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom B

Serviceable room

Posted May 11, 2015
The room was clean but strongly scented with.some kind of disinfectant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that your room had odor issues. We are sorry for these issues, but we are happy to read that we provided you with a clean room and a positive stay overall. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was way from post too long

Posted May 5, 2015
no one clean room and ac was very noisy No cups No shampoo No pen to write
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you were missing several items from your room, and you did not receive housekeeping during your stay. We provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. Hairdryers, additional toiletries, and dishware are available upon request at the front desk. I apologize if this was not explained during check-in. In response to your feedback, I will be meeting with our front desk staff to ensure all of our amenities are clearly explained upon guest arrivals. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Posted May 3, 2015
Cons: There was no ice buckets.
The front desk staff was very helpful. They were very welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to provide you with an ice bucket. Still, we are glad to hear that our front desk staff provided you with friendly service and you had a positive stay overall. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay...

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Staff friendliness, amenities
Location: Shopping
The hotel was fine, but everything that was said about the amenities online wasn't accurate. The staff was also not very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected and our staff did not provide you with exceptional customer service. In response to your feedback, I am sharing your comments with our staff to be used as a training tool to make sure your experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Savannah

Not enough employees to staff the hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: the firmness of the bed.
Cons: More staff members. Better towels. Towels brought up to our room instead of us having to walk downstairs.
Location: Located 10 minutes from downtown Savannah.
This was the first hotel that I've been in that required me to go downstairs to the front desk in order to get more towels The alarm in the room next to me started buzzing both days at 09:05 am. There was only one person at the front desk. During check out we waited for our final bill and the person at the front desk never told us that everything was clear and we were free to leave. The towels were very old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive professional and attentive customer service during your stay with us. In response to your feedback, I am sharing your comments with our staff to make sure our front desk staff is present during busy hours of the day. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Nice spot!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Exactly as expected. Although there was only soap supplied I brought with me what ineeded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

not the best place to stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
we stayed here to try a hotel not in downtown and o regret that decision. There was barely someone at the front desk. We had to go out and buy our own toilet paper because the front desk clerk was no where to be found. This needs to be fixed at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that our services did not meet your needs. Please accept our apologies. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with the hotel staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Good value hotel, with some minor issues

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet room. Comfortable bed and chairs. Convenient to grocery stores, and to downtown Savannnah. Reasonably priced.
Cons: Kitchen countertops need to be replaced. Basic kitchen supplies (pots, pans, glassware, utensils) need to be in room at check-in. Bathroom fan broken
Location: This hotel is convenient to both highways and downtown Savannah.
We spent 5 nights at this hotel recently, and the place was reasonably priced for having a full kitchen, and it was also only a 10 minute drive from there to downtown Savannah. Another plus was having both a Publix grocery store and a higher-end Fresh Market within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, which was quite convenient! On the first night, as we were preparing to leave for dinner in town, we discovered that the door to our room would not close and lock properly. We immediately addressed this issue with Angel at the front desk, and she apologized for the problem, provided us keys to another room down the hall from ours, and also gave us a gift card for a free night stay on them for the trouble. This was a pain, as we had already settled into our first room, but we postponed our dinner reservations, and moved our stuff down the hall to our new space. The layout of the room was fine, with good sound insulation, the bed was very comfy, and the shower worked great. Kitchen countertops were peeling formica, but reasonably clean, however all pots, pans, glassware, etc. had to be requested and provided at the front desk in a big plastic box, which felt a little bit like government rations. Upon our check out, we spoke with the manager, Samuel, and he apologized, again for the hassle with having to move to another room. All in all, a decent stay for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay with us. Still, we are pleased to know that we were able to put you in a comfortable room and that our location was convenient. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.