Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great atmosphere and pleasant, helpful staff. Breakfast tray is a nice feature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice b&b

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: beauty
Cons: verandah door broken
Location: historic Savannah
friendly and nice staff and nice amenities near lots of attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the historic distric

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great city. Great history and food. Easy to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Coral Gables, FL

Antebellum mansion on residential street...

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: the room, most importantly the size and fireplace.
Cons: See the review...
Location: "Twenty minute walk to the river," on a residential street
We were greeted promptly and with much sincerity. Our luggage was taken up to our room, while we were told about the property's history. Our room was beautiful. The gas fireplace was a huge hit, and we were shown how to operate it, as well. Bathroom was very large with a jacuzzi/bath/shower combo; and double sink vanity. Everything in our room was clean and very well kept. The exterior areas need maintenance. This is a property that is screaming for full time outdoor employment. Needs painting, the outdoor cushions need washed, the decks need power washed, the dead plants everywhere need removing, the inch of green pollen on metal tables ... For a Mobile 4 star rating, it lacked. The food was particularly not good, as well as the evening wine. Nice touches with the tray service for breakfast; and the cordial and desserts in the evening. Everyone was very helpful and kind. The Pedi-cabs are great, as well, and come right to the B & B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay in Savannah

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Outstanding stay, though too short. Got the best rate on Expedia. The Inn was reflective of the Savannah Historic District. The staff was exceptional and welcoming. They pointed us in the right direction for everything from a quick walk, historic tour and dinner. Breakfast, pre-dinner apps and wine as well as after dinner dessert/tea/port were of top quality and added great value to our stay. We will definitely be back and stay with the Gastonian again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect escape

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Climb the steps and enter into the elegant past of this lovely property. As you check in you begin to relax and enjoy the home and the lovely staff. Walter will take your bags to your room and show you around. We loved that they leave doors open when vacant from guests and encourage you to look around. The breakfast each day was made fresh to order, the in house baked goods like mom would serve. 7pm is turndown service , which includes fresh cookies for a late night snack, and a card to let you know the weather for the next day. An easy walk to the water or have them call a pedicab for a fun ride. Go, relax, escape. I promise you will love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Earl from Atlanta

great place

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Roni S. from NY

Gastonian - Old and In Residential Neighborhood

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Gastonian was older than I expected from the previous reviews. The room was large, although the bathroom was tiny. The room we had only had a shower, and the shower did not drain. The wireless internet also did not work well, or not at all in my room. The staff said that rebooted it, but it didn't help. They didn't seem surprised, and eventually gave us a partial refund. If you need internet IN YOUR ROOM, then beware. They do have a public computer in the public room for use. Parking was free, mostly because we were in a residential neighborhood. We enjoyed walking to the downtown area, as Savannah is a great walking city. If walking is not your thing, you may want a hotel closer to the river. All in all, staff was helpful, breakfast was good, and they accommodated us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Hallie, Hotel Management
As a girl who grew up just down the street from the Gastonian, I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our neighborhood! The Neighborhood North of Gaston Street is considered to be one of the most beautiful in the country, and one of the most impressive displays of historic preservation in the South. We are happy that you found our staff to be pleasant, and appreciate that you acknowledged their efforts. I am very sorry that our wifi was not functioning properly during your time with us. In today's age, that it is an incredible inconvenience, and I cannot apologize enough. Unfortunately, wireless internet can be difficult in these older homes, as they just did not build the infrastructure for a good network in 1868. However, since joining the Gastonian in December of 2013, I have made improving our wifi system an absolute priority. While it is not perfect, we have seen substantial improvements and are continuing to find the most modern and receptive tools that we can to ensure that our wifi system provides the sort of service that today's travelers need. It is always our goal to provide our guests with an outstanding Savannah experience, and what you describe is just not our best. Please allow me to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. It is my sincerest hope that you will kindly give us an occasion to serve you again in the future, so that we may have an opportunity to correct our mistakes and provide you with an unmatched Savannah experience. I would be absolutely thrilled to ensure that your time in Savannah and at the Gastonian are unmatched in both service and signal! Warmest regards, Hallie Mobley Innkeeper The Gastonian
3 out of 5
by Suzanne from Palm Coast, Fl

Don't get stuck with a room in the basement

Posted Oct 18, 2013
We were disappointed to be put in a room below the main house. The entrance was on the ground floor street entrance. Although the room was clean & fairly comfortable, it did not have the ambience of a B&B. Breakfast in the main house dining room was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolyn from Sonoma County, California

Savannah quickie

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We travelled to South Carolina for a golf vacation (Myrtle Beach) and decided that we were close enough to Savannah to pop down for a quick visit. Hotel staff were helpful and pleasant, and desk clerk (I think his name was Larry?) gave us an outstanding recommendation for a local restaurant that was fun and had great food and atmosphere (Crystal Beer Parlor). Breakfast was fabulous, and the room was clean and very charming. We took a 90-minute trolley tour of the historic area of town and thought it gave a pretty good overall view of historical highlights. We would recommend this hotel to others.