Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, not so great of a holiday inn

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: location! Within walking distance to all attractions.
Cons: The pool needs to be open! I find that entirely unacceptable that it was not operational in June.
Location: River Street was great, we also walked to Forsyth park which was beautiful.
Many people were being told at checkin they had to wait on a room with double beds, despite it being past check in time. We were very disappointed to learn the pool was not operational, we were not informed of this at check in, and it was the primary reason we stopped here (our five year old wanted to swim after being in the car all day). the room was TINY, definitely the smallest Ive stayed in. It was clean though, and you really can't beat the location. The staff was very nice, all the cleaning ladies and maintenance men were super friendly and were very nice to our son. I would stay again if I had to, but would probably try and book somewhere else in the area first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 29, 2014
No issues with location. Most of staff really good but we had several billing issues. Room was comfortable but poorly laid out. King room with only one sink and huge walk in shower with no shelf for shampoo etc. Would have been better with smaller shower and double vanity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
was a little worried based on earlier reviews, but overall it was very nice, the staff was friendly, the room was clean, it was in a good location - near river street.. pool was a little small but still nice. overall i would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angles

Nice hotel close to the riverfront

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel is nice. Staff was nice. It was in historic downtown and close to the riverfront. Comfortable clean room. The only somewhat negative is it is mandatory valet for $18 per day. Wish they had a self park option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

likely wouldn't stay here again

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: location was decent. on the edge of the historic district but easy to get to everywhere.
the hotel was fine, that's it, just fine, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, furniture was old and outdated. I thought it was overpriced for what it was. walking around Savannah I saw comparable hotels that looked alot nicer. the pool was the size of an oversized hot tub, barely a pool. the photos are deceiving. I would say this is a 2-2.5 star hotel. the front desk & valet were very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Bluffton, SC

Overnight Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff and the ambiance.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: River Street and City Market are a short walking trip!
The hotel staff was more than accommodating and the hotel itself was very impressive for a Holiday Inn. I think it's probably the nicest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in and in a really convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Central Location to Historic District

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Easy access for walking the city. Easy walk through Historic District and the River Walk. Need a car for beach and a "few" out of the way sites. Good food venues all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014
hotel staff were all very efficient and helpful location is close to city market and main st.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just changed hands, so still a bit unorganized.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: The professionalism of the staff & the service in the breakfast room. It was convenient that the tour shuttles picked us up at the hotel.
Cons: The hotel is old & will soon be renovated, which will make a lot of difference in the appearance.
Location: Location was a bit away from the action of the riverside restaurants, bars, & shops, but within about a 10 minute walk.
We booked our double queen room several months ago, & when we arrived, they didn't have a room ready for us. We left to do some sightseeing & ate & were gone for most of the day, then returned early evening to the hotel. At this time, they did have a room ready for us, but it was not a double queen, so again we waited. Finally, they found us the type of room we had requested & we got settled in. The hotel was old, but was satisfactory. We were told they had just changed hands & were going to be renovating the hotel. I must say the staff was very professional & did everything they could to accommodate us. The manager was exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Agnes from Hollywood, Florida

Great location in downtown

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location and hospitality.
Cons: The AC Unit was a little too close to the bed and the air flow could not be redirected.
Location: The hotel is on the sightseeing bus line and provides valet parking. The sights include the City Market, the river front and many parks.
This hotel is located right downtown Savannah, walking distance away to all the sights. The breakfast buffet, though a little pricey, is excellent, true Southern Comfort. The dinner menu is limited, but everything was delectable. The view from the 5th floor exceptional! I would stay there again!