Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

You get what you pay for!!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
My stay was OK... A lot of suspicious people walking by our room all night... Was kinda caught off guard with the $25 per night pet fee..no ice machines...not the cleanest room.. But you get what you pay for and it didn't stop us from enjoying my weekend in Savannah. Plus it was close to river street and downtown Savannah..I would stay again if I had too!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay .were glad that your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to your return.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom swainsboro ga

Room smells

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room had an odor. The staff wasn't nice. And I was not comfortable at all with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay . We hope that your next stay will be a pleasant one.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia

Don't Do it! This was the worst hotel ever!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
I booked this room through expedia for St. Patrick's Day celebration. This was a terrible experience... it was not clean.. there were burn holes all over covers.. you have to make your own ice with the cheap bent up blue (( dollar store)) ice makers.. but the freezer never gets cold enough.. there is spider webs in the corners.. it smells terrible..we had to sleep with door cracked ((its not the best area but we had to breathe)). We changed rooms twice for the same thing.. I tried to get money back as soon as I walked in but they refused! we thought about sleeping in our car and forgetting abt the $120 spent on this room but we did need the water..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay . we would like to apologize for any inconvenienced you had on your stay .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED!!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Dirty sheets, comforters had holes, disgusting toilet & shower, dents in walls, & smell in room was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by TM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay . We have addressed the issues that you had with the cleanliness in your room with the staff and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
It was terrible. I would recommend against staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by TM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with savannah suites. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced on your stay .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Very convient location and very nice staff. i think some of the amentities should be updated or more modernized considering ac/ heating unit,lighting and showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. were glad that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope that you will visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Poor Experience!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The amenities were suitable ie.bar fridge, microwave, hot plates etc. Rooms were cleaned by staff as best they could.
Cons: Hours of operation by staff. We arrived by air @ midnight and even though we had a room reserved no one there thus had to pay for a second room .
Location: We were happy with location.
Hotel looks nothing like one in picture, no sense of security at night when the office closes at 9 pm and doesn't re-open until 8 am. Hotel seemed more like it was one for people who basically lived there rather than for travellers. Two scimpy pillows that were next to useless. Towels were basically hand towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. we do have limited office hours but also have security patrolling in the evening we hopeful that you will visit again .
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte NC

I hated this place.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The staff was great, but the hotel it self was horrible. The room had old musty Smell. The sheets had stains on them. The towels where old and small. I could go on and on but you get the picture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay .We would like to apologize for the issues that you experienced with the Oder and linen in the room .our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable room for all of our guests.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Worst place ever

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was dirty and smelled like mildew. We had cockroaches in our room. The room wasn't supplied with what it was suppose to have. When we went to the office to tell them the lady in the office told us that we were lucky to have coffee cups. They double charged us and refused to give us a refund until i called the hotline number to talk to them. Needless to say that took 2 hours of my time. I would NEVER RECOMMEND to go to this place ever. Even as a last resort do NOT go!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay .We would like to apologize that the room cleanliness did not meet your expectations and that you had a problem with the billing of your reservation. We don't provide any cookware or utensil's only the coffee mugs and the coffee maker. we hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Twaniecefrom Miami, FL

Horrible Time

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I did not enjoy my stay. The room had a bad odor and i felt really itchy the whole time i stayed here. This is he worst hotel I have ever stayed in and it is definitely not worth the price at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. we would like to apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one and have addressed the issues that you mentioned with maintence staff to take care of these issues. were hope you will visit again if your in the area.