Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Just to spend a night

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Breakfast only until 9am so we missed it.Room was only to sleep over and leave in the morning. At least it was clean but everything else is just basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Angela Cantlon, Hotel Management
Bob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com about your recent stay at Travelodge Savannah. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel over the weekend. I'd like to apologize for your experience regarding your missing our breakfast being served. Your satisfaction and well-being are of the utmost importance to us and we are discussing extending our breakfast serving times so that we may prevent this from happening to anyone else. Again, I'd like to thank you for your review and we earnestly look forward to serving you again Thank you and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, The Management Team at Travelodge, Savannah
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

CHECK OUT EARLY

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Tiny rooms, half pillows, and felt dirty.
Location: Felt unsafe.
We booked for three days but instead rather loose money than stay the full term. Go a few more miles to Brunswick and book at Super 8. Like night and day and within the same rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Angela Cantlon, Hotel Management
Coach Di, Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our property. I have shared your feedback with our entire team-our hotel has recently had a change in management and I can assure you that our new management team is working hard to assure we meet or exceed guest expectations moving forward. In the future, I do hope you would be willing to give us another chance and let us showcase our property. Warm Regards, The Management Team at Travelodge, Savannah
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga Tn

Not so great

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location.
Cons: Service needs some review.
Location: The location is about 45 min from Tybee Island, 30 min from Savannah so its not too close to everything but its not too far away either.
Hotel manager couldn't be bothered at check in and seemed down right bothered at check out. The pool didn't seem to be skimmed at all with floating dead bugs strewn about the whole pool. The room was relatively clean but the power went out several times during a moderate rain storm and the rooms are very small. The bathroom was so small you had to wedge yourself between the toilet and the tub to open or close the door. The smoking rooms adjoin the non smoking rooms so even if you wanted a non smoking room the smell of cigarettes drifted in through the ac units. I know you get what you pay for and this room was relatively cheap but I wouldn't recommend this one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We didn't overpay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We got what we paid for. The room was dingy and outdated, but clean enough for the price. The breakfast wasn't exactly a breakfast. But, again we didn't pay a ton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Angela Cantlon, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and was "enough". We take pride in the items we are able to offer our guests for such a great rate. Its great you were able to enjoy the breakfast as well and hope you were able to also try the waffle house right next door. At your service, The team at Travelodge Richmond Hill
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Not one of Econolodge's best hotels!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff was friendly and seemed disappointed that neither of our room requests were honored and sympathetic, but could not make change.
Cons: clean up the yard area!
Location: don't now
When I reserved two rooms, I asked for ground floor for both and also adjoining. We ended up on the second floor with our rooms not adjoining. The grounds were not nice and had dog feces on the lawn areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Angela Cantlon, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, We are sorry you did not enjoy the Econolodge, and hope next time you try our hotel instead. Our team does a wonderful job at making sure each guest enjoys their stay. Again next time try out the Travelodge just down the street, and we look froward to serving you. The team at Travelodge Richmond Hill
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It did the job.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location -- close to the interstate. We visited Hilton Head, Tybee Island, Savannah...could have easily driven down to St. Simons.
Cons: If there are 5 registered guest there should be 5 towels. We asked and got more, but on day 2 after maid service we were back down to only 2 towels.
Location: Molly McPherson's Pub in Richmond Hill; Tubby's on River Street in Savannah; Crab Shake on Tybee Island
We used this hotel as our ground zero for deployment to various nearby destinations. We did not hang around a lot and wouldn't want to but it was a convenient place to rest our heads.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by B from Florida

Decent Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price I paid for seven days, it was very decent. It is an old hotel and needs remodeling. Housekeeping is okay. They had forgotten to replace the plastic bag for the ice bucket the whole time I was there. They also tend to forget how many towels to replace to how any people are in the room. Once again, for the price it was a decent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christina from Vidalia, ga

Very friendly and clean

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean and staff was super friendly best prices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

It was a nice hotel for the price.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We loved the pool and the morning staff, they were both great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com