Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and facility

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Location: Close to all the major attractions like River Street, Paula Deen restaurant, and trolley tours.
Great location but very little self parking so expect to pay $20 a night. Only 2 elevators and one was broken for a day so we were late for tours waiting 25 minutes to get down from 6 th floor. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff there to keep things restocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, Al

Beautiful hotel. Great location.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Excellent in all ways. Breakfast was very good. Room very clean and comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Acworth, GA

Right Location

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Convenient to Savannah River St. and Historic District.
Cons: Room on small size but comfortable and quiet. Water bottles instead of lemon water in lobby.
Location: Great restaurants and shopping just a short walk down to river. Took walking Ghost tour and loved it. Starts 9 pm nightly at Wright Square.
This was our first trip to Savannah. We picked this hotel because it was close to restaurant area a friend recommended. It was the right choice. It is only a block away from East River St., which is where many of the shops, restaurants, and bars are located, and right in the Historic District. We booked a trolley transport for a reasonable price one day, and were able to hope on and off where we wanted till 6 pm and there is a stop right outside the hotel. We got to know the lay of the land. It was easy to walk to everything from out hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Comfortable walking shoes and casual attire recommended. Parking - Hotel has valet parking, which is a little pricey, but there is a less expensive parking garage right next door. If you plan on leaving your car and walking everywhere the parking garage is the choice to make. If you plan on using your car and making day trips, use the valet parking. The valet parking is a one time daily fee no matter how many times you take your car out. The parking garage charges you each time you leave and come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonn

Gut gelegenes Stadthotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Die Lage
Cons: Pool säubern und das Frühstück verbessern. Kein Chemierührei, besseres Brot, Obstsalat, Naturjoghurt.
Location: Mitten drin. Alles erreichbar.
Mitten drin gelegen. Alles fussläufig erreichbar. Gruseliges Frühstück. Schmutziger Pool.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location, dirty bathroom

Posted Jun 22, 2015
This hotel is in a great location, close to City Market and River Street. The location is the only reason why I would stay here again. Our room was fairly clean but the bathroom was gross. I had to clean the hair out of the shower before I could get in. In addition, there were no bath towels in our room. I called the front desk and notified them. We eventually got tired of waiting and used hand towels to dry. The pool is very small with limited seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Job interview

Posted Jun 10, 2015
I had a relaxing stay in this hotel. Very quiet. Great location. My wife was with me and had a great time walking in the historic parks. We will stay again! The night before, we stayed at the Hampton Inn in midtown. It was horrible and was the same price as this Holiday Inn. Holiday Inn all the way!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Great hotel on Bay St. in Historic Downtown

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, decor, staff... you name it.
Cons: Fix the broken elevator.
Location: River street is very close, which is full of bars, restaurants, and shops. Its also in the heart of the downtown historic district, which has the same
I loved my stay at the Holiday Inn Express on Bay Street. The location was beautiful. River Street and all of its restaurants and shops were only one street away. The other direction is historic downtown and full of the same- quality bars and restaurants. Walking distance to everything. I parked my car and didnt use it for 3 days. Parking was a little hectic, but that was to be expected for visiting such a tourist friendly town like Savannah for Memorial Day weekend. I self-parked in the garage next door as $20 a day for valet was out of my budget. The garage next door was $5 a day. The hotel was beautiful. I was very impressed right when I entered the front doors. They offer complimentary water at the front, flavored with various fruits. The restaurant/bar area is also very well decorated and clean. Really the only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that it only had one working elevator during my 3 day stay. I think I was on the 8th floor... so I burned some extra calories cutting around the elevator wait and hiking up the stairs. The pool on the roof is awesome. Great view of the city. Nice lounge area up there as well. The room itself was a bit small, but I didnt mind. It was updated and modern, cozy, and clean. The bathrooms were very nice, good water pressure, etc. Mini fridge and microwave in the room were also nice. Bed was unbelievably clean and comfortable. All of the staff were very accommodating. Parking, front staff, etc. All fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essonne

Hotel au cœur du centre historique

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Le personnel l'emplacement le charme de la chambre
Cons: Wifi u. Peu lente
Location: Partie historique de la ville donc tout le charme du Sud à découvrir de tes belles maisons anciennes les squares les maisons musée
Accueil efficace personnel tes agréable et serviable une rue à traverser et vous êtes sur les bords du fleuve SAvannah très animes avec un grand choix de restaurants et petites boutiques de l hotel vous pouvez aller vous promener dans les célèbres squares de Savannah bref hotel à choisir pour un séjour à Savannah Wifi et petit déjeuner gratuits
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Can't beat the location, very short walking distance to all of downtown
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, okay customer service

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent.
Location: Get a key. Go to Mata Hari. Try the avocado smash toast at Collin's Quarter.
Overall the Holiday Inn Express is pretty good. Valet service is quick and painless. Location is in the heart of Savannah's historic district. Rooms are standard and clean. I only had a few complaints. The water tastes and smells like sulfur. When I inquired about it with the front desk, they acted like they've never experienced this before. They sent someone to my room to check on it, but didn't smell anything. The smell persisted for the duration of my stay in the sink and the shower. My colleagues had similar issues in other rooms. My suspicion is that the water in Savannah is just like this. I just wish the employees didn't pretend that this was the first time this had ever occurred in their hotel. The overall condition of the room was pretty good, though the wall paper in my bathroom was peeling off. When I was there, one elevator was out of service, which was inconvenient. The problem was exacerbated by the slooowwwww second elevator. I resigned to the stairs, but allow at least 3-5 minutes wait to get on the elevator, especially in the mornings.