Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

hotel close to tour trollys

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: the room was very clean also nice touch of RC cola and moon pie
Location: near visitor center for tour trolly
pleasant stay did sight seeing got suggestions from front desk person very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mo.

very disappointed

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: air was good
Cons: plumbing
Location: historic district
they have some bad issues with their plumbing and car parking spaces being to narrow very easy to get car damage but apparently they could care less, the sink being almost totally stopped up is easy to fix but apparently they don't care I feel like I paid twice for a room that should get a quarter star rating
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plantation fl

Close to historical downtown...filthy

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff did everything in there power to help us have a better experience
Cons: The rooms need to be gutted
Location: Wonderful location near river street and trolly
I have never written a bad review of anything. This experience was so terrible I feel it is my responsibility to let others know. The thunderbird inn describes itself as the Hippest hotel...I love vintage everything but the thunderbird uses this to describe a mess of a place that has been neglected for years, The first room we we're put in was filthy with a water bottle under one of the chairs and stained carpet. It smelled like a mixture of pine sol and body fluids. The door didn't close so we were assigned the room next door. It was a little better, the bathroom was updated a bit. The curtains were supposed to be white but they were black and grey from dirt. The ceiling was mold stains. There was a sandle under our bed and smelly bedspreads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Mini family vacation

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice hotel for the price, 1/2 mile walk to river street. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Only complaints are no pool, close to the bus station and low income housing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I felt like a kid on vacation

Posted Jun 17, 2014
The hotel, similar to many roadside motels in the 60's, was clean, and wowed the 6 year old , bring back my inter child.
3 out of 5
by s from canada

T,Bird Inn

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Fairly close to the river front
Cons: Cleanup. Update. Ensure WiFi is accessible. More sound deadening.
Location: Most of downtown is within a 30 minute walk.
Cleanliness is borderline. Spartan condition. WiFi not always accessible. I would rank as 2 to 3 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Retro hotel, within walking distance of everything

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts were a little unusual but none the less a real treat - assorted Krispy Kreme donuts, coffee and juice.
This 60's style motel was a great experience. It was conveniently located and within walking distance to the river, downtown and the historic district. A very helpful staff and a room that was very comfortable certainly were factors in making our trip a huge success.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Australia

Convenience

Posted Jun 13, 2014
We required a place to stay for just a night and this was a great selection. If I was coming back this way, then I would stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Need to provide what the hotel advertise

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Hotel was easy to find re driving. Was only a 10 mins pleasant walk through tree filled streets to main historic area. The bed in the room was good.
Cons: shower, Fridge, TV, pillows on bed , WiFi and free breakfast
Location: 10 min walk from main historic area, easy to get to.
Receptionist polite. Room was of good size, however the TV did not work good regarding channels. Fridge was not on- not sure whether it was broken or not as could not find where to swtich on. Free WiFi was stated - could not log on for all our stay, it was reported but receptionist did not confirm if we had access. Free Continental Breakfast stated - on offer was doughnuts and juice with coffee.tea - this is not a continental breakfast but a 'junk food' breakfast- coffee and juice was ok though but we still had to go else where for breakfast. shower in room dribbled out so it ws more of a wet wash than a shower. I would recomend that you pay the little extra and have a better hotel. The hotel is good if you are on a very tight budget - out of season that is. Not suitable for families I feel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2014
Would stay here again because of the price and location. Not a bad hotel. The door to our room didn't close easily, and the wifi didn't work at all, though.