Ratings based on 2,054 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON, Canada

A gem In the heart of historic Savannah

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: We liked the elegant decor and the way the character of the heritage building has been maintained. The location is perfect for exploring the city.
Cons: Some reviewers complain about the price of parking. Not a problem for us - you would pay twice that to park in any major hotel in downtown Ottawa.
Location: 1st evening we did River Street - supper at Barracuda Bob's Day 2 was cold: visited Ships of the Sea Museum & Train Museum - supper at Churchill's
This was our second stay at the Inn on Ellis Square, and again, we were pleased with our choice. We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is in a heritage building in the heart of beautiful Savannah, meaning easy walking distance to everything. The elegant d├ęcor of the hotel reflects it's history. The bell hops on duty outside the hotel welcomed us with smiles and helpful assistance on arrival and each time we came in, and the front desk staff were also welcoming and friendly. Our room on the 5th floor was clean, tastefully decorated and furnished, and everything worked perfectly well. The weather was unseasonably cold when we arrived, and the temperature in the room was turned up to 78 degrees, which was way too hot for us. We turned the a/c way down, but even when we came back 4 hours later, it had not sufficiently cooled off, so we did not have the best night's sleep - but that was solely because of the temperature, nothing to do with the comfort of the bed, which was excellent. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from busy Bay Street. We had no problems with the wifi, the complimentary buffet breakfast each morning was adequate, and the staff kept everything well stocked. The breakfast room was pleasant and spacious, although expect it to be busy if you go in the peak time. Other reviewers comment that the hotel appears shabby and run down, but we saw nothing like that. We would definitely stay at the Inn on Ellis Square again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Excellent Location. Nice!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Clean, easy to get around, great location.
Cons: Nothing significant. Morning breakfast was very crowded but that can't be helped.
Location: Restaurants, bars, river or Broughton St. all within easy walking.
Hotel is located in a great spot. Can walk down to the river. Trolley tickets available at hotel with a discount, then get on the stop right around the corner. Easy to walk to restaurants. Room was clean. We had two double beds on 3rd floor. A little noisy around midnight when people were coming in. Since we faced the river we could hear some street noise and people but it wasn't a big deal and didn't last long. Not sure if the noise would be worse during peak season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

nice hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: the old world charm and elegance of our king suite and the location.
Cons: the walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone talking in the hallway, at all hours of the night. definitely a place to stay for heavy sleepers.
Location: shopping, entertainment, restaurants, parks, antiques shops, museums, etc
we stayed in a king suite and it was beautiful. we were able to walk everywhere and never got back into our vehicle til we left to go home. everything to do and see is within walking distance. it is a perfect location and a beautiful hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The location
The stay was good. The staff was friendly and pleasant. The rooms were neat and clean. The location of the hotel is perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Feb 20, 2015
We paid $16 more for the hotel parking and we had a lot of mist on our room's window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Very nice hotel in the historic district.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The pleasant staff.
Cons: Disconnect the bathroom lite from the bathroom fan. Have bacon or sausage at the buffet breakfast. Don't refer folk to Coastal Bus to Tybee Island
Location: Great location near the River front and the happenings in the historic district.
Enjoyed the few days we were there. The rooms were nice but the annoying bathroom fan is connected to the bathroom lite so can't leave the bathroom lite on to get around at night because of the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tennessee

Nice place to stay

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Location: Great location!
The hotel is convenient to everything - great location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and fairly updated, just a very small bathroom area. The wood floors make the room above a bit noisy! The sheets and towels could be replaced as they looked a bit worn. Other than that, everything was comfortable and I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta area

Valentines getaway

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Great location and room was very spacious. Had a river facing suite on the 4 th floor and noise wasn't an issue. Only issue was parking which cost $16 a night at the parking deck right behind the hotel. After check-in I moved the car to the deck, they were out of parking passes, but they said the bellman could let be in. He did, but I soon found all the spots were full as well as other guests backing back down with the same problem. They told me they would remove the charge since I had to find off site parking. They should tell you the lots full before having you leave to park. The hotel is very nice and we enjoyed the rest of the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock,Ga

Perfect for walking around Historic Savannah

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Was an amazing stay and location to everything in town that is a must see visiting Savannah and River Street. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location was excellent and hotel staff were exceptional. Breakfast included and had a variety of items to choose from. Very comfortable bed.
Cons: Air conditioner unit was a little noisy and the toilet would run if you didn't jiggle the handle
Location: Close to everything
Affordable hotel in a perfect location. Lobby bar was a gathering place to chat with other visitors and the hotel concierge was helpful to plan your activities.