Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find some where else to stay....

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Hotel staff is untrained. Ran our credit 3 times b/c they checked in wrong person with same last name...locked up $2100 in credit before check out....
1 out of 5
by D from Florida

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: New mattress set, sheets, blankets, and spreads. Double sheet blanket. Renovate the decor.
Location: Tybee Island and Savannah....New Years Eve fireworks and restaurants were excellent.
Rooms were not clean enough, bathroom smelled. Room had a musty smell. Beds were awful...I could feel the springs and hear them when I sat. Sheets were awful and I didn't dare to look under the bed. The rooms looked like they were rode hard and put away wet!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The location was nice.
Cons: Update the entire place.
It was and older hotel, with older shower and sink, and the decor was from the 80's. The fridge was not cold when we got to the room and the remote control was broken for the TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myra from Birmingham, AL

Right in the Heart of Tybee

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Clean, roomy, rooms, large bathrooms, excellent Wi-Fi connection.
Cons: The continental breakfast was too 'out of the box.' We ate out for every meal.
Location: Beach, historical forts, a light house, famous restaurants and history in neighboring Savannah, a home town setting, comfort, relaxing stay.
0n Tybee Island, the best way to getting around is walking or riding a bike. Howard Johnson was a very convenient hotel to the restaurants, shopping, beach, everything! The hotel staff and our accommodations were great. My husband and I decided whenever we travel, we will try to find a Howard Johnson hotel to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keaton from NC

Great location! Walk all over Tybee!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Loved the hotel! Great price and location, close to Savannah and historic sights. You can walk all over tybee from this hotel! I will stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We loved the location and staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not far from beach ....

Posted Oct 11, 2013
stayed 2 nights. 2nd day when we returned in the evening the room was not made up and no clean towels. When brought to the attention of the staff they said "oh, we have that checked off on our logs as cleaned." Obviously after my explanation they had to concede that housekeeping had not done their job and not for the first time. However, when we asked for clean towels we were told that they were "locked up " and the staff did not have a key. The best they could do was to give us pool towels. Left my name with the manager - no call. Left message to call - no call. service??????
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wade from Dalton, GA

Ok for a beach vacation

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable.
Location: Bars, restaurants, beach, everything Tybee has to offer.
The hotel is a little dated, and I believe over priced for the time of year we were there (late September), However, it was cheaper than some of the others available, and better overall than the "resort" across the street that was priced $50 a night higher. The breakfast is free, so can't be complained about. It's ok. Biscuits and gravy are available, but the biscuits need to be heated in the microwave so I didn't try them. The grits were ok, and hard boiled eggs, cereal, and pastries are available, so better than many other free breakfasts one will encounter. The location is great. It's not beachfront, but if you will walk across the street, and down one block on any street you choose you will be on the beach. It's close to the pier, to the nightlife, and restaurants. We recently moved to Georgia, so plan on being regulars on Tybee, and I will stay here when I return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and close to beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pool was very clean and my granddaughter had a wonderful time in it.