Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice surprise

Posted Jul 3, 2015
My wife and I returned to the Desoto 33 years after our honeymoon there. Although some things have changed, the southern charm an hospitality was still there. I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a charming southern experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Within walking distance of good restaurants and at

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Excellent hotel staff, especially the valet and bell staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located near SCAD

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Went to Savannah to visit a college. Located in historic district
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Honestly .. the staff are good thats what made up for the shortfalls of the hotel specially in room amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jun 6, 2015
A Nice Hilton hotel Well located, good business hotel. It is very easy to get around. For SCAD parents it is a great choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale fl

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The hotel is in need of a renovation and the pool is old and tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The bathroom: The shower is much nicer than ours and the mirror with self contained lighting was really nice and will be included when we remodel ours
Cons: As an older property it has some superficial issues that are easily fixed.
Location: The Desoto is in the middle of the historic district and within easy walking distance to the sites. There are also pedicabs, horse carriages, & buses
The Desoto staff were everything you would expect from Hilton - courteous, helpful, and very attentive. Everyone from the parking valets to the concierge were there to help us with everything from a good local breakfast place to directions to everywhere we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Good place to stay if you have kids with you

Posted May 26, 2015
The other reviews about it feeling run down and tired are right. It wasn't gross at all, but it just needs some sprucing up. We were traveling with a 5 year old, so I felt like staying at a nicer hotel would be a waste. His only concern was that the hotel had an outdoor pool. There were a lot of other young children, so if being able to sleep in and nurse a hangover are necessary - this isn't the hotel for you. There were kids running up and down the halls starting at like 8:30am. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the lobby is pretty. And it's only a couple blocks from J Christopher's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice room, kind of small, but lovely view!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: easy check in, the view from the balancy
Cons: Upgrade beds, do proper maintenance on locks and doors, not such high parking fees
Location: River street is a great place to hang out, its about a 10 minute walk from this location.
When we arrived at this hotel, we had an easy check in process. We requested the highest floor in the hotel, but were told they had nothing available, which was disappointing. The highest they had was 4th or 2nd, so we took the 4th. The room was clean, and the beds were made well, but the room showed its aged with chipped doors, and broken locks. The beds were ok, they hurt our backs after a few hours of sleep, but we had a great view from our room which was nice. One of the 3 guest, got bug bites all down the side of their arm while they slept at night, so there must be something roaming in the room that we didn't see. We did not spend that much time in the room so it was fine, but still would have been nice to be bug free. Our room was located by the elevator but we did not have much disturbance from there so that was great. Everything else was great! They do offer parking with valet, but it is $25 a night which is super steep esp considering there are other parking decks for 3 a night on the weekends, and daily on the week days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Good location, walking distance from every attraction. Great view from the hotel room. Great valet parking service, easy check-in and check-out process. Hotel is really clean and rooms are awesome.