Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Südstaatenflair

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Lage und Freundlichkeit des Personals. Saubere Zimmer und lokales Ambiente.
Cons: Das Frühstück.
Location: Nicht weit entfernt von Savannah. Ausflüge in das historische Viertel und nahe gelegene Strände kein Problem.
Das Hotel hat was. Auch wenn es etwas in die Tage gekommen ist, ist es empfehlenswert. Der Charme des alten Südens spiegelt sich hier wieder - allerdings mit allen positiven wie auch (wenigen) negativen Seiten. Für Ausflüge nach Savannah oder Tybee Island bietet das Hotel einen prima Ausgangspunkt. Das Hotel hat übrigens eine für Gäste zugängliche Waschmaschine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom severna park md

Excellent value

Posted Nov 16, 2014
I was staying in the historic district and had to relocate due to the hotel being sold out the second night. I found this deal on expedia and was intrigued by the good reviews on trip advisor so decided to give it a shot. Yes it was a 15 min drive to historic savannah, but on the other hand it was a very decent property with nice size room/mini-suites. If you don't mind a short drive it's a good deal. Free parking also a bonus, and it's not that hard to park in downtown savannah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DFW

Incredible Value For Money

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: For the money, nothing.
Location: It is not particularly close to downtown, so best to eat in the myriad of restaurants before you return to sleep.
Wow, considering what we paid, i.e. about £56 this has to be one of our bargains this year, our suite, Room 101 ironically, was huge. It was quiet and the drive to downtown was via a tree lined road, so no hardship there. The staff is professional and very friendly, they are intent on making your stay with them as comfortable as possible. They do not take things for granted, which some of the hotel chains do. Thank you to all for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Close to Downtown without the downtown prices

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very welcoming. It is priced nicely. The bed was large and comfy.
Cons: Shower area could use updating.
Location: The hotel is only about 4 miles from downtown Savannah so it is close to everything.
Hotel was clean and comfortable. The bathroom shower area was small and could use updating, but was separate from the sink area so it was a nice touch. The room was large and the hotel was quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They offer continental breakfast in the morning if you are rushed for time or don't want a big breakfast from a restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Quaint and hidden,Well worth the price!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Nice, friendly hotel staff. Clean spacious rooms. Well worth the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Tv position is very uncomfortable. Mattress and pillows in very poor condition
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jesup, GA

Nice hotel just am close driver to Memorial

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Business-class hotel, close to mall and restaurants. Courteous staff and clean room; and that was what we were looking for with this stay.
Location: Mall and restaurants near enough to walk. Hotel does have coffee all the time and continental breakfast.
Met by staff with courteous, pleasing disposition. Since we were there for only one night, I can't be explicit on all staff, but check-in and check-out was just as it should be. Spouse had a medical procedure to be performed early at Memorial Medical and we did not wish to get up that early to drive the 2 hours to be at the hospital by 530. We were looking for this type of hotel at a good price and that is what we got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location - 4.6 miles from downtown Savannah.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were on top of their game1
Cons: The temperature of the executive suite needs to be better controlled. You were either too cold to too hot.
Location: Many things to see and do!
Many things to see and do! Oglethorpe Trolley Tours are a great way to get introduced to the layout of the city! Savannah Theatre is a must see! The young performers are very talented group - a trip to Broadway at Savannah prices. Dinner at Paula Deans - The Lady and Sons was excellent (fried green tomatoes, fried chicken and mac and cheese were scrumptious. Really enjoyed the shoppes - Christmas on the River, check out the "Chicken Fingers" at Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon - they are fantastic!!! The Savannah Movie tour was excellent - we finished our tour at Leopold's Ice Cream and even met Stratton Leopold (owner & movie producer). The ice cream was excellent and we truly appreciated the Mr. Leopold taking the time to share the history of Savannah (from a movie perspective) with us! Very rich in history with beautiful building and church's are extraordinary! We only had a day and a half there - not enough time to really appreciate the entire city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Wonderful staff at excellent location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Helpful, knowledgeable staff; large, well furnished rooms; free breakfast; well kept grounds.
Location: About 15 minutes to the historic district. Large shopping mall across the street. Lots of nice restaurants in the area.
With another couple, my wife and I stayed at the Oglethorpe for 5 nights. We were very happy with the sitting room that had all the comforts, and a nice bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. Good wifi and a computer station on each floor. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, and things to do and see, even giving us menus and maps to get there. Kelly, in particular, was like having our own concierge service. One can tell from her enthusiasm and commitment that she loves her role and the opportunities it brings to help others. She's a fantastic ambassdore for the Oglethose and for Savannah!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Does everything very well.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The Oglethorpe Inn is comfortable, clean and very reasonable.
Cons: The Oglethorpe is doing everything it sets out to do, very well.
Location: The Oglethorpe is about five miles out of Savannah, across the street from a shopping mall.
The Oglethorpe Inn is not a luxury hotel, but it does everything very well. The staff are welcoming and responsive. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious (really more of a studio apartment.) Savannah is often booked up and hotels in the historic section are very expensive. The Oglethorpe is a highly acceptable alternative. It offers exceptional value for price--a well-run hotel.