Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Amazing stay at a most historic hotel!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This hotel has a long, long history attached to it that attracted my girlfriend and I to lodging with them. Their facilities are great; clearly well-renovated. The staff gives you the feeling that only a 5-star hotel can provide. The valet were the most helpful and service oriented people I've experienced at a hotel in a long, long time. The trip was just amazing overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

This hotel is true (historic) Savannah!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel has interesting halls with fireplaces and odd turns, a very unique lay-out. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great!
Cons: I thought the check-out process was too long. There was confusion about who had our luggage.
Location: Everything is in walking distance! The "Pink House" is a must for dinner.
Upon check-in all was fine. The staff was not overly friendly but they were all efficient and kind. The hotel is absolutely charming. I felt like I was truly in Savannah! Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Ideal location in Savannah.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Location, helpful staff, atmosphere of relaxed gentility.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was below standard and the service was operated for the benefit of the staff rather than guests.
Location: Perfect location for exploring old Savannah. Interesting range of good restaurants nearby especially by the dockside, a few blocks from the hotel.
This hotel is very well located for exploring old Savannah. The historic squares and restored dockside buildings are all within a few moments walk. The hotel itself is warm and full of authentic furniture and interesting artefacts in comfortable room settings. Our bedroom was also comfortable and well-equipped with a good, efficient shower and bathroom. The staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming, and there is a safe, clean and inexpensive public car park at the rear of the building.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

All about location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and great location
Cons: the coffee in the morning!
Location: this hotel is ideal for exploring all the historic interest that Savannah has in bucket loads
this is a charming and historic hotel which is in a great location and also close to lots of restaurants and shops. The staff are friendly and attentive and the cheese and wine in the evening is a nice touch. What should be remembered however is that this is an old hotel and therefore has a few quirks. Coming from Europe we are used to old hotels and therefore the novelty was not so appealing especially when you have a room that is small and with little natural light
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix

Great location, great price.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Price, location, comfort, staff.
Cons: We arrived late to the lobby happy hour and it had been pretty well picked over, but if you get there when it starts I'm sure it's lovely.
Location: SCAD very close, lots of restaurants, cafes, 10-minute walk to River Street and everything there.
No complaints about our experience at the Marshall House. Friendly staff, great location, good value, eating/drinking options in the area, close to River Street and the wonderful Boar's Head Grill & Tavern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was friendly and helpful

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: The people, location and the huge fluffy biscuits
Cons: nothing
The hotel is full of grace and charm. The narrow halls, wooden floors made it feel cosy. Inside the room if felt more like staying at someones home as opposed to a hotel. It is old and full of character. We will be making this our permeant place to stay every time we come to Savannah. It is close to everything, go to the restraint Chives, prices are good and the food is a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arkansas

Wonderful hotel and perfect location!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
We had an amazing time! The staff was excellent and so kind, along with helpful! We had our wedding in Savannah and they allowed the photographer to come and take pictures at the hotel! We would highly recommend and plan on going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Historical Inn

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the preservation of the original 1851 hotel structure.
Cons: Self parking is not an option. Must use $20/day valet parking.
Location: We enjoyed walking thru all of the beautiful squares, on River Street and Factor's Row.
Marshall House was built in 1851 and retains its original charm. It is conveniently located in the shopping district of Savannah, just 3 blocks from the riverfront. Breakfast is served in a bright atrium room. The manager's evening wine and cheese receptions in the library were unexpected and very enjoyable. The cocktail lounge is attractive. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Charming hotel in an historic location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: The rooms are a bit cramped (especially the bathroom), and I personally am not a fan of claw foot tubs although I know some people find them charming
Location: See first comment
The best thing about this hotel is its wonderful staff who are extremely attentive and helpful in every way--from valet parking and luggage services to concierge services! The breakfast is also great (delicious quiches one morning instead of the usual scrambled eggs). The hotel is extremely close to many historic sites (including the Owens-Thomas House), famous restaurants (Olde Pink House), and even Leopold's Ice Cream parlor (don't miss it)! Our room was a bit small, but comfortable, and the price was right. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Lots of Character..

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: History and Character.
Cons: Little larger showers.
Location: Good location, lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance
Enjoyed the stay and all the history behind the hotel. rooms are quaint, but not a lot of room. staff was mostly friendly, and lots of fun night life, and good restaurants in close walking distance. We certainly enjoyed our getaway weekend.