Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick get away

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to RiverStreet and restaurants. We didn't get back in our car till time to go.
Cons: More towels for the pool area. They have a great water dispenser with sliced lemon and lime, empty in afternoons when needed most.
They are renovating so things are a work in progress. It is not in the heart of the historic district but everything is within 5-10 walking distance. I was surprised at the price of valet parking, but this maybe typical for Savannah. There is a deck next door I believe but with just my daughter and I, I didn't feel quite safe. The staff was great, breakfast was ok, good variety. The halls were occasionally hot and humid but the rooms were good. We did attempt to spend time at the pool but there were no towels available and quite a few people there. Most of the chairs were taken or hard to access and/or bring forward so I could be near my daughter. The bed was quite HARD and the pillows very uncomfortable. I use a sleep number at home so its rare to find a nice bed elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

GREAT LOCATION WITH A GREAT PRICE

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Inexpensive parking. Breakfast included in room charge.
Cons: Elevators need a good clean
Location: Sightsee and explore history
I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights with my two teenagers. I didn't know Savannah very well, but found this hotel to be in the ideal location for tours, historic squares, dining by the river etc. So glad I decided on this hotel. Loved the option to self park in the parking garage next-door. Valet parking costs $20 per day, but I paid a total of $18 and that was arriving on Sunday afternoon and leaving on Tuesday morning. Room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV with HBO. Kids loved the rooftop pool. Breakfast included and it had everything we could have wanted to set us up for a long day sightseeing. Would absolutely recommend this hotel for a short stay in Savannah.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Good location in walking distance of everything

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was well organized for a self serve
Cons: More staff
One major complaint The front desk staff very courteous but have to many responsibilities had to wait too long to check in or ask any questions because the front desk were on the phone taking reservations. That should be a back office task The hotel was very busy and the staff seemed overwhelmed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Llandudno, UK

Central location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: They provided a supper and the two nights we were there.
Cons: Nothing really - it was perfect. We wanted to stay longer.
Location: see above
We had not stayed in a Staybridge before and it was a pleasant surprise. It was close to the town but there was also a bus stop nearby (free bus by the way). The staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cobden, ontario

Disappointed

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Booked two rooms over a month in advance and asked that they be close together as we were traveling with another couple...they made no effort to accommodate the request. Floor in the room was wet, water quit working, and found stickers from last visitor on the wall (not joking). On the positive side, it is in an excellent location and the concierge was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Nice hotel, bad elevators

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Great location. Walking distance to restaurants, historic sites, etc. Fantastic rooftop pool.
VERY quiet rooms. Great pool overlooking the river. No onsite parking, and the adjacent garage was full most of the time. Probably just bad luck, but the elevators were not working properly. We were awakened after midnight by the repairman who was banging on something metal - not sure why management allowed them to be done at that time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel, amazing pool

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Pool/Hot tub; Updated/Clean rooms; Nice staff; Awesome breakfast
Location: Historic district in Savannah so plenty of great restaurants (all budgets) and nightlife.
We stayed for three nights during a recent business trip to Savannah. Our usual hotel was booked so after scouring the reviews we "settled" for the Holiday Inn Express...I am so glad we did! The hotel is updated, clean, and bright. The staff are amazing- so pleasant and courteous. The room overlooked the river and was spotless. Everything was very up-to-date and super comfortable. The rooftop pool and hot tub are awesome, we went up every night after work. The happy hour at the bar cannot be beat. And the continental breakfast is huge! It is always stocked with fresh food coming out regularly and it has longer hours than many hotels. Suffice it to say this is our new usual hotel. The parking can be tough...do yourself a favor and save yourself from headaches- pay for the valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tamara from S

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Good location. Elevator really slow, phone rings randomly. Very helpful with bags, post-checkout
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Downtown Historic District

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Amazingly located in the historic district close to the river walk, city market and lots of restaurants!
Cons: Improve parking by lowering cost!
Nice hotel. Think we had some bad timing, though. The day we got there the lobby floors were being redone and the day we left only one of two elevators was working. Had to wait 20+ minutes to go up or down. Would have taken the steps but had a very full luggage cart! Room was fairly clean but very noisy. Could hear anyone walking through the hall or next door. Parking is a big negative. Must either use the parking garage (which is very close) or pay for valet which was the best option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Pittsburgh PA

Nice hotel. Within walking distance of many things

Posted Jun 17, 2014
First time to savannah. The hotel was great. Room was clean and comfortable. . Staff was friendly. Helped us with your and dinner reservations . Would highly recommend hotel.