Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Very nice Hotel. Would book again. Rooms were clean and staff was pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: just a bed
Cons: get the messages straight and fix the beakdowns. why pay for extras that are unavailable??
thought I was staying at the hotel off 95 south , this evening attendant was upset probably because we woke her up so she gave us bad information and sent us to another wrong address. my garmin was not working so relied on the attendant. wrong move. second stop at was better, at least the attendant there offered us a room. and she did give us correct info. so instead of getting to a bed about 2am we bedded down at 3am at the correct hotel. breakfast was ok, no hot tub . it was broke down for what ever reason. then they wanted to clean the room at 8am. the cleaners had a report that we were already gone. not really what I wanted to hear at 8am.. then they came backat 9:50 again. would not let up at all. and to make it better he barely spoke English. so nice to travel in america these days!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel needs a remodel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Remodel needs to be done. Replace the hold rusty refrigerator and old chairs paint would help also
Hotel lobby was hot no ac on so was the hall ways had musty smell from kids walking from pool wet and it being so hot in the hotel room service cleaned room and did not leave any towels when I got back the second night I had to wait in a line of three people at the desk getting towels because the maid service did not put any back in the room
2 out of 5
by Chris from Georgia

Savannah Hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
Cons: Hotel staff should check requests for rooms and insure that beds are available for all paying guests, otherwise decline the reservation.
We booked this hotel via Expedia for 5 people, two adults and three kids. When we arrived, there were no roll away beds available for my third child. We were then informed that bookings made through Expedia are not guaranteed and that there is no confirmation of extra rollaway beds being available. Upon requesting that we be moved to another hotel, they managed to find a roll away bed, but no blankets for the bed. Fortunately we had brought a blanket from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014
The hotel was nice. It was close to a lot of restaurants. The only unpleasant thing was the hotel maids would come to the room first thing in the morning and would also come in without you telling then to. Other than that is was comfortable.
1 out of 5
by Cid from Atlanta, GA

Never ever again

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing, it was horrible.
Location: Just behind Best Western
The outside of hotel looks nice with bright paint, but inside is totally different. Somebody's hair on bed sheet, we had to ask change all sheets. The shower curtain has mold.... and spot on extra towel, dusty toilet lid.... OMG,,, this hotel is still pack of crowd for disccount. But I paid $90 +extra thru Expedia.I have to say totally sucks....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room but lacking in amenities

Posted May 14, 2014
Cons: The fitness center was small with only 3 pieces of equipment, all were old with "nobs" missing, no towels and no remote for the TV.
Location: Historic downtown Savannah!
We have never stayed at a Wingate Hotel before so I didn't know what to expect. I was always of the opinion that the Wyndham chain was a more upscale hotel but maybe I am wrong. My expectations exceeded our actual findings. First of all, let me say, the room was nice. It was clean and roomy with a newly refurbished bathroom. The location of the hotel was good for what we wanted. We wanted to take a tour of Savannah without staying in the heart of the busy downtown or historical area. The hotel was located about 15 to 20 minutes away from the downtown area and they provided a shuttle to take us to the origin of the trolley tour where we purchased our tickets. I can't say anything bad about the front desk help but, by the same token, they were not overly helpful when we asked questions regarding local restaurants and department stores. There was no alarm clock in our room at all, but they managed to find one and bring it to us when we reported it. I was also surprised that they didn't provide a daily newspaper as do most of the places we have stayed do. The breakfast was a basic continental breakfast with cereal, waffles, egg patties, biscuits, gravy, bagels, yogurt, apples and juice. It was crowded around the breakfast bar when we were there which made it a bit difficult to maneuver in trying to prepare our breakfast plates. There is only so much space at the counter where the breakfast items are layed out so I don't think they can really improve upon that.
3 out of 5
by Jason from FL

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Pleasant lobby, safe parking and pleasant front desk staff
Cons: This hotel needs to upgrade the mattresses
Location: Traffic was terrible around this area but we did arrive around five pm which was probably rush hour
The mattress was worn and very soft. The air conditioner couldn't keep up with the humidity. We found a beer bottle cap on the floor. While the room superficially was fine, we were disappointed with our experience. The fact that kids above our floor banged doors and ran up and down the hall until midnight probably didn't help out experience, either!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2014 by Wingate Management Team, Hotel Management
Jason, Thank you so much for letting me know about your stay. As the new General Manager it is a great help to me to know the areas we can improve. I am sorry about the bottle cap, and the air conditioning. We have repaired the unit and addressed the other issue with the staff. I hope this finds you well and that we can see you again in the future. Warm Regards, Mark Parker
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty place

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The hotel was dirty the ice maker didn't work & the whirlpool was broke! Will never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Wingate Management Team, Hotel Management
I am the new General Manager, and I want to thank you for letting me know about your stay. I am truly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. I can assure that we will share your experience with the staff, so we can use it to improve. Warm Regards, Mark Parker
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tanya from Alexandria, VA

Close to 95-pet friendly!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Cons: Some furnishings a little beat up, rough around the edges.
Location: Great dog walking trail, short drive into Savannah for dinner and ghost tour.
Stopped here for one night on our way to FLA for kids' spring break. Chose it because it was listed as pet friendly. Great walking path for dogs behind hotel into the woods and near a large pond. Rooms were nice and clean; location was safe and quiet. Pet fee was $25-very reasonable!