Ratings based on 1,725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Augusta, GA

Excellent location in historic district

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Its location and charm.
Cons: My air conditioning was very loud. There was no way to control it in my room. It appears the rooms are in need of a makeover or freshening.
Location: River Street, Bay Street, Lucas Theater, historic district. Parking was provided in a deck about a half block away, which is convenient.
The hotel has a great location within walking distance of the river, the ferry that crosses to the convention center, and to the historic district. Because it is in three historic buildings, it is a bit disjointed, but that adds to its charm. An elevator takes you down to a River Street entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Walked everywhere. Parking fees inexpensive. Staff very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel on the water.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location, rustic ambience. Nice evening reception.
Cons: Parking
Nice ambience and comfortable rooms. Location on the waterfront is lovely, but a little noisy if you really wish to rest. Within walking distance of everything. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Historic Hotel overlooking the Savannah River

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This is a lovely gem of a spot overlooking the river and within walking distance to most of Savannah's attractions. Large room with High Ceilings and comfortable bed. A lot more atmosphere than the chain hotels and at a better price. You can't go wrong if you stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Loved the view of the river from our balcony.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: I thought the little "Happy Hour" was especially nice. Really enjoyed the pool table.
Everyone was especially nice and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel With Access to River Street

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Updating the fixtures Improve on customer service
Location: Convention Center River Street Sweets Shopping Dining
I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference. The location was great. The back of the hotel opened to River Street. River Street Sweets was a few doors down. The ferry stop to get to the Convention Center was really close. The front of the hotel, on Bay Street, was the perfect location for more shopping and dining. It was right in the path of the walking tour of the city. The fixtures in the bathroom are dated. The bed was okay. It wasn't particularly uncomfortable but it wasn't completely comfortable either. Check in is at 4 PM (and they stick to this). There were times that there was no one at the front desk. I had called several times to have my TV fixed (two times, there was no answer at the front). When there was someone at the front, 3/4 of the time, they were friendly. The hotel is historic and at night, the building settles by making noises - creaks from the floors, shifting of the walls, etc. But, being superstitious and knowing the history of the city, I was a little creeped out by it. Overall, it was an okay place to stay. I would probably stay there again - just not alone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Anniversary weekend

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Had a great stay. Perfect blend modern amenities and traditional charm. You could not ask for a better location. Right in the middle of River Street all of the stores and restaurants were just a couple of minutes away. The only negatives, is your GPS get you lost driving in circles steps away from the hotel. Also our last morning we needed iron something and you have to call to ask for one. It never came. My wife and I would love to go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

On the river

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: View from the window overlooking River Street and the Savannah River.
Cons: House keeping/cleaning. Better pillows.
Location: On the river, great for civil war history buffs. Trolley, carriage, walking, ghost tours.
Had great view of river and river street. Enjoyed all the shops, restaurants and other scenic areas we visited. Trolley ride gave great overview of Savannah and helped form our walking tour. Night horse drawn carriage ride was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MO

Historic hotel on the river

Posted Oct 22, 2014
This was our first time visiting this hotel and will not be our last. We couldn't be more happier with our stay there. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and the hotel was within walking distance of the downtown area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Nice hotel on the river

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Beautiful hotel. Stairs from river street were treacherous! Wouldn't recommend upgrading to a balcony room because the balcony is not useable. Love this hotel the only complaint I have is that the windows are small. I would have loved a bigger river view. All in all very pleased.