Ratings based on 1,636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ky

Cleanliness

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Nice location, but the room felt damp. The carpet and needed to be cleaned int the worst way. The chairs had a strong odor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

OK, but we won't stay again.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The location along the river, the room's décor, and the quietness of the room - we did not hear street noise that we anticipated.
Cons: Parking situation, cleanliness of the room, ice machines should be on every floor.
Location: Location was central to the River Street Historic District.
When we arrived at the River Street Inn we noticed that from the front there was not much parking, and figured that the parking lot must be around to the rear of the building. We double parked in front of the hotel, ran in to inquire about parking and to check in, and the clerk nonchalantly tells us that there is no parking except for the small lot in front. And that we will have to park 3 blocks away in a garage for $20. We unloaded our luggage, checked in, parked in the garage 3 blocks away and walked back to the hotel. The hotel is very pretty, and at first look the room was impressive. One of the things we liked was no wall to wall carpeting full of germs and bacteria; a beautiful old hardwood floor covered by an area rug was great. Except for the bare floor leading from the bedroom to the bath - the floor was sticky and dull, and was kind of gross - our sandals stuck to that portion of the floor! The main light in the bathroom was burned out, so all we had was the light in the shower and the one at the sink - you would think the cleaning people would have noticed that - maybe that's why they couldn't see the dirt on the floor. We knew there was no refrigerator, but the ice machine was on another floor, which was inconvenient to keep our cooler cold. And the bed was squeaky and uncomfortable - when either one of us moved, the whole mattress seemed to move. It was just not a comfortable place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the river walk close to restaurants

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Hotel was great. A lot of ambience. Parking was a major pain
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake VA

Cozy hotel by the River front.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Rooms were spacious and clean. Hotel staff was excellent. All very polite and helpful!
Cons: Please have the rug in the front lobby cleaned. It is a beautiful creamed colored rug that is all nasty and dirty. Makes a bad first impression.
Location: Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. You can catch the tour trolleys from there as well!
I loved my stay at the River Street Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. We loved that we could just go down to the first level and access River street to get to all the restaurants and stores nearby. We plan on going there again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Great location!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Beautiful room on the 5th floor with a city view. High ceilings! The antique furniture was beautiful and the bathroom was fantastic. Location is perfect for walking around savannah and for dinner and drinks on river street. Get to town early in the morning if you want easy parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from maryland

On the water

Posted Aug 4, 2014
An older, refurbished hotel convenient to everything downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland TN.

Nice Convenient Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
River Street Inn is a very nice hotel. It has access to River Street and Bay Street. The one thing that I really liked was that you had to use your room key to access the elevator. This kept the public from using the elevator to go back and forth from River street to Bay street. The location is great for walking just about anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah and the view from our river side room was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel but no parking

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Very nice hotel. Convenient to River Street, Factor's Walk, restaurants and shops. Room and room service were excellent. A/C worked very well. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Only problem - parking. Self parking in public parking garage was recommended but the garage was "full" each time I went by during the 5 days I was there. Was fortunate to find parking on East Bay Street and in River Walk area. While they were normally "Pay to Park" areas, they were free from 5 pm until 8 am during the week and from 5 pm on Friday to 8 am on Monday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SE Tennessee

Beautiful history surrounds you here!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location! Location!
Cons: Refrigerator and microwave in room
Location: Huey's New Orleans styler restaurant is a must for beignets or brunch doe stairs & the river dinner cruise is just across the street.
This hotel exudes historical ambience. The only reason for less than highest rating was the absence of conveniences in the room. A refrigerator would have bee nice to store water since we were in Savannah during 108 degree index. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable but the restroom door had some splintered wood damage. The room was clean but the windows overlooking the rivière view were covered in a thick dirty film. Stii, the hotel was amazing, staff so helpful, and the convenient location was superb!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience, but...

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Great room with tiny patio overlooking river.
Cons: Strength of the internet connection in that corner of the building.
Location: Smack on the river, within walking distance of lots of restaurants and historic areas
This is an historic place, located right on the river, one side overlooking it. Parking is limited in a busy area; they give you two other options (park in a garage, after 7 pm if there is room; or park on the street) - by arrangement of the hotel. Accommodating staff. I was given a cute room: top floor eastern corner (two sides of windows) overlooking river. BUT: server is too weak so internet signal is sporadic, at best, usually non-existent. Beware. Breakfast can be obtained for a price within the building. Nice place, all in all. No desk in the room.