Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis

GET NEW BEDS!!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
While the Mansion is in the best location--away from the river and all it's hustle and bustle but right across the street from Forsythe Park--there are a few problems that need to be addressed. First, the walls are paper thin. Not only was there a party until 4 am the first night we were there, even after security was alerted at 2:30 am, but when we moved rooms, the next night, we could hear the TV and laughter and just talking. I don't think the neighbors were that loud, but some sound proofing would go a long way. Second, the beds are so uncomfortable. My husband and I woke up with horrible back aches every morning. I'm going to try anothrer hotel next time we are in Savannah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley, Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect. Reviews such as this let us know where we need to focus our attention. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while you were with us. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Elisa Dickerson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san antonio

Nice location on the park

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This was a nice hotel with excellent service. The park across the street was beautiful. The hotel was not really within walking distance of the river but there is a free bus right around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom worcester ma

Perfect hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Great location. Well appointed room with very luxurious bathroom. Restaurant was excellent. Had dinner there first night. Excellent braised short ribs. Very good ala carte breakfast. Very helpful staff. Made dinner reservations for us. All excellent choices v
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Beautiful hotel - disappointing restaurant

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, rooms are spacious, great staff, great cocktails at the bar and very good location to discover charming Savannah.
Cons: 700 Drayton restaurant did not live up to its reputation. Food was average. Plates were re-heated. Not good.
Booked 3 nights with my wife to discover Savannah and celebrate New Year's Eve. The hotel is great, no complaints at all. The room was spacious, the staff is very friendly, the location is in walking distance to the historical district, the bar is nice and the bartender serves up great cocktails. The great disappointment of our stay is our New Year's Eve dinner at 700 Drayton restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The menu sounded very good and the restaurant was highly recommended. Unfortunately, being New Year's Eve, we found that most dishes had been prepared way in advance - my wife's salad looked wilted, my beets came with a dressing that had dried up on the plate. Same for our entrees. Not only did the dish had been plated long ago, but it also tasted like they had been re-heated for the occasion. The food was not good. Honestly it did not live up to the restaurant's reputation especially for such a celebration as New Year's Eve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Cool hotel in a charming city

Posted Dec 16, 2014
This hotel is absolutely beautiful inside and out. Its a gorgeous mansion infront of a beautiful park and very close to downtown Savannah. The inside though looks nothing like the outside. Inside is very modern and looks like your staying in an art gallery. There is art pieces all over the wall and the lounge has great music. All of the hotel staff is very nice and extremely helpful. I would deffinately stay here next time im in Savannah.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Bed
Comfortable bed...no bathtub...no ice machine...this should be adequate for my review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback you have provided. From your comments I gather you were in a first floor room that boasts high ceilings and big showers. Hopefully on a return trip we will be able to place you on a higher floor to experience the bathtub. Thank you, Elisa Dickerson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Loved the hotel, the staff, and food

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Location: Loved the closeness to Forsyth Park and the farmers market on Saturday, however it is quite a hike to the River walk and all the main attractions.
Everything was lovely. The food was great, staff was friendly and helpful, and the facilities were top notch. The shower head was my favorite, who can beat 3 shower heads in one shower! However, we were on the ground floor and right next to the courtyard where music is played. Every single night we had to call the front desk to have the music turned off because by 11:30pm it still hadn't been turned off and it was very loud in our room. The other issue, we were charged a $150 fee for our dogs for the cleaning. Our dogs never messed on the floor, there was no cleaning issues other than the normal bed/towel linen changes and normal vacuuming. I felt this was excessive. Not to mention, the maid never came the one day that we were there. There was a wedding going on one night and there was a lot of yelling in the hallway that awoke me at 1:30am. I feel the place should be quieter at night if you're paying that much per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington, dc

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Enormous soaking tubs!!
Cons: Could have been more generous with toiletries (e.g., shower cap, q-tips).Huge soaking tub, but no bubble bath except some you could buy for $18 or $25
Location: not much directly around the hotel; sort of a food desert really
checked into my room at 5 pm on a Saturday. My room directly overlooked the pool. The overwhelming smell of chlorine made me sick to my stomach. Went out to dinner and got back to my room to realize that a wedding was taking place in the pool area and the musicians were set up directly beneath my window. My heart sank. It looked like I would not be sleeping on my first night in Savannah. The music was so loud. I went to the front desk and was told that the wedding would be ending around midnight. I immediately asked to be moved to another room. The desk clerk switched rooms immediately and I was moved 2 floors up and on the opposite side of the pool area. What a relief! The new room was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Labelle,Fl.

Excellent choice for Savannah getaway.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel and room were very clean.
Location: Shopping, dining and tours of the city.
Very friendly and helpful staff to move around the city. Safe area to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthonyfrom Germany

Not quite the standard that could be expected

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upmarket hotel let down by some details of service and convenience. Great location with views over park and within easy walking distance of downtown, but valet parking costs excessive and room cleanliness not to standards that one could expect. Consumables not always replaced adequately during the daily service and the prohibition of personal items in the minibar refrigerator ill considered and impractical. Staff on reception sometimes gave impression that guests are more burdensome than welcome.