Ratings based on 1,420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Great location for everything!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Close to riverfront, good restaurants, shopping, trolley and carriage tours
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virgin Islands

Historic area

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere and friendliness
Location: A walk on the Riverfront for shopping and restaurants. A walk around some of the squares and a visit to the Old Pink House for dinner.
Just what we were looking for! Since we only had one night in Savannah during a road trip we wanted to get the most flavor of the city so we looked in the historic area.We did not want a modern place with no personality. Planters Inn Is old and well situated. The hotel itself is old and decorated to be in keeping with old Savannah. When I say old I do not intend to imply run down, it just has character. For us it was perfect. The staff was great, not overly formal and stiff but very professional. They recommended the Old Pink House next door for a late dinner and it was fabulous. The Hummingbird cocktail and the BLT salad are standouts. Again the restaurant and the food was everything I was looking for. In both places the old South polite and relaxed friendliness is alive and well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Coast,FL

Good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: The place from the TV
and the best: all people from Hotel was vary friendly !!!!!!! Thank you all - so we could celebrated my wife's 60. birthday !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oviedo, Florida

Perfect center location for walking around city.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Had a wonderful time! My only complaint, which is similar to others, is that we faced the parking garage and heard a lot of street noise. Aside from that, everything was great. Breakfast was great. Staff was friendly. Will stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Nice comfortable hotel, good location. Staff was helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pretty goood

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Everything pretty good. Cons: stiff pillows and small shower stall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Beautiful Southern Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Nice charm
Cons: Destroy that monstrous garage next door
Location: Beautiful view into Reynolds square.
A nice and charming hotel. The entire building is gorgeous. The staff and concierge were wonderful. Nice wine and cheese hour. The only strange thing is that this quaint boutique hotel had our room open up to a monstrous towering elevated garage building. What was the historical society thinking when they allowed this to be built? Ruined the entire view. Would definitely stay here again though. Breakfast was free in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Planter's Inn Revisited

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Genteel sophistication without being flashy or pushy.
Cons: Breakfast is very good, especially the coffee, but limited. I like to start my day with a breakfast meeting. They are not set up for this.
Location: Quiet historic district. Pink House Restaurant next-door, and Alligator Soul a five-minute walk. Both excellent restaurants for business or pleasure.
I was looking forward to my return to the Planter's Inn. I was not disappointed. Planters is reminiscent of the small London Hotels that catered to the landed gentry. Centrally located, southern hospitality, agreeable clientele… Could not be a better place to relax after a hectic flight from LaGuardia via Charlotte! Savannah is also a great city. Good restaurants, and great value. Most of the clientele look like they are on their way to, or coming from, Hilton Head. Makes for a pleasant atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indy

Hotel was nice but nothing exceptional.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: I liked the actual building & being in the historic area. I especially liked the little park right across the street.
Cons: The front desk staff. I had a problem with keys not working the 3rd day, I had to keep making trips up & down from the 5th floor to resolve it.No help
Location: It is within walking distance of River Street & all the tours & things to see there. But, no place close by to eat except the Pink House.
The Planters Inn looked nice & was in the historic district. But, I was disappointed in the staff. No one at the front desk seemed to have any knowledge about the area. The concierge was pushy about where she wanted me to eat & when she found out I had booked my own tours, she just walked away. The bell staff was very good though & tried to answer any questions that the front desk couldn't help with. I had trouble with the hotel computer booking my boarding passes to come home. The front desk just didn't help, but one of the bellman came over & helped until it was resolved. The only place to eat within a couple of blocks was the Pink House next door. Their food was good, just not what I wanted every day & it was a hassle to have to walk several blocks just for a qui ck meal. The view from my room was of the ugly parking garage & I slept in a twin bed in my room. That was my fault for not checking on the bed situation. Since I was alone, it was O.K. just not too comfortable. The hotel itself was clean & in good condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Exceptional staff. They were friendly, informative & helpful. Wonderful experience.