Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Fab Loacation, Kind Management, Great Future Ahead

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The service oriented staff!
Cons: A little freshening up would be great and is planned!
Location: Gorgeous Tybee Island! Nice local restaurants and shops, Tybee lighthouse, Savannah, GA.
This hotel is right on the beach in Tybee! You cross a small parking lot, walk a board walk across pretty dunes and you are on a very clean and lovely beach! We arrives and I had made an error and had booked out room for the previous night. The manager was so kind to honor the reservation with no attitude, no questions asked and no addition charge! He said the hotel is now under new owners and renovations are planned. It is a little old and tired so a great future is ahead for this outstanding property!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The hotel is ok and very close to the beach. Beachfront room means there's a parking lot between the hotel and the beach. We ate breakfast at the breakfast club right next to the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Beach

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: needs update
Location: a few steps to the pier
room was not available when we checked in...and this was 5:15 pm...waited for 15 minutes more..finally got it...needs updates...for the price i paid for the room, i can get a 4 start hotel...parking was free, so thats good...air conditioning was fine but very loud...bathroom needs updates...corner was yellow and rusty...location is probably the best part of the hotel..just a walk away from the pier...fireworks were just overhead...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Staff is friendly and love being near beach.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This was my 4th visit to Ocean Plaza and they always come through with friendly service. Avoid the restaurant though since service was very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Labor Day Beach Outing

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It is an older hotel. Some things should be remodeled for the price.
Location: The location is great with easy access to the beach, restaurants and shops..Activities around the area were great as well.
The overall experience was great. We did have an issue with the TV that was never fixed and we had to request certain things like extract wash clothes a couple of times.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Absolutely Horrible experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Very bad rooms, we were promised a kitchen and it was nonexistent, it was dirty! Very bad experience at the Dolphin Reef Restaurant Absolutely horrible!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Outdated but has potential!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Next to beach Outdated rundown nowhere close to resort level! But letter from new owner and investors say they will make it nice as it once was! This will take some time! Fairly clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Wonderful

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Ocean View and cleaniness
The check in at Ocean Plaza Resort was the Best Customer Service we have ever had at any hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

Tybee Island beach access

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: New bedding, microwave in rooms, just update the decor. Have key card access to pool.
Location: The beach is directly across from the hotel which is great. Food, shops, gas stations all accessible. Great location.
Great access to the beach. Great location to the shops so no need to drive anywhere. Eat at the Breakfast club and the Sunrise Grill for breakfast, service was great at both. The rooms need to be updated but overall they were clean. It would be nice to have a microwave and updated bedding but that's just me. We had a view of the parking lot but it didn't bother us. The pool is old however it is kept clean and there are plenty of chairs for everyone. The only complaint I would have is outside people who are not staying at the hotel can come into the pool. It should be set up so you have to have key card access to get into the pool. On Friday evening it was overrun by kids who came into town. Overall we had a good experience at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from powder springs ga

my birthday getaway

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: i loved the seaside view
Cons: microwaves in the rooms on the 4th floor, for the price that a person pays for a seaside view
my experience was very relaxing, pieceful, serene, breath taking