Ratings based on 2,019 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Historic District Treasure

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location, charm, historical, friendly, and location again! It had a most generous and excellent daily wine and hot dhoerves hour.
Cons: The hotel walls are thin and neighbor voices and noise is easily heard and annoying. The old floorboards creak but that is rather charming.
Location: Absolutely everything - great restaurants, bars, theaters, river tours, walks, city market, the beach, One can walk around with drinks (open container
We had an excellent three days in Savannah. Everything is walkable. People are very casual, friendly, and extremely helpful. Fresh fish was wonderful. The River Street Inn sits in the middle of absolutely everything one would want to see and do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ontario

Great location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Great location. Quiet at night. Very comfortable beds. The Staff were perfect examples of "Southern Hospitality
Cons: In a humid climate regular attention to mould in the tub area is necessary .
Beautiful historic hotel with easy acess to great restaurants boutiques and tours. There are two very good restaurants right in the hotel and you can sit on the balcony at Tubby,s and watch the ships go up the river to Savanah,s port. We took the trolley tour of the historic district to familiarize ourselves and then we toured some of the old homes. We were two women travelling alone .We felt very safe and found the shopkeepers and bus drivers to be very friendly and helpful. Savanah is a beautiful city full of shady garden squares .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Jordan, Utah

Perfect for your visit to Savannah!

Posted May 15, 2015
Right on River Street in the Historic District the River Street Hotel gave me exactly what I was looking for! I wanted charm, history and to be within waking distance for many site seeing trips. Every room is different and the staff was great. If you are looking for the same old place with fridge, microwave and digital clocks this is not your place. If you want the authentic feeling of Savannah you will get it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Excellent location

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The location to River Street, fantastic restaurants, and shopping areas was ideal for us. Everything was just a walk away.
My husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary get-a-way. The staff were very helpful and friendly as soon as we walked in the door. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel ambience is very charming. I love all the antique furniture displays throughout the hallways and lobby area. We had a room that overlooked the river. It was so beautiful! We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location was excellent

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the air conditioning. Provide a better reception area
check in was not easy. No convenient place to park. Needed an attendant to guard double parked car while I registered. Also, no place to park on the property. Had to park in a public garage and with a fully loaded car we were a little concerned about security. Air conditioning was noisy. Turned it on during the day to cool room and then had to shut off at night so we could sleep. Four poster bed really not needed. One post partially blocked the TV. Not a bad hotel but thought the price was a little high for the accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Absolutely wonderful staff--friendly, helpful and outgoing. The location was great for getting around the historic district and on the River Walk
Cons: Two mornings we didn't get the wake-up call requested. Steam cleaning or replacing the carpeting.
Location: The location was great for getting around the historic district and on the River Walk.
Carpeting in the room needed to be cleaned or replaced--it was worn and dirty. Would have appreciated a feather pillow option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Location - right in the middle of the action of things to do.
Location: City Market, River
Beautiful historical type hotel. Wooden floors, interior is beautiful. Great restaurant on 2nd floor, Tubby's. Must try the French toast....it is Sooooo gooood!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Comfortable and great location.

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Great value for the money, location, and staff.
Cons: The housekeeping sometimes didn't get along with each other and their arguments could be easily overheard.
Considering the age of the hotel, it was in good shape. Made you feel a part of history. Everything you wanted to see was in walking distance and the Savannah River was 50 ft off the hotel. Staff was very accommodating and did a nice early evening wine and cheese presentation. Great place to meet people and trade stories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Old Charm in a Great Location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location!! Friendly staff. Comfortable bed.
Cons: More Pillows please! Not a lot of information in the room about the area. And the room we had was pretty small.
Location: Great location - everything on River street is right there.
We just stayed one night before returning home from a week vacation. The hotel is located right on River Street in the middle of restaurants and activities. Old colonial style and a nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Water Mill, NY

Location, location, location.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: We had no complaints
Location: As I said before, it's in a perfect spot. Lots to do all around this area.,
This hotel is located in a perfect spot. Easy access to River Street. The Hop On, Hop Off bus drops off right in front of the hotel. Fun restaurants located on all sides. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. Thank you Steven. LOL The room are immaculate. The beds are comfortable. We had a great stay here.